9/21 Harry PMPS112,.5, +1 74, +2 52/78, +3 89

Status
Not open for further replies.
Here are the guidelines from the Tight Reg sticky on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers.

DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS
The following guidelines apply to the Tight Regulation Protocol for Lantus or Levemir

First, try to not panic.Post to the Lantus & Levemir Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board.
Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (seeDr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.
If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
  • staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
  • ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
  • disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
  • twitching
  • stupor
  • convulsions or seizures
  • coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
    (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby





*** Suggestions made are intended for use with the Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir for Diabetic Cats
Those following the SLGS Method should follow the guidelines suggested in the Start Low, Go Slow Method sticky ***
 
by the way, when you run out of room in your subject line, just clear out everything before pmps. then there'll be room for tonight's numbers.

what are you crocheting?

Thank you! I have been wondering how to go about that! Lol
I'm crocheting a shawl. It's still in the 100's here in AZ so by making a shawl I'm willing the Fall temps to come quicker. Haha
 
I don't crochet, but I do quilt and I make them year-round regardless of the weather. It's never too hot to play with fabric. ;)

Our fall seems to have arrived here in Oregon. It was raining when I headed out for work this morning. It's a relief after it's been so hot this summer.
 
I don't crochet, but I do quilt and I make them year-round regardless of the weather. It's never too hot to play with fabric. ;)

Our fall seems to have arrived here in Oregon. It was raining when I headed out for work this morning. It's a relief after it's been so hot this summer.

Oh how fun!! I'm horrible at sewing but always wanted to do that. Oh I'm so jealous! It rained here today, too but got so muggy. Gonna test Harry.
 
How are you holding up? If you're able to stay up longer, I usually wanted to see 2 tests that were in this range or higher, at least an hour after I'd fed punkin. When did you last give anything for him to eat?

It's lovely here.
 
That's the way to do it Harry!! Good boy!!

Generally, we like to see rising numbers for 2 hours from the last time you feed so we're sure they're going to stay up...I think if you tested at 30 minutes after the high carb, and again 30 minutes later, if you could get one more test in an hour, you'd be good (as long as he stays up!)
 
Doing ok. My daughter woke up so she's snuggling with me now. Harry doesn't like kids. Lol
He last ate at +2.5. He's sleeping. Should I wake him?
 
I have a close friend crocheting a "temperature blanket"....the colors in it are determined by the average temperature each day of the year....it's absolutely gorgeous and very "colorful"!!!

One of these days, I'm going to try crocheting again, but right now, I just don't have the time or the energy....lol
 
I have a close friend crocheting a "temperature blanket"....the colors in it are determined by the average temperature each day of the year....it's absolutely gorgeous and very "colorful"!!!

One of these days, I'm going to try crocheting again, but right now, I just don't have the time or the energy....lol

Oh wow! I never heard of that before! My blanket would probably have a lot of red in it!!! Lol
 
When you start it, you decide what colors you want each set of temperatures to be 0-10 is one color, 10-20 another, all the way up to 110-120 (or however hot it gets in your part of the world)

She's got the blues and greens where she started in January, with the reds/oranges up through the end of June....soon she'll be working her way back down into the blues/greens again as fall gets here!
temperature blanket.jpg
 
When you start it, you decide what colors you want each set of temperatures to be 0-10 is one color, 10-20 another, all the way up to 110-120 (or however hot it gets in your part of the world)

She's got the blues and greens where she started in January, with the reds/oranges up through the end of June....soon she'll be working her way back down into the blues/greens again as fall gets here!
View attachment 16589

That is too awesome!! I should start that!! My friend and I crochet together and everyone makes fun of us because we are younger. In our 30's so they call us granny's. But I don't care!! I love crocheting. I would probably pick pretty purples or pinks for the high temps because it does stay warm here all year long.
 
I'll see if I can get the full directions from her and send them to you...You've got another few months before it'll be time to start anyway ;)

Haha awesome! That would be fun! Yeah! That will be fun to start something like that in January after the holidays are over it will be nice to focus on a fun project.
 
Alrighty, I tested him again. And he's 111. Pretty sure I'm going to fall asleep if I don't go to bed now. Haha hope that's ok. Thanks for hanging out with me tonight and all your help!!
 
Hi Erika.

I'm sure you're in dreamland by now, but I just wanted to stop in and tell you what a great job I think you're doing. I know this isn't easy, and Harry is certainly not helping, but you're handling it like a champ. I suspect Harry isn't going to need this kind of monitoring for too long, but I won't say anything else except anti-jinx! ;)

BTW, I grew up in Tucson, so I know all about September rains and mugginess.. I also know you're not going to get nice, cool weather till about Halloween. I've been whining about our heat up here, but we've "only" been in the 90s (although we hit 100 today). Our Fall weather likes to play peek-a-boo this time of year: tomorrow will be low 80s, then Wed back to 90s, then Thurs 80s, etc. :rolleyes: Does keep you on your toes - kind of like Harry is doing! :joyful: Sleep tight - I can't wait to see what Harry has in store for you tomorrow.
 
Hi Erika.

I'm sure you're in dreamland by now, but I just wanted to stop in and tell you what a great job I think you're doing. I know this isn't easy, and Harry is certainly not helping, but you're handling it like a champ. I suspect Harry isn't going to need this kind of monitoring for too long, but I won't say anything else except anti-jinx! ;)

BTW, I grew up in Tucson, so I know all about September rains and mugginess.. I also know you're not going to get nice, cool weather till about Halloween. I've been whining about our heat up here, but we've "only" been in the 90s (although we hit 100 today). Our Fall weather likes to play peek-a-boo this time of year: tomorrow will be low 80s, then Wed back to 90s, then Thurs 80s, etc. :rolleyes: Does keep you on your toes - kind of like Harry is doing! :joyful: Sleep tight - I can't wait to see what Harry has in store for you tomorrow.


Tricia, how sweet of of you! I appreciate all of your help, and everyone on this forum. I seriously would be so lost without all the kind and wonderful people here to guide us in theright direction. So thank you!!

Yeah, it's in its prime mugginess here and it's so gross! Lol Californians have a right to whine when it's always so beautiful there. I hope it gets cooler soon. But the 80's would be welcomed with open arms over here!! Haha!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top