9/21- Lucky- still trying to figure it all out

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Member Since 2011
Okay, so continuing on from yesterday.... I'm going to copy and paste:

"But is a chronic rebound not possible? Where he has just gotten into a vicious cycle of too high insulin? I was reading that some cats don't have to have a low green to rebound. And maybe the answer I'm looking for is not rebound. Maybe it's insulin induced hyperglycemia? I'm trying to find info on this but all I can find really is info on hypo.

If you look at 9/19, he was at 402 at +8 and then 317 at PMPS. I just think this is more than meter variance (and it happens too consistently) and something else is going on. I've tried increasing and holding dose and don't get regular U curves. I've tried decreasing and same thing. Either I'm not increasing enough or I'm not decreasing enough."

If one isn't getting nice U curves, then something is up, right?

"And I was thinking....BEFORE the dental, he was doing pretty well with just 1u - .9u, it wasn't until I started increasing to get lower PS's, that I starting getting worse results. I can see that now looking back around 7/31. Yeah, he was getting some blues but they weren't consistent.

Well, if the dental decreased his insulin needs and 1.2 was too high before the dental, wouldn't it make sense that 1.2+ (or even 1u) would definitely be too high now?

I thought a lot about this last night. I couldn't go to sleep because my mind was just racing."

Now my dilemma is, do I decrease and hold to prove that insulin is too high? I mean, sometimes when the insulin has worn off at PS, his BG is lower on his own than it was at +8 even.
 
Your logic regarding the recent dental and having reduced insulin needs is sound in my book.
Now, whether Lucky will react to that logic is another story, but I would consider lowering the dose.
 
Well, I've lowered to 1u to see how it goes.

Dh is on his way home with ketone strips and aquarium gravel so I can try to check Lucky for ketones tomorrow. He's eating great, same appetite. With his numbers being in the low 300's all day long, should I test him every day?

Oops, sorry forgot to update his #'s!

AMPS: 361
+4 309
+7 331
+9 313
+10 330
PMPS 334
 
Good Luck with the reduction.

I need to find it, but I have a link I will share with you discussing Rebound and the theory of cats not having to hit greens to see that happen. It will be later today, but just as soon as I can find the link I will post it for you.
 
dmartini4 said:
Same thing happened to Shakes...
Goodluck with the one unit..

Can you explain? I'm interested to hear!

So he had a dental and needed less insulin or you were getting crazy high numbers and lowered (or all of the above)?

kse said:
Have you read this? I need to find the other links...

http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Somogyi_rebound

Not saying it is Somogyi.....but, there are some interesting points included in this link.

Thank you! I'll check it out later, have to get my son ready for school. But I might have already read that. I think I've looked at just about everything I could LOL That's where I got the idea about not having to see greens to rebound and that Lucky might be in a chronic rebound pattern. But thanks, I'm sure I'll read it very thoroughly again :mrgreen:
 
Henry had a dental mid July and I saw no dramatic decrease in BG levels afterwards like some people report they get after a dental.
 
Kitty had a dental in May---complete with 3 extractions and infected sockets--- I saw no decrease in BGs. I was hopeful, but it didn't seem to help. But, her breath smells a lot better and her teeth are pretty!!!
 
Yes, it's entirely possible that the dental isn't decreasing his need for insulin. But even looking back to before the dental, he was doing much better with lower doses and I did see that right before his dental because I remember discussing it here and being told it might be a good idea to drop dose, so I did the day of his dental. But then after, I don't think I held the 1u long enough (imagine that! but I'm learning!) and we got right back into the bad number rut that we were in before the dental.

So this was a problem before he even had his dental done. I just thought that it might have decreased his need even further possibly. Who knows, but I guess I'll find out here in a couple of days. It's tough seeing him in pinks all day and if I could, I'd raise to 2u just to try to get him out of them but I just have to figure this out and if I'm right, it'll be best in the long run. I just don't think raising dose is the answer, I hope I'm right nailbite_smile
 
Sorry I have been absent, I have been working like crazy and late all week.
shakes was at 3.2 for a long while, then when he had his dental
the 3.1 was giving him mid to high 200's all the time, and he started acting lethargic
and just not himself so I lowered to 2.8 and we have been here since
and his preshots are mid to low 200's unless he bounces like yesterday
U think I have it marked on my spreadsheet when he went to the vets
It took me about 2 weeks to reduce to see if maybe that was the problem.
take a quick look at my ss and let me know if you hav e any questions

Densie and Shakes
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top