9/21 Kitty Cat AMPS 393, PMPS 368, increased dose

Christina & Kitty Cat

Member Since 2020
9/20 thread , History:
  • 9/11-9/13 vomiting, constipation, ketones small
  • 9/14 vet/hospital, started ondansetron + famotidine, "not DKA yet"
  • 9/15 first low number event, high carb & honey to bring up
  • 9/16 reduced from 1u to 0.5u for 2 cycles
  • 9/17 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u for 2 cycles, vomit after new seafood flavor so not as concerned but will stick to poultry and maybe beef
  • 9/18 first day of greens & blues, feeding MC to keep it there, reduced from 0.75u to 0.5u for 6 cycles
PM+10 325
Increasing dose from 0.5u to 0.75u

He woke me up at PM+6 wanting food which is very early for him. By PM+10 (when we usually wake up) he was HOLLERING to be fed. He had caused a ruckus in the kitchen overnight knocking over every food can, unusual for him. Also heard gurgling stomach noises for ~15 mins. I couldn't get a good prick in and he was so hyper, I probably gave way too many freeze-dried chicken bites but hopefully this doesn't influence the bg. Will consider getting an automatic feeder to keep him tame during these hours.

@Wendy&Neko
 
I love how organized you are :) FWIW, I'd grab a test next time Kitty Cat wakes you up like that - his #s could have dropped to new territory for him. Hope you all have a great Monday :bighug:
Haha thank you, just want to make it easier for everyone as you're already working so hard to help all the sugar kitties.
Yes! I'll definitely do that. I'm worried about the crazy hunger being a sign of lower numbers but won't know unless I test test test!
 
AMPS 393, shot 0.75u
I've been going through all the threads on TR and when to test. I don't have a full time job to work around at the moment, but I was wondering how long I need to keep testing every 2 hours before I can ease up a little and change the testing schedule?
I was thinking of doing PM+10, AMPS, AMP+2, AMP+10, PMPS, PM+2. Basically 2hrs before & 2hrs after.
So optional would be AM+4, 6, 8 if he's lower than usual and I want to get some extra tests in.
 
AMPS 393, shot 0.75u
I've been going through all the threads on TR and when to test. I don't have a full time job to work around at the moment, but I was wondering how long I need to keep testing every 2 hours before I can ease up a little and change the testing schedule?
I was thinking of doing PM+10, AMPS, AMP+2, AMP+10, PMPS, PM+2. Basically 2hrs before & 2hrs after.
So optional would be AM+4, 6, 8 if he's lower than usual and I want to get some extra tests in.
I definitely would get mid-cycle tests while you can - a lot of fun stuff happens there :cat: -though I don't think you need to necessarily test every two hours. Some people describe testing like a jigsaw puzzle. So one day you may get AMPS, +2, +8, PMPS, +2, +6 and another day you may get AMPS, +3, +7, PMPS, +1, +3...basically change your testing every so often so you get different tests at different times so you can get an idea of what Kitty Cat does during the cycle (when onset is, when typical nadir is...though this can change). I have set alarms to test that PM cycle too...cats usually dip lower at night.

If you look at my SS, when Jax was in pink and yellows (right when I started TR - ignore the mayhem before that line...), I'd see when I tested the day before and try to grab different hours the next day. Also, I think some people that work full time set early shot times so they can get a +1 and +2 at least before they leave the house as those are usually indicators of an active cycle or not. Here's info on TR and full-time job (I think it's good info even though I don't work :))

And of course more testing is required when Kitty Cat drops :)

I'm sure others may weigh in with advice too.
 
I definitely would get mid-cycle tests while you can - a lot of fun stuff happens there :cat: -though I don't think you need to necessarily test every two hours. Some people describe testing like a jigsaw puzzle. So one day you may get AMPS, +2, +8, PMPS, +2, +6 and another day you may get AMPS, +3, +7, PMPS, +1, +3...basically change your testing every so often so you get different tests at different times so you can get an idea of what Kitty Cat does during the cycle (when onset is, when typical nadir is...though this can change). I have set alarms to test that PM cycle too...cats usually dip lower at night.

If you look at my SS, when Jax was in pink and yellows (right when I started TR - ignore the mayhem before that line...), I'd see when I tested the day before and try to grab different hours the next day. Also, I think some people that work full time set early shot times so they can get a +1 and +2 at least before they leave the house as those are usually indicators of an active cycle or not. Here's info on TR and full-time job (I think it's good info even though I don't work :))

And of course more testing is required when Kitty Cat drops :)

I'm sure others may weigh in with advice too.
Ohh I see, that makes a lot of sense to alternate times so you get more pieces of the "puzzle". Thank you! I'll watch him closely today since he had a dose increase, but one of these days I'm going to need to leave the house!
 
A lot of people like taking a +2 test. For many cats (but not mine) on Lantus, the +2 was like an indicator how the cycle would go. If it's about the same as the preshot test, it'll be a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If it's quite a bit lower, it's an active cycle needing more tests/monitoring. If the +2 is higher, put away the test kit for the cycle and do something for yourself - unless you just want to gather data. Data will be your friend. Learning Kitty Cat's cycles will help you learn when you can test less or have to test more.

For me, the +3 or +4 was a better indicator on Lantus. Which was good, cause that was my before bed test and I could tell based on that whether I needed to set alarms. Last night he did quite a drop to +2, I would have been tempted to get a +4. Though he's shown already that if he's really high he does drop a decent amount at +2 even if just having a normal Lantus cycle. At least he's coming down a bit today, so looks like he didn't go low enough last night to cause a bounce.

Good luck with the new dose.
 
A lot of people like taking a +2 test. For many cats (but not mine) on Lantus, the +2 was like an indicator how the cycle would go. If it's about the same as the preshot test, it'll be a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If it's quite a bit lower, it's an active cycle needing more tests/monitoring. If the +2 is higher, put away the test kit for the cycle and do something for yourself - unless you just want to gather data. Data will be your friend. Learning Kitty Cat's cycles will help you learn when you can test less or have to test more.

For me, the +3 or +4 was a better indicator on Lantus. Which was good, cause that was my before bed test and I could tell based on that whether I needed to set alarms. Last night he did quite a drop to +2, I would have been tempted to get a +4. Though he's shown already that if he's really high he does drop a decent amount at +2 even if just having a normal Lantus cycle. At least he's coming down a bit today, so looks like he didn't go low enough last night to cause a bounce.

Good luck with the new dose.
Thanks for all this advice!
I was going to get a +4 but was more tired than I realized so just did a +6 and he barely budged. I think it will be a calm day. Just need to get today's ketone test.
 
Kitty Cat gave me a break today! All pinks so still high but better than usual. I used my break to catch up on sleep so still need to get that ketone test.
If +2 goes to 200s I'll get a +4.
 
Back
Top