9/21 Toby's PMS +3=366

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Toby's AMs started today at 562. When he was on PZI it would take a good week before he would go down with an increase.
Then he would go real high then his numbers would go down. Do you think this is happening with the levermir? He is still Feeling good this morning. Jumped into bed looking to be fed. Didn't get any tests last night . Came home yesterday and by bed time came down with cold took medicine and Zonked out. DH got up and checked on him in the night. Don't know if I should be using the R insulin or not. Will check for ketones today and Test bg. Have a great Sunday, Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/21 Toby's AMS=562+3=423+6=328

Toby is still high but has dropped 234 points hope he goes below 300 today. Guess we will have to wait and see. When would you give the r insulin? Like if I give a fur shot? Don't understand when I'M supposed to use it. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/21 Toby's AMS=562+3=423+6=328

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

I'm glad you didn't grab the R this morning.
For Toby, as long as the ketones are negative I recommend you keep the R in the fridge and carry on with your mission of finding a good L dose.
In the event you have a furshot - ask for dosing guidance before shooting any R.

This cycle is a good example of how sitting on your hands was the correct choice. You test and get a PS of 562 :shock: a number that screams for a beat down.
Natural to think - use a little R and shoot that number down. So very tempting...

But where did that 562 come from? Is he on his way further up or is he on his way down?
it was the 4th cycle on 4.5u, could it have kicked in and did he see action overnight?
Since you were unable to test overnight due to your cold it's hard to say.

so here you are at +3 and he's gone from 562 to 423! A substantial drop - one that may trigger a bounce.
R would have likely brought him down faster and possibly further down - complicating rather than helping the situation.
R can be a double edged sword - it has potential to muddy the picture and a CG can end up getting stuck on an endless "R/bounce/R/bounce" roller coaster.
Not what you want.

Bouncing sucks, however it's part of the process and observing bounce patterns is important.
Those patterns will change over time - It's still early in the game.

Try not to stroll down PZI memory lane - it's like comparing apples to oranges.
Stay focused on learning Tobys responses and patterns now that he is on L . Getting to a good L dose, increasing according to the protocol guidelines, is the goal

Hang in there.
I know how frustrating and scary it can be -BK flirted with death on more than one occasion
he didn't see green for 7 months. It lasted maybe 3 hours.
It took 6 weeks and 3u worth of increases before he saw green again. :-x

Yet here we are - a month from now it will be 5 years since BK, the last cat anyone (including yours truly) would have expected to go OTJ, did just that.
and we 'partied like it was 1999' :cool:
 
Re: 9/21 Toby's AMS=562+3=423+6=328+8=302

Thank-you for the encouragement was glad to see Toby going down instead of up today. Will take a +11 test and see where he going. He acts like he feels a lot better. He's up most of the day . Had company today and he was right out visiting instead of going off in the other room. Hope he keeps improving. Will ask before I use the R insulin. Would rather Just get him on a good dose of levemir. Thanks again, Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/21 Toby's AMS=562+3=423+6=328+8=302

Peg and Toby said:
Would rather Just get him on a good dose of Levemir.

If I had a dollar for everytime I had that same thought!! Just let me get to the right L dose so I don't have to fool with the R anymore.

Toby had a good slide today.
 
Re: 9/21 Toby's AMS=562+3=423+6=328+11+437

Just checked Toby at +11 bg 437. Is this another bounce? He went down 260 points today. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/21 Toby's AMS=562+3=423+11+437

For some reason can't post in Toby's spreadsheet. Been trying all evening. It will come up. But won't let me post. Anyone have this Problem? Peg and Toby
 
i'd guess that The Helpful Spreadsheet People somehow signed you out. I've had that happen a few times. You don't do anything different, but somehow when you go to post, you can see it but you can't post. Look around, probably on the top right or left, for a place to log in or sign in.

Toby has had 6 shots at 4.5u. Unless he got less than 160AT-ish tonight or during the day tomorrow, I'd consider increasing his dose by 0.25u. His nadirs for the past 3 days have been in the 300'sAT, which are 200's human meter (and the numbers below are human glucometer numbers).

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Sorry you don't feel well, Peg. It's hard to do the sugar dance when you feel crummy.

Paws crossed Toby will head down soon.

If you need help with the SS, pls PM me. I handle them for members all the time.

Feel better!
 
Tested Toby bg 291 at + 7.5 He came down a bit from yesterday hope he doesn't head right back up. I have my doubts though.
Still feeling miserable hope I'm feeling better tomorrow or today I forget this is already tomorrow. So in the morning I will go up to 4.75. I can see a difference in him now wants to play some and stays around more often. His legs are strong now jumps on
stand wanting treats. dehyrated chicken breast. Got him some friskies special diet turkey and giblets pate. He begs for that
stuff. Will try to get into my spreadsheet again. It says view only on it now. Wish me luck, Peg and Toby
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top