9/21 Chester's amps 204, pmps 391,+3=272,+4=159

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
Tonight Chester seems to have earned yet another dose reduction. We are using the AlphaTrak and got down (again) in the mid to low 60s. I'm wondering what is going on here? Even though he's going low, I'm not seeing the big (I mean REALLY big) bounces that I used to see. It's gotten to where I'm scared to death to leave him or sleep. This is my...I have no clue...night in a row with less than four hours sleep.

Is a rapid dose reduction like this very uncommon? I know we started with a way high dose and were even higher when he was on Lantus, so maybe we're still way too high but it seems like all of the sudden his body is finally realizing it.

Should I keep reducing by .25 or something a bit more drastic? I'm becoming a bit fried!
 
Re: CONFUSED...Opinions, Please!

Hi Jaye-

I just wanted to say hello and hang in there. I don't know about Lev or numbers on the alpha track, so I can't give you any advice. Looks like you're earning decreases on a different scale due to the meter...we used a human meter...wish I could tell you something to ease your mind. When my girl hit her stride, it all happened very quickly. Breathe...don't panic. We went through lots of sleepless nights, but it was totally worth it to see how amazingly she was doing. I'm sure someone will be along with some more concrete reassurance. Good luck!!

s
 
Re: CONFUSED...Opinions, Please!

Good Morning Jaye and Chester,

I don't have any answers for you this morning, other than it sounds like your are getting close to your ideal dose. A few days ago you and I were complaining about bounces and how to even tell if a docrease was needed. And how to find the nadir on a cat that was just all over the place!

You're talking about the bounces finally smoothing out

and in the last 24 hours...Atlas decided to go to the beach!

I am sure someone will be along to help us both out this morning.


I am also sort of chuckling, in that neither one of us are really comfortable with, "normal" numbers and we fret when the numbers go so wonky high. We get our cats down here and we don't know what to do! :o
 
Re: CONFUSED...Opinions, Please!

Blue said:
I am also sort of chuckling, in that neither one of us are really comfortable with, "normal" numbers and we fret when the numbers go so wonky high. We get our cats down here and we don't know what to do! :o

Isn't that the truth! I remember the days, not so long ago, when a 400+ number was a good thing to see...much better than a HI.

I just worry so much when I'm not home...and then again at night when I'm not sleeping!
 
Re: CONFUSED...Opinions, Please!

I think you did right by shooting the 1.25. Others will be along with more dosing advise, shortly.
Leave extra food out for him.
Hang in there. He is doing amazingly well.
 
Re: CONFUSED...Opinions, Please!

i'm another one who cant answer your question, but just want to throw in my support for you and chester and blue & attie...
sounds like things are getting exciting for you.

celi & binks
 
Re: CONFUSED...Opinions, Please!

Thanks for the support, All!

mybuddybinks said:
i'm another one who cant answer your question, but just want to throw in my support for you and chester and blue & attie...
sounds like things are getting exciting for you.

celi & binks

Yes, exciting is a word for it, all right!
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 204

Good morning Jaye
I am going to answer you question from your other thread here. It is best if you only have one thread per day with all of your questions etc. in that thread so it does not get confusing. You could always put the word "question" in your subject line of your regular condo so you can get an answer.

It can be normal to go down the dosing scale very fast. Sometimes it just takes that one break-through dose and the pancreas wakes up.
Randy/Max were up to 6 or more units of insulin twice a day and in a very short time Max went down the dosing scale and is now OTJ.....I will see if I can find that ss.

I think as long as you leave food out....you could even add a little gravy to the food if you are very nervous. I am sure when you are up most nights and exhausted is hard to see the light but it is all good. Look how far Chester has come. :mrgreen:
 
Re: CONFUSED...Opinions, Please!

Jaye I answered your question in your regular daily condo. It is best just to keep one thread per day with all of your questions in that thread so it does not get confusing and everything is kept in one place.

I will say that it is all good!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 204

Looking good Chester! Congratulations on the dosecrease! :razz:

And yes, we have ONE condo per day per kitty....any questions you might have should go
in that daily condo Jaye...
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 204

Miriam is absolutely correct. While going up the dosing ladder can be frustrating, coming down can be tough on the bean (i.e., no sleep!).

The only thing I would mention that effects dosing is that sometimes, after you reduce the dose, the next cycle is still influenced by the extra that's still in the shed. If you reduce too quickly, numbers may get wonky. If so, go back to your last good dose so you don't lose this wonderful momentum.
 
Re: 9/20 Chester's amps 204

Miriam and Putty said:
Good morning Jaye

It can be normal to go down the dosing scale very fast. Sometimes it just takes that one break-through dose and the pancreas wakes up.
Randy/Max were up to 6 or more units of insulin twice a day and in a very short time Max went down the dosing scale and is now OTJ.....I will see if I can find that ss.
:mrgreen:

Hi Jaye
I am the Randi & Max that Miriam mentioned.
I do not have a regular condo anymore as our last insulin shot was April 6.
Have a look at Max's ss so you can see the wild ride we had.
I cried many times going up and up and up the dosing ladder and then he cracked
and came flying down. I was in a scramble trying to keep reducing his dose
and his 6u shed was very very full when Mr. P finally woke up and saw the light.

Many peeps on the board are still shaking their heads trying to figure out what happened
that he came chasing down the ladder.
Sienne knows very well what that was like since she was up many nights with me
as he continued to fall and Miriam was my emergency, "help what do I shoot" in the mornings.
We had out own little coffee group at 7:00am.
Then one morning, that was that!! No more insulin.

If you would like I can link some of my condos from those days and you can just go back
and read them and see what we went through.
You can let me know through your condo or by PM.

Hang in there. You can do it and you will have all of the help you need.
Chester will be kept safe and try and stay calm (yes I know easier said then done :-D )
 
Re: 9/21 Chester's amps 204, pmps 391

I'm blaming myself for this one. It definitely could be the lowered dose, but it could also be because I know I left WAY too much food in the autofeeder, both LC and HC as well as a bowl of LC out on the counter for him. When I got home tonight it was licked clean...all of it. I have no clue when he ate it, either, even though the auto was set for +3 and +5. We'll check him tonight and see how it goes. Maybe 1.5 was the correct dose after all. Either way, maybe I'll get some sleep tonight!
 
Re: Questiion 9/21 Chester's amps 204, pmps 391,+3=272,+4=159

Thanks for all the support and well-wishes, everyone (and sorry about the double post!)

I'm trying to learn to interpret the data I'm getting from all of Chesters bg tests...so many variables, though! I really left too much food out for him today and we got the nasty pink pmps. Figured with a number like that and yet another recent dose reduction that I could feel pretty safe about him tonight. But he seems to be dropping pretty fast...not getting low yet, but certainly not what I had expected. Any clues?

pmps = 391
+3 = 272
+4 = 159
 
Re: Questiion 9/21 Chester's amps 204, pmps 391,+3=272,+4=159

try giving some low carb food to throw him on his surfboard. You can even use medium carb if you want to slow him down more.

It's not unusual for cats to do this. All of a sudden they hit a breakthrough and go crashing down the dosing ladder. We just have to follow his lead and see how far down the dosing ladder he wants to go right now. :smile: I remember not sleeping much for quite a while, but the end result was well worth it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top