9/21/Jean Luc +11.75 338 PMPS 312

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Member Since 2012
Night of 9/20 for JL, AKA Rocket Man

Took advice and shot 1 hour early. He is at 571 and has been in and out of bed all night. At +18.5 he was at 500. Knew he was out of shed and bouncing bad. Today, I am going to have to polish my BOS and send yesterday in rearview.

As always, thank you for all help and suggestions.

Going back to bed and will be up in a couple- 3 hours. If I can sleep.
 
Re: 9/21/Jean Luc amps (early) 571 -bounce from skip, shot e

BOS shots are not easy! You're doing a great job!
 
Re: 9/21/Jean Luc amps (early) 571 +3 397

Rocket Man (JL) is loosing his propulsion system. Coming back down from the atmosphere. He is back to 397 at +3. Thanks to everyone again for assistance yesterday.
 
Re: 9/21/Jean Luc amps (early) 571 +3 397

Ouch on that AMPS but at least he's headed in the right direction now.

Your yesterday link isn't working, I think you forgot to put it between the
 
Re: 9/21/Jean Luc amps (early) 571 +3 397

Should work now. I was in zombie land earlier!
 
Re: 9/21/Jean Luc amps (early) 571 +3 397

Hi guys .. it's nice to see jean luc coming back down .. that was a rough start to the day! Hard to see our kitties so high isn't it? Hang in there, you're doing great! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 9/21/Jean Luc amps (early) 571 +3 397 +6 379 +10 357

I will take pink this afternoon. After drama last night, consistent pinks for most of today are okay with me.

Crossing paws for maybe consistent yellows tonight, then blues. Let's settle down and stay one color for a little while. :dizcat
 
You know, that pink isn't so bad after the crazy 24 hours he's had. I'm curious to see what he does tonight.
 
Hi Shannan

I think it would be a good learning tool to review what's happened a couple times in order to make you feel more comfortable in case you are on your own with a low number. Sienne did a great review/comment last time but it doesn't hurt to reinforce. Please note that I'm not saying that anything you did was incorrect but I'd like you to see where you could have had some other options if you had supplies and could test. Something to think about for the next time he does this (and he will). You did a great job of handling that fast drop on the PM cycle of 9/16 so you know how he responds to food.

  • On the a.m. cycle of 9/15, JL was surfing and had been for more than 8 hours and so his AMPS was not a dropping number. There was no reason to stall and wait for a rising number, shoot a BCS, or skip if you would have been there to monitor him.
  • JL's liver is not used to low numbers so once he gets them, he bounces...hard...and sometimes within a few hours. So it's probably safe to assume he was going to go up.
  • Once you fed him last night, he started to rise. He would have done the same thing if you had shot him the full dose on time (as long as you had supplies and could have monitored) because he was already rising before onset with the 107; this would have been a great opportunity to take advantage of some overlap. Because he is a bouncy kitty, he most likely would have gone on up but not as high as he did.
  • Shooting dropping numbers can be scary BUT if you stall, you are likely to see the numbers continue to drop making it impossible to shoot because we don't shoot 40s. If you shoot, then you can feed and start getting him to come up which he did anyway but then he got a little dramatic about it. ;-)
We are all about safety here and it's best if someone can help you shoot those low numbers and stay with you. But it's important that if they can't, you start to use the great data you have collected. You have two examples of what he does when you skip and it's not pretty. When Gracie was on lantus, she loved to give me dropping numbers at PMPS and as long as she was above 50, I shot the full dose on time and fed (yes...as a newbie ;-) ). I would say the most important caveat is that if you shoot a dropping number, you MUST have supplies, you MUST be able to test/feed, and you MUST get early tests. I always tested every 30 minutes until I saw her rising into safe numbers and past her onset.

JL is at an important juncture....he's starting to give you some nice green numbers. Shoot low to stay low....but do it safely. Please let me know if you have any questions. And I'd watch him tonight....he could be ready to clear that bounce and give you a lower PS in the morning. A before bed test and maybe a +10 would be great to show you which way he is headed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top