9/21 Minky AMPS: 175, NS; 351@+4.25; PMPS: 532; 332@4.25

Sheila and Minky

Active Member
Last edited:
I usually give 2 units or it has been recommended because Minky was over 150 all week to give 2.25 units. I just tested her and she is 175. She ate 10-15 minutes ago. Should I skip and re-test in a couple of hours or give a token dose? I am trying to keep her on an earlier morning routine because I leave for work earlier in the morning.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-20-minky-amps-461-337-6-pmps-361.294189/

@Wendy&Neko
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
I usually give her the insulin around 7:00 AM EST and it is almost 10 AM so almost three hours difference.
You know what since nobody has responded I would just skip , you will be way off schedule. I'm no expert on giving dosing advice , but I would skip . In the unit square put Skip.but still get some tests in
@Sheila and Minky
Hopefully someone will give you advice on how many units to give going forward
 
You know what since nobody has responded I would just skip , you will be way off schedule. I'm no expert on giving dosing advice , but I would skip . In the unit square put Skip.but still get some tests in
@Sheila and Minky
I could give her a dose at lunch time, but I don't know if I will always be able to do that and it is such a tight window when I come home. I will keep testing. If she goes high though I don't know what to do.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Marje and Gracie
Hi ladies Sheila skipped the AM dose since nobody responded. She shoots at 7: 00 AM and she was already 3 hours past her shooting time so she had to skip. She works and can only come home on her lunch break and test her again , she can't be off her schedule. I told her to skip the shot.
She was advised to increase the dose for this morning from 2 units to 2.25 units .
She's new to this. Can someone keep an eye on her spreadsheet and advise on how many units to give tonight. She will keep testing through the day
Thanks

@Sheila and Minky
I'll check in later on you :cat:
 
Last edited:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
Hi ladies Sheila skipped the AM dose since nobody responded. She shoots at 7: 00 AM and she was already 3 hours past her shooting time so she had to skip. She works and can only come home on her lunch break and test her again , she can't be off her schedule. I told her to skip the shot.
She was advised to increase the dose for this morning from 2 units to 2.25 units .
She's new to this. Can someone keep an eye on her spreadsheet and advise on how many units to give tonight. She will keep testing through the day
Thanks

@Sheila and Minky
I'll check in later on you :cat:
Thank you <3
 
This morning I posted asking for advice as Minky was at 175 (whether to give a shot, a token shot, or none at all), but I didn't hear back so I didn't give a dose of insulin. I am trying to keep her on morning/evening insulin shots because I work. She is now at 351 but has had no insulin since last night and just ate. Should I give her the insulin now even though I wouldn't be able to give it this time on Monday or give it to her in a few hours when I would normally give it? Do I give 2 or 2.25?

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-20-minky-amps-461-337-6-pmps-361.294189/
 
This morning I posted asking for advice as Minky was at 175 (whether to give a shot, a token shot, or none at all), but I didn't hear back so I didn't give a dose of insulin. I am trying to keep her on morning/evening insulin shots because I work. She is now at 351 but has had no insulin since last night and just ate. Should I give her the insulin now even though I wouldn't be able to give it this time on Monday or give it to her in a few hours when I would normally give it? Do I give 2 or 2.25?

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-20-minky-amps-461-337-6-pmps-361.294189/
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Wendy&Neko

Also
On 9-19 Sheila have 2.25 units in the AM. I then saw on 9-19 she have 2 units for the PMPS . I had asked her why and she thought the 2.25units was just to be given once since Minky's AMPS was 409. So that's why Sheila went back to 2 units.
She shot 2.25 units tonight,
Question she has is what dose should she continue with going forward


ladies Sheila skipped the AM dose since nobody responded. She shoots at 7: 00 AM and 7:00 PM it was already 3 hours past her shooting time so she had to skip. She works and can only come home on her lunch break and test her again , she can't be off her schedule. I told her to skip the shot.
She was advised to increase the dose for this morning from 2 units to 2.25 units .
She's new to this. Can someone keep an eye on her spreadsheet and advise on how many units to give tonight. She will keep testing through the day
Thanks
 
Last edited:
I will do another test shortly. The ketone meter did come this afternoon so I will have to figure out how it works. The formatting was the only way on the spreadsheet to get the 2.25 to show up.
I was talking about your PMPS BG numbers
Example you have 532.00 for tonight's BG , you don't have to keep adding the 2 zero's after all the PMPS numbers then
 
Sorry, I was away all day racing, just got back. Sorry you didn't get an answer in time for this morning.

I see you increased tonight. It's not a bad idea to wait until you can monitor before doing an increase, though it's not always the case the cat will respond to an increase on the first cycle. Good luck with the new dose.

When you are new and following SLGS for dosing, skipping is OK unless there is recent DKA or ketones present. With recent DKA, it best to give at least some insulin instead of skipping. Are you testing her for ketones regularly at home? You should be at this early point. And if you are, put the results of the ketones on the spreadsheet (Results column is one possibility), so we stop asking about ketones tests. ;)
 
Sorry, I was away all day racing, just got back. Sorry you didn't get an answer in time for this morning.

I see you increased tonight. It's not a bad idea to wait until you can monitor before doing an increase, though it's not always the case the cat will respond to an increase on the first cycle. Good luck with the new dose.

When you are new and following SLGS for dosing, skipping is OK unless there is recent DKA or ketones present. With recent DKA, it best to give at least some insulin instead of skipping. Are you testing her for ketones regularly at home? You should be at this early point. And if you are, put the results of the ketones on the spreadsheet (Results column is one possibility), so we stop asking about ketones tests. ;)
I know everyone has things going on. I tried to make the right choice but I think I should have given something. She did just come out of DKA. I just got the ketone tester today and just tested her ketones. The tester didn't come with a control solution so I am assuming it is okay. It was .4. Her blood sugar was 332.
 
Good to see she tested OK for ketones. Sometimes they'll go a little higher with higher numbers. You are right that giving something would be better than nothing in this case. Of course it's really hard if you have to shoot and then leave. Leaving more food out can help keep her safe until you can get back and test again.

A tip for getting help, use the subject line prefix field and set it to "?". Those of us helping look for those question marks. You can do a brief summary of the question in the subject line, such as "should I shoot?". That'll get more eyes. I'm not fond of being tagged - personal preference. If you let people know you have a question, you are likely to get more eyes on you and more quickly. There are quite a few people here who can help and in different times zones. Once the question is answered, you can change the subject line prefix back to "none".
 
Good to see she tested OK for ketones. Sometimes they'll go a little higher with higher numbers. You are right that giving something would be better than nothing in this case. Of course it's really hard if you have to shoot and then leave. Leaving more food out can help keep her safe until you can get back and test again.

A tip for getting help, use the subject line prefix field and set it to "?". Those of us helping look for those question marks. You can do a brief summary of the question in the subject line, such as "should I shoot?". That'll get more eyes. I'm not fond of being tagged - personal preference. If you let people know you have a question, you are likely to get more eyes on you and more quickly. There are quite a few people here who can help and in different times zones. Once the question is answered, you can change the subject line prefix back to "none".
Okay, that makes sense. Being new, it is tough to know the protocol. Thank you so much.
 
Back
Top