9/21 Sara AMPS~95

Status
Not open for further replies.

jan and Hep and sara (GA)

Member Since 2009
Morning LL,


WCR Sara has had some higher #'s than normal. They were still blue but she hit yellow for the first time in a long time yesterday. I opened a new pen cause I thought the insulin was probley pooping out. Her ps was good this am but she has gone up to mid blues instead of down.

Her biopsy for the lump on her cheek is next monday. I am going away this thursday and will be back on sunday. I am anxious about the biopsy.

Q I plan on witholding insulin that day since she will have anesthesia. Does getting anesthesia also impact their pm shot? As long as she is eating maybe a reduced shot?

She will be going to Dawns this wed till sunday. I am going to Bermuda for a wedding. :-D Now that the hurricaine has passed I guess all systems are a go. I've been busy with this and have a new petsitter this time. Of course she won't have Sara, only 2 dogs and 3 cats. But they
are needy. :YMPEACE:

jan and sara

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25273
9/18 thread
 
Re: 9/21 Sara AMPS~95 Question

If the numbers are a result of the insulin pooping out, it will take a few days for the new, good juice to replace what's already in Sara's shed. I'd not be concerned until tomorrow, at the earliest.

Is she still taking the Baytril? Is the vet planning on doing a cytocentesis to make sure that the UTI is gone? It's possible that one course of ABs may not have done a thorough enough job and a second round of ABs are needed. If the vet didn't do a cytocentesis along with a culture and sensitivity the first time, maybe one is needed now.

I would talk to your vet about how much insulin to give that morning. As far as the evening, get a test as soon as bring Sara home from the vet. Compare that test to her PMPS. You may need to shoot a reduced dose. Some cats aren't effected by anesthesia. How much they may be effected may also depend on how long they were under anesthesia.
 
Re: 9/21 Sara AMPS~95 Question

Thanks Sienne,

This was her 2nd round of abs for the UTI. A sterile sample was taken in te begining but I will ask her to get another when she goes in for the biopsy. And she has been over with the baytil for a couple of weeks now.

My vet actually said not to give her any insulin the morning of the biopsy, because she would'n be eating. I wanted to see what experiences people have had with this here. I trust FD, there is a lot of combined knowledge. I will check when i get her home and compare and post for the pm dose.

Makes since about the pooped out insulin. I think I waited to long. :-| I'll keep an eye on her.
 
No advise from me....just lots of support.

Enjoy your trip and wedding in Bermuda.

And all paws crossed for good report from Vet next week.
 
Will be thinking of you when you go to the vet's...emanwhile...are you both packed?
Sara needs her stuff together to go to Dawn's...and you need all your stuff or the wedding!
Hope you have a wonderful time!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top