9/21 Zeke AMPS=452;+3=358;~+6=296;PMPS=424;+3=274

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL.

Well Zekey's BG is elevated today - has been running high last couple of days. Last night at +9.5 he was at 577, the highest number recorded since we started testing him and even higher than any reading we got before putting him on insulin. Any ideas as to why so high or what's going on? As you can see from his spreadsheet, he just had a 0.25 reduction 3 days ago. I must say that we find measuring out 0.75 to be very challenging. We've seen the guidance on using calipers and will be getting one today. Hopefully it will help. If numbers don't improve in the next day or so I guess we'll be going back up to 1.0u. We'll see how it goes.

Here's yesterday's condo: Zekey boy on 9/20
 
Re: 9/22 Zeke AMPS=452; +3 = 358

Just checking in to see how things are. You are having one wild ride over there. Hope it settles to some nice relaxing numbers soon.

donaleen
 
Re: 9/22 Zeke AMPS=452; +3 = 358

Good afternoon. I wanted to drop in and say hello and welcome to Lantus Land (LL). Can't offer any explanation for the red AMPS this morning but he has made a nice drop @+3. Hopefully he'll keep the drop going...nice and slow, no diving.

You'll find the longer you do the sugar dance with Zeke the better you'll get at predicting (somewhat) what he's going to do. Then you'll discover that about the time you're convinced you have him figured out he'll throw you a curve...like a high number. Best advice is don't let it get you frustrated, just take it as it comes and adjust accordingly :lol: .

DW and I are right down the road in Alvin so if you ever need to vent over the phone or face to face just send us a PM.

Have a great day and a wonderful weekend.
 
Re: 9/22 Zeke AMPS=452; +3 = 358; ~ +6 = 296

Laura

I read in yesterday's condo where you said you weren't worthy. My dear.....you are SO worthy!!! You are here and part of our family and that's all there is to it!

Did you retest that high number last night? Any chance he could have gotten into any other food he shouldn't have? Does he seem to be feeling ok? If he continues to come down, that could just be a high before a break but it is rather dramatic, n'est-ce pas? ;-) But don't worry....all of them are dramatic at one time or another.

Let's see if he clears this bounce today and what he does. I'm thinking you will have some room to increase back to 1u. Let me know if you have questions on the calipers.
 
Re: 9/21 Zeke AMPS=452; +3 = 358; ~ +6 = 296;PMPS=424

Starting high again tonight. Today is day four on the reduction. Assuming we have no low numbers tonight, when should we increase back up to 1u? Looks like the protocol says 5 to 7 days. Should we give it just one more day and increase on day 6 (Monday)? I just don't like seeing Zeke back up in the 400's and 500's - and even the 300's he's had since the decrease are much higher than those he had on the 1u.
 
Re: 9/21 Zeke AMPS=452; +3 = 358; ~ +6 = 296;PMPS=424

Marje,

Zeke has not had any other MC food since the 1 Tbl I accidently fed him Friday morning. We have a civvie, Ivan, who we're trying to bulk up who we feed MC in our bedroom which Zeke is not allowed to enter. I just made the mistake of leaving the MC can of food on the counter and reaching for it when I gave Zeke (what I thought) was seconds of the 4% wellness which we feed him. He was very low energy this morning. I just chalked it up to his high BGs. I started him on Zobaline (for diabetic cats) Friday - 1 tablet per day. Zeke has a vet apt on Monday. This is a new vet who has experience with FD and stated that he's familiar with the protocol and has even treated a cat into remission. As this is Zeke's initial appointment they'll be doing extensive blood work to see where he's at.
 
Re: 9/21 Zeke AMPS=452; +3 = 358; ~ +6 = 296;PMPS=424

He could be bouncing off the 114 yesterday.

You don't have to hold dose reductions 5-7 days. The protocol states:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

He has cleared bounces and gone right back up so you have room to take him back up.
 
Re: 9/21 Zeke AMPS=452; +3 = 358; ~ +6 = 296;PMPS=424

Marje and Gracie said:
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

He has cleared bounces and gone right back up so you have room to take him back up.

Sorry Marje, please clarify. Are you saying we can already consider the reduction a fail and go ahead and increase to 1u tomorrow? I misunderstood the protocol to say (or really, I guess, imply) that you would want to give it a couple of days (5 -7) before determining it "was a fail". For future reference, how soon (after a minimum of how many days) can you make the determination that it's a fail?
 
Correct...the protocol does not give a length of time to decide if a reduction has failed.

When you reduce the dose, you want to see numbers come back in green. You could consider that the first four cycles are likely depot action if they are green although ECID.

If you reduce and then he bounces, you want the bounce to clear and see where he is. If he's blue when the bounce clears, you likely want to take him back up. If he's close to green or green, give him more time. Often, it just takes a couple cycles at the higher dose to kickstart the green again.

The challenge on a reduction is if they bounce for six cycles following the reduction. You need to wait those six cycles until he clears to see where he is. However, he has cleared bounces and has just been blue.

I think you have two options:

door 1: let him completely clear this current bounce and see if he comes down into blue or green. If he doesn't come into green, take the dose back up to 1u.

door 2: give him tonight and if he's still at these numbers in the morning, you can take him back to 1u but you must test and watch his numbers because when he clears the bounce, he could come back down quickly with extra insulin on board.

Does that help?
 
I find I'm still fuzzy on identifying a bounce and the clear.

Looking at recent activity (but ignoring the first four cycles after the reduction) to me it looks like:

Bounced AM 9/19 because of the activity the day before (AM high to huge drop to PM 140) with the 9/19 PM activity being the clear of that day's AM bounce. Is this correct?

How do you interpret the activity for 9/20 & 9/21?
Are there any bounces here or just an indication of the (in)effectiveness of the reduction?
If bounces, bounces from what, the PM activity the night before? If so (ie: yes, these are bounces) is the PM activity on those days the “clear” for the AM bounces?


Marje and Gracie said:
If you reduce and then he bounces, you want the bounce to clear and see where he is. If he's blue when the bounce clears, you likely want to take him back up. If he's close to green or green, give him more time.

So based on Zeke's ss, I should have gone back up to 1u the morning of 9/20, huh? 140 is not close enough to green, right? We'd probably want to see something like 105 or less perhaps?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top