9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119 +4/68 +4.5/76 +5/97 +8/444

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
9/20 Condo

Edited to add: I just read that the cycle count starts after each fur shot. That makes sense! So the next good shot (if there ever *IS* another good one :roll: ) will be the first cycle of the 2nd reduction.

FurShot
10th cycle of 2nd reduction (1.75u)
apparent problem with the new box of syringes.
2 needles have bent - not gone in; yesterday morning and this morning.

Day 5 Patience Pants Cruise - (Stalled off of Insulin Island)

Reuben spent part of yesterday on the terrace in a sudden interest in life off of his chair. All P's present, although he just sits mostly.

Ongoing Medications:
Potencil 50mg bid
pepcid 2.5mgbid
bupe - 0.07-0.10ml/8 hours
miralax - a few granules at big meals; nice prezzie last night
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben AMPS 316

awww. defective syringes.
that sounds like a pain. Hope you are able to replace them easily.

Mine sits a lot too even though I am sure she feels better than Rueben does. She doesn't initiate play very often. And I'm not so good at it
either. She either lays in her tower or on a big pillow by the glass window but she does roll over on her side and curl and when her head
is twisted upward, I think she feels better. I'm not sure she likes the lower numbers.
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben AMPS 316

Hi Alexa,

I've been waiting to see Reuben's numbers. What happened? How is he doing today? What a drag about the syringes. Did you get new ones? Maybe a drugstore will have them?
I don't understand what you mean about going back to the first cycle if you were already at the 10th?

Several people have noticed that their cats seem to feel better in low blues rather than low greens, Rhiannon, so maybe yours does too? We don't know their normal numbers because no one ever takes the bg when they're normal. They could have a high normal.
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben AMPS 316

rhiannon - awe, shadow sounds like such a sweet kitty!! reuben is relaxed some of the time like that, and snuggles with zack too. speaking of which, time to refresh the bupe, i think i haven`t given him any since 4am -- he has been feeling pretty good. :razz:

Melanie - the numbers are red and on the SS. no need to frighten the general public :lol:

The comment about going back to the first cycle is on Tip's page, and is from Sienne here If I understand correctly I start over. He doesn't feel too badly right now. I have a few more boxes of syringes on hand, hopefully one of them will be better. They are the BD's that I saw someone comment on today as being the last choice of what is available in the US. I will ask at a specialty pharmacy and see if they have a different brand.
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben AMPS 316

This public has seen it all so post away. You will at least get some sympathy and encouragement for better days ahead. :-D Insulin Island, :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben AMPS 316

Hi Alexa,

Don't worry about the public getting scared. :lol: :lol: Like Liz said, the publi has seen it all. And not only would you get sympathy but those of us looking for you and wondering how you guys are would ffind out easily instead of worrying and having to go look at the ss.

Anyway, I think maybe you should verify that with Sienne. I don't know if that's always the case or only when you just changed the dose or if the dose isn't working.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben AMPS 316

Its good to read that Reuben is doing better these days, even if he is a pink kitty today. Come down to the blues and greens Reubs!!

Have a good evening Alexa and Reuben.
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben AMPS 316

Lisa, Melanie, Tracy and Anne - Thank you so much for your visits!! They cheered us up greatly :razz:

Well, now we are back to 'HI', and I realize that the irresponsible lack of subject line information was just about how *I* feel writing these numbers... We spent so long up here, worrying about glucose toxicity and the real possibility that he was never going to respond to the insulin. So it feels sad and worrisome to be back here, especially after he worked so hard to get to the greens - even if it was just for a little while. I will keep the subject line up to date from now on, even if I have to close my eyes to do it, haha.

He will not let me inject him now. He tries to bite me. Poor baby. I have no idea if I got any in just now. The needle was bent again, but I didn`t smell the smell on him, so maybe it went in and then bent when he squirmed as I took it out. I have no idea! So maybe the needles are fine? I have not idea about anything anymore!

I will check with Sienne about how to count the cycles :razz: ...
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI !!!

Sorry that Reuben's on Hi. I share your feeling on how frustrated & sad to see our kitties suffering the DM but dont give up Alexa. Reuben & Rosy did not give up, how can we loss hope & let go? It's a chronic illness & we dont know how long they have been having a high bg before we found out. It takes time for them to get better, right? Even if they have a better bg for only a day, it's still an improvement.
We need to have Reuben's condo here because a lot of us on LL care to see how he's doing. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI !!!

tortie58 said:
We need to have Reuben's condo here because a lot of us on LL care to see how he's doing. :YMHUG:

Awe Helen, thank you so much for saying that... I just feel so so badly -- it is my job to get the insulin into him, and when I do he responds immediately. The high numbers are when he has no insulin in him. Last night he tested at 103 on a spot check after a good shot. So I just feel terrible about today, and yesterday, and maybe right now...

I`ve been meaning to tell you how much I love love love tea tree oil! how do you clean with it?
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238

rhiannon and shadow said:
Wow. There he goes.

I know, right? If I can just get the insulin in he takes it and runs, as long as the new dose is settled in. So if he keeps going at this rate of 150 points an hour he could be at 88 at +3, although I doubt it. He just ate 2nd dinner, it should help. Thanks Rhiannon :razz:
.
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238

I've been taking all my naps after the morning shot.
although I don't think of them as naps, it's just I give shots in my sleep. @-)
that's why I need all my lighting devices. :roll:
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119

not really that far off from your 88 prediction.

maybe you will be the one with the pj party.....
MY3CATS499x377.jpg
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119

Rut ro....looks like a little juice gets in and someone has a busy night planned!

Here's the link for the entire Counting Cycles post.

Looks like your patience pants paid off :-D
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119

+3/119 He is a HUNGRYMAN I mean CAT :lol: and is eating a big big buffet midnight dinner. He`s been eating for more that 5 minutes and is still going! That ought to make him feel better and slow down the drop!
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119

I fell asleep writing my little post and didn`t see your hilaaaarious picture rhiannon, :lol: :lol: :lol:

or your your post Marje -- thank you for the link!
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119

You're welcome.

Is early for him to come down so fast. Hope you get him leveled off!
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119

+4/68 whoa nellie!

i fell asleep again and he woke me up to test. he's good that way. must.set.alarm!!

he got a drizzle of hc gravy this time!

testing again at +4.5
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119

Marje and Gracie said:
You're welcome.

Is early for him to come down so fast. Hope you get him leveled off!

yeah, this was an advanced ski slope... what do you suppose brought this on?
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119 +4/68

Looks like either the suspected fur shots didn't miss by as much as you thought? Or he's getting an awful lot of action from the shed? Or a combination of the two. If this is a bounce clearing, that would explain it, but I'm not seeing where the bounce came from...

Carl
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119 +4/68 +4.5/76

+4.5/76

Carl & Bob said:
Looks like either the suspected fur shots didn't miss by as much as you thought? Or he's getting an awful lot of action from the shed? Or a combination of the two. If this is a bounce clearing, that would explain it, but I'm not seeing where the bounce came from...

Carl
Hi Carl,
well, if any went in on the last cycle it ALL went to the shed, cuz he sure wasn`t using any on deck! uh,oh, falling asleep at the keyboard again... i`m going for it, unless anyone thinks i shouldn`t. one rising number marje said, i got my number! gravy induced, but i got it!
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119 +4/68 +4.5/76

I didn't see where Marje said that.... was it in an earlier condo?

Can you set an alarm for +6 to make sure? Leave some food out? I know you're beyond tired, Alexa!
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119 +4/68 +4.5/76

I think he's bouncing off those blue numbers last night and he's now clearing it. Sometimes we get more insulin in them than we thought when we give a fur shot...that's why you never reshoot.

Sorry...but it's TWO rising, non food influenced numbers. ;-) He got HC...that takes a couple hours to wear off. I think it's going to be a long night, Alexa. You can sleep for an hour but I hope you can wake up. Bounce clearing cycles can sometimes be relentless in terms of numbers turning around.

I bet you were hoping I'd gone Ni ni :lol:
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119 +4/68 +4.5/76

Looks like the Patience Pants Cruise has changed into something more like a Pajama Party Cruise. Great to see those greens again on Reuben on this lower dose! Way to clear that bounce.
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119 +4/68 +4.5/76 +5/97

+5/97 haha, I woke up and thought an hour had passed, but nope, only half an hour....

Carl & Bob said:
I didn't see where Marje said that.... was it in an earlier condo?/quote]

yeah, it was a misinterpretation of this from my 9/18 condo

Marje and Gracie said:
reuben'smom said:
..
One other thing...I know we have to sleep but I'm uneasy about stopping testing for the night withou seeing rising numbers that are not food influenced. Why? Because nadirs can shift and that is possibly what happened on 9/16. So I think it's wise to set an alarm and grab one more test after what you think his nadir normally is to just be sure he's coming up.
===================================================================================
Marje and Gracie said:
I think he's bouncing off those blue numbers last night and he's now clearing it. Sometimes we get more insulin in them than we thought when we give a fur shot...that's why you never reshoot.

So you think today+s cycle was a bounce from last night, is that what you mean? and that some insulin got in on the two supposed fur shots on the am cycles yesterday and today? yesterday it looks like it.... today, it just looked relentlessly sugared up.... I`m so tiiiired I really shouldn`t be trying to understand anything!

''Sorry...but it's TWO rising, non food influenced numbers. ;-) He got HC...that takes a couple hours to wear off. I think it's going to be a long night, Alexa. You can sleep for an hour but I hope you can wake up. Bounce clearing cycles can sometimes be relentless in terms of numbers turning around.''

okaaaaaay, i`ll test again in an hour now then... :lol:

I bet you were hoping I'd gone Ni ni :lol:

haha, darn! ... and where does 'ni ni come from? it`s so sweet!
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119 +4/68 +4.5/76

Wendy&Neko said:
Looks like the Patience Pants Cruise has changed into something more like a Pajama Party Cruise. Great to see those greens again on Reuben on this lower dose! Way to clear that bounce.

Hahaa I love it! The Pajama Party Cruise -chocolate covered coffee beans hot chocolate and being served on the Lido deck until sun up :lol: :lol: ... Oh gosh, thanks for pointing out what this PPCruise is all about, going green on less juice, yeayyyyyyyy!!!
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238

Hi Alexa,

I would try to find some different syringes right away if I were you. That's scary. You don't need him to start being afraid of shots, Not to mention that the needle could break off in him. I don't know what drugstores you have but I use Walgreens syringes and they're pretty good. I hope you can get some that work.

I'm so glad you'll be posting even if you're high. We want to know either way and worry when we don't see you. Don't let it depress you. It's better to share with others anyway. It will make you feel better. Look how nicely Reuben is coming down!

Have a good night. I'm going to bed.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238

MelanieAndRacci said:
Hi Alexa,

I would try to find some different syringes right away if I were you. That's scary. You don't need him to start being afraid of shots, Not to mention that the needle could break off in him.
Have a good night. I'm going to bed.

Melanie & Racci

oh my gosh, i hadn`t thought of the possibility of the needle breaking off in him... ohh geeeeez... i`ll look tomorrow. good night!
 
Re: 9/21 Reuben PMPS HI +2/238 +3/119 +4/68 +4.5/76 +5/97 +8

Darn on that bounce! Wow.

I think the first quote about another rising number after his nadir was because you'd already gotten one without food. Last night, it was different.

Yeah...I think there was some bounce in there :-D

Jill used to "put everyone to bed" with a Ni Ni. Don't know when or why she started it but its a LL tradition.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top