9/21 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +4 72 PMPS 88 DOSE REDUCTION QUESTION!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess and MrCat

Member Since 2013
Having another great day - 4 days after dental surgery and the first day off antibiotics! No need for pain meds - a happy cat! :-D

I'm doing a curve today to check his nadir. He's been pretty consistent at +4 but you never know, those nadirs can move around without warning! :o
 
Re: 9/21 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +2 78 +4 72 PMPS 88 DOSE REDUCTION

Please look at Mr.Cat's spreadsheet before replying. For the past few weeks, Mr.Cat's +12 has been in the 80's. I feed, wait one hour, and then shoot at +13. I wouldn't ask this question if it happened only once or twice, but it's happening every night. My question is this... should I reduce his dose? Mr.Cat hardly ever gets down into the 40's to "earn a reduction" according to the tight regulation folks. However, I've reduced him without those 40's and he still stays between 70 - 120 usually. His spreadsheet doesn't look like any other spreadsheets on this site (no crazy fluctuations between 40 - 400 or random 200-300's) so I have no one to compare him with.
I reduced his dose four days ago from .60U to .50U (as much as I can measure that on these tiny syringes!) and it hasn't really changed his numbers. They are actually going down after the reduction. Should I reduce more? I haven't given him any insulin yet since his +12 was 88. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 9/21 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +4 72 PMPS 88 DOSE REDUCTION QUEST

If my spreadsheet looked like yours, I'd be smiling a lot :-D

This is from the protocol-

Reducing the dose: If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

I might keep the dose the same, and if you see normal numbers like you have been seeing for 7 days, maybe reduce by .25 or try "shaving" and dose between .5 and .25?
 
Re: 9/21 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +4 72 PMPS 88 DOSE REDUCTION QUEST

A couple of comments and observations...

Given Mr. Cat's numbers, I think you can shoot a pre-shot in the 80s. I don't think there's a need to stall.

Aside from dropping into the 40s, the other way to get a dose reduction is if Mr. Cat's numbers are largely green for a week. Mr. Cat has been at this dose for 4 days. After 7 days/14 cycles, you can reduce.

I would encourage you to get at least one test every PM cycle.

It looks like Mr. Cat's AMPS number is a bit higher than the rest of the cycle. You may want to see about giving him some food at +8 or +9 in the PM cycle. If his pancreas is producing insulin, the food should cause his pancreas to produce it's own insulin and thereby lower the AMPS number.
 
Re: 9/21 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +4 72 PMPS 88 DOSE REDUCTION QUEST

Thanks, good info! I will give him his PM shot without waiting. That was my biggest question.... to wait or reduce.... or neither.
This morning, Mr.Cat did not have food before his AMPS and it was 104. The past two days (115 and 118) he ate sometime before his test (I left food out and don't know exactly when he ate but usually it's 1-2 hours before his test). So...that means that he's better without food. I suppose we need more time to give his pancreas a chance to catch up. I'll hold the dose.
Also, I mentioned earlier that we are doing curves today so I'll have those PM readings tonight. :-D
 
Re: 9/21 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +4 72 PMPS 88 DOSE REDUCTION QUEST

Looks like Mr. Cat is just a wonderful surfer. His ss looks a lot like ours did.
When you surf the greens all the time, you just keep one eye open in case....
Way to go Mr Cat! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/21 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +4 72 PMPS 88 DOSE REDUCTION QUEST

Thanks for posting, Rhiannon. It's so nice to see a spreadsheet like Mr.Cat's! Now I can compare notes and see how you helped Shadow go OTJ successfully. Cheers!
:RAHCAT
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top