9/21 Muffin +11 287 pmps 266 +1 270 +2 229

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25458&view

9/20 Recap:
amps 204
+1 217
+7 247
pmps 212~upped dose to .1
+2 91
+2 92

I thought the .1 dose was going to do the trick when I saw green last night, but yikes this morning! Had to fight the urge to up it any more and shot .1 again. Muffin's acting fine this morning, running after me for breffis, eating breffis, no p's yet tho, and her fur is still wrong. Will call the vet in a couple hours about fluids and pain meds, he wanted to know her bg's today anyway. Thinking of going btb for a bit since I can skip the +1.

Hope everyone has a good day. I'll catch up on condos later - I have most of yesterday's to get thru still.
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326 yikes!

That's an eyesore on her lovely SS..how is she doing this morning Anne?
Hope she clears this bounce quickly for you....
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326 yikes!

muffin! come down here with me...we'll take a nice slow stroll together until you feel better...

binks
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326 yikes!

I forgot to post the good part of my morning! This morning Shnookie came to wake me up - with snuggles (or shnuggles as I call them in his case)! He tried to dig me out of the covers, but as soon as I rolled onto my back, he layed right down and started up the motorboat. So I got a wonderful 45 mins of loving before getting up to that ugly pink.

Someone pee'd outside the downstairs box last night on the potty pad - Shnookie does this sometimes as he's too big to fit inside it (it's a covered box) and too lazy to go to another room with an uncovered box. But this was not nearly enough pee to have been Shnookie. So I'm afraid it was Muffin and I'm seeing MORE symptoms instead of her getting better. I forgot to clean her litter box yesterday :oops: and this morning there's about 4x the normal amt of clumps in there. She has been drinking more water than normal too.

Do you think this is a bounce from the green last night? Could her body have forgotten these numbers? Or is it more likely that it's just going up and up and up from the infections? Does this indicate she's getting worse? Or does the bg just keep going up until everything else is cleared up? I've never dealt with infections and diabetes since dx. Numbers continually climbing even with more insulin makes me think she's getting worse, not better.

ETA: Sienne, that's a really big boing, especially for her, she's never been particularly bouncy.
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326 +2 275

I hope she listens to you Tena :smile:

275 @ +2 3 p's accounted for now - she's preened, purred, and peed (IN the box!) Still seems to feeling good, and she sure ate well this morning. Continues to drink more than normal - that's good tho, right? For the UTI? 2 more hours until I can call the vet - he wants a +4, and I never did make it btb :lol:
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326 +2 275

Hi Anne: I'm sorry your little Muffin girl is feeling so punky. Pancreatitis is no fun that's for sure. Tori has CP and has had a couple of serious acute attacks in the past so we know. Please don't get too upset about her higher than normal numbers. Tori always goes up a lot when she has a flare and then goes back down when it subsides. ALso drinking a lot is very common. A CP kitty dehydrates very easily and that is the body's natural way of trying to correct it. As the others have mentioned the key to Pancreatitis control is fluids and pain and nausea control. When Tori has a flare I treat her with squids, Buprenex and Pepcid.

I hope she starts feeling better for you real soon. I know what a worry it is.
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326 +2 275

Thank you Barb, that's comforting to hear. So far she hasn't seemed nauseous at all, but I do think she was in pain yesterday afternoon when I came home. I'm going to ask the vet today about getting her squids and pain med.
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326 +2 275

So glad to see that yellow...maybe her drinking is really very good for her....smart little one....
Feel better Muffin.... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326 +2 275 +4 270

Ok vet wants me to increase insulin to .2 (although I don't rely on him for dosing, I'll worry about that here with you guys) I asked about squids, he said I could bring her in to get those and he can check her dehydration. I asked about pain meds, he brought up metacam (because it's in her file that she got that not too long ago) I said no, I don't want to give her that and asked for bupe. He said ok, that or something else he mentioned, not sure what it was, so back to the vet we go in 10 mins.

Edit: She is beginning now to act like she's not feeling well again - heading into the closet, hunkered down, so I think pain meds are definitely in order. Thanks so much for all the suggestions yesterday!
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326 +2 275 +4 270

Poor baby. Pancreatitis even if it isn't a real bad flare is always painful. I hope the vet visit goes well and she comes home with good pain meds.

It really surprises me that vets will often offer Metacam for a kitty that has GI problems. Tori had a very bad reaction to Metacam. She had been prescribed it for her arthritis . It didn't cause kidney problems for her but it did cause a terrible case of gastritis. It was so severe that she actually vomited up part of her stomach mucosa. She then developed pancreatitis and septicemia. We almost lost her. I know that is a very severe reaction but Metacam is an anti-inflammatory and anti-inflammatories can cause GI problems. Why risk it? I'm so glad that you said no to the Metacam. I'll get off my soapbox now.
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326 +2 275 +4 270

Thank you for the soapboxing, Barb, it's welcome any time, particularly regarding something potentially dangerous.

+6 328 Vet gave her 100ml squids and first dose of bupe, to show me how to do it. I think it's working, as she was headed into the closet when we left for the vet, and now she is here on the desk with me. Yesterday afternoon by this time, she was hiding and I think really hurting. They sent me home with 6 more doses and said call if she needs more. He really wants me to increase insulin to .2u. What do you guys think? I've already decided to set alarms throughout the night tonight to test, either way, and I called DSiL's father and told him I can't take him to physical therapy tomorrow morning. He sounded rather annoyed that I wanted to stay home with my cat instead, but...oh well. There's a back-up person he should be able to get a ride from.

So should I increase the dose? Leave it for tonight and see maybe in the morning?
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326 +2 275 +4 270 +6 328 Dose?

Let's see how the rest of the cycle goes, if you can get a +11, that would be great.
And we'll see what others can add.
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326 +2 275 +4 270 +6 328 Dose?

those numbers are really not Muffin like... I'm with Ronnie, post your +11 and see what people think.

(((Muffin)))))
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326.. +6 328 +8 320 Dose ?

+ 8 320 I'll give her a break until +11 since nothing much is happening. She still seems to be feeling ok tho - she's having a snack right now.

Thanks Ronnie and Helene - I'll see ya at +11!
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326.. +6 328 +8 320 Dose ?

let's see how the rest of the cycle goes. I'm curious whether the fluids and bupe will bring her numbers down at all.
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326.. +6 328 +8 320 Dose ?

Poor Muffin!!!! We are sending our strongest Healing vines to you & hope you will be feeling better real soon--Big HUGS!!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326.. +6 328 +8 320 Dose ?

Hi Muffin, We'll just have to stop by with some more chicken soup tonight. I sure hope you're feeling better soon. I'm sending you some beautiful healing vines from my garden.

Hugs,

Stu
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326.. +8 320 +10.25 313 Dose ?

Missed +10, but +10.25 is 313. Will post a +11 too. She still seems to be feeling ok, so pain meds working, drinking a bit less, so squids working, but no movement on the bg :sad:
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326.. +8 320 +10.25 313 Dose ?

aw, muffin...i'm sorry your #'s didnt come down, but i'm so glad you got some relief for the pain.

binks
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin amps 326.. +8 320 +10.25 313 Dose ?

I think Muffin's numbers this morning could have reflected a bounce or it's a matter of her fighting this off -- high numbers due to pain or an inflammation/infection. I couldn't tell if your vet prescribed Pepsid. It may be worth considering. I didn't go back to look at your condo from yesterday to see if Jill had given you this link to Jojo's post on pancreatitis -- I thought she had. Jojo would refer to pancreatitis as a Pepsid deficiency.

If the numbers are a result of the pancreatitis, it might make sense to raise Muffin's dose. You monitor closely as it is and as long as you can keep an eye on her numbers, it may make sense to raise her dose. Just be aware that as the situation clears up, you may need to really be on top of her numbers and reduce the dose.
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin +8 320 +10.25 313 +11 287 Dose ?

+11 287 hmm..finally starting to come down, just in time to confuse me about what to shoot tonight.

Sienne - vet did not prescribe Pepsid, and I did not bring it up today, as I was thinking it was mainly for nausea, and Muffin's eating fine so I don't think she's nauseous. Should I be giving it to her anyway? I did get that link yesterday, and read it once, should probably read it again. I have no problem calling vet tomorrow for some if it's something Muffin should be getting. I've cancelled my plans for tomorrow and have nothing I have to do on Thursday so I can be here round the clock to monitor her, at least until Friday morning, when I'll only be out for a couple hours.

My feeling is increase, and I'll test until bedtime and set alarms for every 3 hrs to test - would that be enough provided I'm not shocked by anything I see? Open to more opinions on this.
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin +8 320 +10.25 313 +11 287 Dose ?

If you're going to raise the dose, especially if your PMPS is lower than your +11, I'd get a +1 and possibly a +2 so you know where this is heading.

As long as Muffin is eating, I suspect you can hold off on the Pepsid.
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin +8 320 +10.25 313 +11 287 Dose ?

good luck with the dosecrease! That's what I would do too, just be sure to monitor because when the pain clears her numbers might drop quickly.
 
Re: 9/21 Muffin +11 287 pmps 266 shot.2

pmps 266 down from +11 almost chickened out and waited until morning to increase, but these are still very high numbers for Muffin. So I shot .2u. I'll get a +1 and +2 adn +3 and if everything looks ok, I'll get a +6 and +9 too. Thanks for the advice Sienne and Libby.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top