9/21 Klinger AMPS 421; PMPS 393

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/21 Klinger AMPS 421

marcy dear, last nights shot was NOT CORRECT...i'm not good at splaining in writing. wish you were home and i would just call you.
you cannot shoot that dose into that pmps. you possibly could have hypo's in the am and now are seeing a rebound # in the morning....and god knows how long this has been a rebound with those large doses which i was just getting ready to say that 7U was the only thing working. let's chat just so i can explain pzi 101 on the phone as i am soooo not good at lenghty explanations on type.
send me yours
or ask for mine.
lori
 
Re: 9/21 Klinger AMPS 421

Hi Lori,
Klingers ss is not complete and not exactly correct, so you may have the wrong idea.
Also the way she worded her post yesterday may have given you the idea that she shot 3.6u into a 145 PMPS. she did not.

In the AM Monday, she fed him and forgot to test before the food, she waited some period of time, then tested, and got a 494.
She shot a reduced 3.6u because he dropped so fast & so far the day before on 3.8u. I seem to remember it was a 240pt drop, but the day before that, 3.4u gave him only a 75pt drop)


In the pm Monday:
+11.5 he was 145, then she fed- he ate normally
+12 and 10min, he was 187
+13 he was 279, and she shot a very reduced 2.2u because she wanted to be able to shoot at 5:30 AM before work (now only 11 hrs away)

This morning he was back to his normal at 421 at 5:30am (which was +11 and his AMPS)
She reduced again to 3.4u in hopes that his pmps will be a shootable number at 5:30pm

Previously he did not respond very significantly to 3.4u after several days. I had her change the shot location a few days ago, and she has seen a dramatic improvement in the insulin response. That may be the reason that 3.4u is now working better.

Hope that splains it better- I think she may be close to a good dose at 3.4 but we'll see tonight.

Marcy,
Entering data in the he ss is tricky when you have out of the ordinary/off schedule situations like last night. The PS number is the number at the time you actually shoot, which in last nights case was 279, not 145. You can and should put all of that data into your ss, and then hand color the box if you want to.
This is hard to explain , but maybe you could take a look at what I do, (picture is worth a lot of words) and maybe it might make it more clear for others. So they don't freak when they possibly think you shot 3.6 into a 145 (which you would never do- right? lol)

If I'm missing something or that's not what you were talking about I'm sorry, and Lori, if you want to direct her, I'm sure she would appreciate your imput. :-D
 
Re: 9/21 Klinger AMPS 421

thank you nancy....i was really 'freaking out!' but i get so emotionally involved with the newbie's.....i was ready to put out a 911! :lol: i appreciate you updating me on the current status.
 
Re: 9/21 Klinger AMPS 421

Also one other thing before I forget again- Marcy, when you are checking for a clear sign that you have rising numbers near preshot (2 in a row rising), you frequently see huge jumps in just 15 min because the pzi is wearing off. Last night if you had tested at +12.5 rather than +13, you would have seen a number well over 200 and you could have shot at that time. Then you wouldn't have had to reduce so drastically in order to get back on schedule. Although since you are on a strict schedule, you should always reduce if you are shooting late. You will get the feel for how much, as time and data are collected.
 
Re: 9/21 Klinger AMPS 421

@ Lori,
Ya that would have freaked me out too! but hopefully he'll be safe and sound and cruising yellows till his mommy comes home.

It is a good point about the ss though- so many times newbies make the ps mistake, and type "shot at +14" or whatever, I wonder if there is something in a sticky somewhere about that. I have worked out a pretty good system for myself- my memory is welllll... so I try to write down shot time and a lot of other info (like c1 for 1st cycle, etc, or when I give certain meds) In my case its for my own benefit, but for newbies its a pretty important communication tool...

Anyway - thanks for taking on the newbie kits- that so nice of you to donate your time. :-D
 
PMPS 393
Gave 3.4u's

Oh my! I am so sorry Lori for freaking you out! I'll go in and fix my ss. So sorry! Nancy, thank you so much for splainin it to Lori.
 
Marcy,
awesome PMPS because it was an improvement! Just enough gradual reduction so you can shoot 3.4u right on schedule. and if we are lucky tomorrow AM will be just a bit better, maybe 370. and eventually hopefully the whole curve will move down a bit as he gets used to pinks and yellows.

On the ss, its still not exactly correct. I hope you don't mind changing it again, but it could really help us a couple weeks from now if we need to make some future decision. so...

change the 145 to the +11 box, type 1 space then then +11.5 or 11.5 if the + doesn't fit, then color it blue (yay blue!)
so +11 box looks like this:

145
+11.5

then make the +12 (pmps) box to look like this:

187@
12.25;
287@
+13
Color it yellow, b/c you shot a yellow, and it was last yellow

then in the shot dose box write:
3.4u
@+13,
6:30p

Sorry to be anal but.... it helps me help you

Remember, you keep counting +13, +14, +24, etc until you shoot again, then its PS and you start counting hours from that point. This becomes important if he starts going OTJ. the clock time is irrelevant, but helps you keep things straight for yourself only. With Lev it is important, so I note it everyday- being "time Challenged" as I am, LOL :lol:
 
ok so for those who dont get our technique add a

@
on its own line between the 145 and the 11.5. You have space bc the next box is big, so it makes it clearer.

to color it blue (or yellow etc) you highlight the box, then at the top of the ss, you should have a color selection box where you can pick a color and select it. see if you can find it.
 
oh and to be really precise, this mornings ps was at +11, so you could keep it where it is, but add +11 on the next line. Also I always try to add "u" to units, (I shoot such high doses it may look like an hour, lol)
and a or p to the time,
and + before the hour whenever it fits, OR sometimes it just doesn't fit well so I don't, and I substitute @ on its own line. You don't really need + and @, use one or the other

wow, im anal :oops: just been doing it tooo long
 
So I think this dose is good with the new shot location, so when are you going to be off work to see if we are supposing correctly? Are you off every fri sat sun?
 
I am generally off every Fri, Sat, Sun. There is the rare occasion when I need to work on a Fri. I try to stick with 4 10-hour days.
Hope to get a +3 test in tonight. If I can keep my eyes open long enough. @-) I stare at the computer all day at work and come home and stare at it some more. what's wrong with me? don't anyone answer that! LOL.
 
nice looking pmps for your klinger...still sooo relieved. thanks for the nice pm marcy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top