9/21 Ebby AMPS 434 +5 289 PMPS 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelissaEbby

Member Since 2012
AMPS 434
+5 289
PMPS 266

Yesterday's post
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100407

Hello LL, Got another bounce on our hands. I tried to catch a below 50 last night, but had no luck. Ebby and I were really tired and both fell asleep together (snuggling) through the +7 ohmygod_smile I think her nadir is usually earlier than +7, so hopefully we didn't miss a low.

Is a 55 good enough to justify a decrease for this bouncy kitty? :lol: Only partially joking. Really, does anyone stray from protocol and maybe just shave the dose a little? Just thinking that her ability to bounce so well might keep her from ever going below 50. She was very happy and active this morning, so hopefully wasn't in the 400's for too long.
 
Re: 9/21 Ebby AMPS 434 +5 289

You did a great job of monitoring last night! How could you not doze off if you have a kitty that wanted to snuggle?

You may read on some of the other boards here that people recommend reducing the dose if a cat is bouncy. We've really found that strategy to be ineffective. Usually what happens is that the caregiver reduces the dose, maybe the bouncing gets better (or maybe not) but inevitably, the dose needs to be increased. Often you end up increasing more than where you were before. The end result is that you've lost time and there's the potential for glucose toxicity (i.e., your cat becomes used to sitting in high numbers and considers those numbers to be the new normal) to develop. So, you are by no means the only person to consider reducing the dose to help resolve the bouncing. IMHO, I wouldn't recommend it.
 
Hi Sienne, Thanks for the response. Yeah, Ebby sure was sweet last night. I think she used the cuddle strategy to get me to stop poking her.

Everything you said makes sense, and I will stick with the protocol. That black the other morning just really got me down. I really haven't had to change this dose at all, so it's probably a good dose for now. I'll keep setting the alarm for a +5 or +6, and try to catch those lows. Thanks, as always. Have a great night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top