9/21 Kasha AMPS 149, 192 @ 1.3 PMPS 152

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
Apparently she doesn't eat breakfast. She did eat over 1 Tbsp for a snack around +9. She'll lick at breakfast, but not much interested. But usually within the next hour she gets up and eats a little more - and by "usually", I mean the last 2 or 3 days. I had to get to work early this morning since I'm leaving early for our chemo appointment, so I just hope she continues to nibble as she's been doing in the evenings (when I can monitor her). She did hit the greens last night, at least for a little while.

Kasha story: Just a short one again today, I have a headache and I'm tired... Another of Kasha's food obsessions is broccoli. She LOVES broccoli. I love broccoli too, so she often got a little plate of broccoli when I had some. One day, the ex-BF and I were having some friends over for dinner, which wasn't a very common occurrence. For some reason we were having pasta and broccoli as a side dish (sounds like I did the cooking - also unusual, he was a MUCH better cook than I was!). We were sitting on the couch in the living room, eating, because we didn't have a dining room table. The broccoli was sitting on the kitchen counter, next to the sink. As we were eating, I saw a shadow from my peripheral vision. I had a direct view to the kitchen and saw Kasha slink onto the counter and stick her face in the colander of broccoli. I quickly got up before our guests could see and headed to the kitchen. Kasha's head jerked up and she looked directly at me. The she quickly stuck her head back in the colander, grabbed a few florettes of broccoli and flew off the counter, running out of the kitchen with her prize. What a strange cat!

Yesterday
 
Re: 9/21 Kasha AMPS 149, 192 @ 1.3

cool Kasha...i'm a veggie guy too...

binks

Hey, hope your headache clears quickly and you both have a very good day. love the broccoli story!

celi
 
Re: 9/21 Kasha AMPS 149, 192 @ 1.3

My sister's cat loves broccoli, too! My civvie, George liked unusual foods -- pasta with red sauce, apples, and any kind of melon. Gotta wonder where those cravings come from.
 
Re: 9/21 Kasha AMPS 149, 192 @ 1.3

You should play Dana Carvey's "Choppin Broccoli" for her.... :lol:
Glad she didn't jump up and grab it off someone's plate! You caught her just in time!
what a funny little girl! :lol:
Have you offered some to her lately? Lots of vitamins in broccoli... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/21 Kasha AMPS 149, 192 @ 1.3

Broccoli, strange. I love broccoli too but my cats have never shown an interest. Well its very good for you so Kasha is a smart kitty
 
Re: 9/21 Kasha AMPS 149, 192 @ 1.3

Good luck with the vet visit. I hope the both of you start feeling better. Tuscany used to do asparagus when she was younger - just the tips and not too al dente please. As she got older her taste changed and she wouldn't touch the stuff.
 
Re: 9/21 Kasha AMPS 149, 192 @ 1.3

Hi Krys. I love the broccoli story. Tori is lettuce and french fry girl. She can't resist them. I hope the chemo goes well today. It seems like Kasha has had a real good response so far. Do you know what she's getting today? I'm just curious if it's the same protocol that Tori is on. You're both in my thoughts and prayers. Give your gorgeous girl a kiss for me and tell her Tori says she'll be just fine.
 
Back from chemo. She got vincristine today. The tech said she gained a few ounces.

Vet (oncologist) said we would hold off on the prednisolone for now. He said as long as she is responding, he doesn't see a reason to add a complicating factor like steroids because she's diabetic.

However... and this is a little scary, so please get some vines and snowflakes and lights ready for us... There are some lumps under Kasha's front legs... She's had them for a long time (don't ask why I haven't had them checked out). He thinks they are more "lumpy" now and was a little concerned. I told him they've been there for years... but he thinks they've changed. So, he stuck a needle in and drew out some funky looking pus-like liquid stuff. He asked if I wanted him to send it off for analysis or hang onto it. It's about $100 for analysis, so I figured we might as well add that to the bill. He said he wanted to check it out since we're doing all this treatment, just so we know. It could just be a cyst, but we won't know till we get the results back... Think good thoughts for us...

Otherwise, she got a cerenia shot for nausea and we have some cerenia pills in case she needs them. The tech said usually people don't need them very often, but Kasha could be nauseated, vomiting and/or diarrhea for a few days. And the vet is on vacation next week but he doesn't want us to postpone our appointment. He also doesn't want the techs administering chemo IV when he's not there. So, they will get blood work and call him on his cell phone. He'll confirm dosage and they will give her oral chemo meds next time. He feels more comfortable with this approach since he won't be there.

This stuff is pretty overwhelming...
 
Hey, Krys, just dropping in to read a Kasha story and see how things are going. Sorry to hear about the new lumps...I'm hoping that it is just a cyst and nothing more. Sending lots and lots of vines, white lights and positive vines your way.
 
Hi Krys and Kasha, Lots of healing vines and snowflakes heading your way, Kasha, also prayers. And -- chicken soup! The Kittenhood of the Traveling Soup will be along shortly.
Krys, it is a lot to deal with, but you are handling everything so well. I think of you all the time. Hope you and beautiful Kasha will have a comfortable night tonight.

Many hugs,
Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top