9/21 Beenie, 189 AMPS, 210 +3, 167 +7.5, 138 +10, PMPS 112, 158 +1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beenie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Last condo

Mornin' :coffee:

We did a dosecrease last night so hoping that brings Beenie down a bit. She was feeling pretty good yesterday. She actually played with my civvie for a minute but hey I'll take it:)

Chin scritches to all the kitties!

happy thursday.jpg
 
Am I miss something with the Aloe? (Sorry I have been working and not able to follow as much as I want to.)

Nice to see these kitties responding!!!
 
Am I miss something with the Aloe?
So the Aloe thing came up because it was mentioned on one condo then another. Its for constipation, great tip! The weird thing was every kitty that started (well three that I know of @Bobbie And Bubba , @LizzieInTexas , and @Bronx's dad) BG levels dropped noticeably. All went back to "normal" after a cycle or two but the aloe did something temporarily...I find that to be interesting.
cat with questions.jpg
 
So the Aloe thing came up because it was mentioned on one condo then another. Its for constipation, great tip! The weird thing was every kitty that started (well three that I know of @Bobbie And Bubba , @LizzieInTexas , and @Bronx's dad) BG levels dropped noticeably. All went back to "normal" after a cycle or two but the aloe did something temporarily...I find that to be interesting.
View attachment 31169
Yes, the website I sited on @LizzieInTexas says to be watchful with the BG's as AVJ can lower the, and when Bubba hit some lower 50 numbers he wasn't use to, he bounced up some but, has seemed to level off some now. AND he has had a nice healthy poop daily!! No more pumpkin......but, I am also giving him Egg Yolk powder do help with constipation and hairballs. I think the two things together is helping him. Unfortunately they were started around the same time so I am not sure if one of these things would have done it but, the AVJ helps to heal the gastro intestinal tract and after worms.....I am sure he needs it.
 
If a kitty drinks the aloe juice, but doesn't need it, does it soften things? My civie could use some of that, and Sam doesn't need it, but they both eat out of the same dishes.
Not sure the answer to that question. Here is the link with info on the benefits of AVJ for animals. Keep in mind it needs to be George's Aloe Vera Juice as it has been fractionally distilled and all bitter stuff removed. If it is not fractionally distilled there can be latex present and that can cause diarrhea.
http://ottawavalleydogwhisperer.blogspot.com/2013/10/herbs-for-dogs-and-cats-aloe-vera-juice.html
 
I need to note it on Gizmo's SS but I started the aloe Sunday PM cycle. I am giving 1/2 teaspoon at AM and PM PS meals. He almost immediately earned a reduction and is holding the reduction (nicely) 4 cycles in.

I am not sure but am thinking the aloe is easing some stomach acid and softening things up and that is reducing the nausea and pain, hence lowering his numbers, but that is just my speculation.

This is what was recommended by Bobbie and what I purchased

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00014EB6O/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
I need to note it on Gizmo's SS but I started the aloe Sunday PM cycle. I am giving 1/2 teaspoon at AM and PM PS meals. He almost immediately earned a reduction and is holding the reduction (nicely) 4 cycles in.

I am not sure but am thinking the aloe is easing some stomach acid and softening things up and that is reducing the nausea and pain, hence lowering his numbers, but that is just my speculation.

This is what was recommended by Bobbie and what I purchased

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00014EB6O/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Thanks for the info!!
 
@Beenie - apologies for this becoming the Avi board! :)

@Bobbie And Bubba , @Bronx's dad , @LizzieInTexas : just curious whether any of you had been using other constipation meds before trying the avj. Girlie has had major constipation issues, but we've got it pretty under control with a combo of fresh pumpkin, cisapride 0.25 ml 2x/day, and 1/8 tsp miralax 2x/Day. The miralax isn't a joy, though, and it would be great to do away with some meds if we could. Any thoughts?
 
apologies for this becoming the Avi board!
No apologies!! I've got a civvie that has bad constipation issues of an on. I'm all for healthy poop talk and love learning new things that work well. We use Miralx but it seems its not the best thing to give. He hates pumpkin and Natural Moves so I'm all ears to new supplements.
 
No apologies!! I've got a civvie that has bad constipation issues of an on. I'm all for healthy poop talk and love learning new things that work well. We use Miralx but it seems its not the best thing to give. He hates pumpkin and Natural Moves so I'm all ears to new supplements.
Miralax leads to stinky poos - at least with Girlie - and sometimes other things. Why isn't it good to give?
 
just curious whether any of you had been using other constipation meds before trying the avj. Girlie has had major constipation issues, but we've got it pretty under control with a combo of fresh pumpkin, cisapride 0.25 ml 2x/day, and 1/8 tsp miralax 2x/Day. The miralax isn't a joy, though, and it would be great to do away with some meds if we could. Any thoughts?

Bronx is on Lactulose & Miralax but have been trying everything to get him off of those 2 meds. I am using pumpkin, Lax-Exe, ground flax seeds, FortiFlora & now AVJ. I also add as much water to his wet food as possible.
 
Yes, I used miralax for years along with pumpkin and still had issues. I got him off the miralax when I started giving the Natural Moves and that worked well until he refused to eat his fuds when it was on board. The same thing happened to @Bronx's dad . Fingers crossed the good pooping continues.
 
Yes, I used miralax for years along with pumpkin and still had issues. I got him off the miralax when I started giving the Natural Moves and that worked well until he refused to eat his fuds when it was on board. The same thing happened to @Bronx's dad . Fingers crossed the good pooping continues.
Yep, people swear by the Natural Moves but many kitties hate the taste.
 
Where do you get the egg yolk powder? I am using Lily of the Desert AVJ, I do see a pic of it on your link, I assume it is just as good as George's?
The egg yolk powder comes from FoodFurLife. It is only about 14 dollars for good size pouch of it which should last a long time as they only get 1/4 tsp twice a day. And, you start off with a pinch and the next day a bigger pinch and then the next day 1/8 tsp and then finally you give 1/4 tsp. Doing it slowly ensures they can tolerate it. Some cats can get diarrhea from it.
 
am using Lily of the Desert AVJ, I do see a pic of it on your link, I assume it is just as good as George's?
Forgot to address that: I don't know, all I know is I was told by FoodFurLife peeps to use George's because of it being fractionally distilled. Also, Marje and Gracie have always said George's. But, I would check the labeling for Lily of the Dessert and see if it is also fractionally distilled then I would think you would be okay.

Sorry @Beenie for the continued high-jacking but hope we all get some good poops out of the discussion. :):cat: ;)
 
I have used SEB, MMR, for constipation (and nausea/stomach acid). At one point I was adding Miralax. I am currently using a MMR (marshmallow root) slurry with 1/2 teaspoon added to it in his AM/PM PS meals. I also add a lot of water to all his food.

I can tell you that Gizmo has felt better since starting the Aloe. Not sure if it is the lower numbers or the affect of the Aloe on his digestive system. (and I really don't care :p, I am just thrilled that he is doing so much better).

This is from the link @Bobbie And Bubba provided yesterday. Be careful with interactions with other meds.

1. Benefits – a partial list…
Digestive Health

    • Aloe Vera contains nutrient compounds that help in the healing and soothing of:
      • The digestive tract...
        • Helps enable healing and repair of ulcers in both the stomach and the intestines;
        • Decreases inflammation resulting from:
        • Asthma;
        • Arthritis;
        • Colitis;
        • Diabetes;
        • Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS), and;
        • Other inflammatory GI tract conditions;
        • Treating side effects of some radiation treatments.
  • Immune System Health
    • Aloe vera has properties that are:
    • Antibacterial;
    • Antifungal;
    • Antiviral.
  • Detoxer
    • Aloe vera is a natural detox aid that helps the body to eliminate toxins and foreign pathogens.
  • Heart Benefits
    • Improves blood circulation throughout the body;
    • Can help to reduce fat in cases of bad high levels of bad cholesterol – reducing fatty deposits and blood clots, found to have the most efficacy in cases with diabetes;

2. Dosage…
For daily use as a supplement with food:

  • Add to food once a day;
    • Small size dogs and cats - 1 tbs;
    • Medium size dogs - 1/8 cup
    • Large size dogs - 1/4 cup
    • X-Large dogs - 1/3 to 1/2 cup
3. Cautions...
  • Use only 100% pure food grade Aloe Vera Juice intended for internal consumption by humans;
  • Do not give to pregnant or lactating dog or cats;
  • Do not give to puppies 6 months of age or younger;
  • Do not use aloe latex as an ingested treatment for dogs or cats.

4. Side effects…
  • In rare cases a dog or cat may heightened sensitivity to aloe, in which case aloe vera juice can cause diarrhea – stop use if your dog or cat gets diarrhea from ingesting aloe vera juice.
  • Remove aloe vera juice from the diet two weeks prior to a scheduled surgery as its presence could interfere with blood sugar control during surgery.

5. Drug Interactions…
  • May increase blood sugar lowering effects of some diabetes medications – extra monitoring of blood sugar levels should be undertaken and adjustment of medications may be required;
  • May cause potassium loss if taken with diuretics for heart conditions;
  • Aloe interacts with:
  • Anti-diabetic drugs;
  • Blood thinners;
  • Diuretics;
  • Some stimulant laxatives (i.e. digoxin).
 
I have used SEB, MMR, for constipation (and nausea/stomach acid). At one point I was adding Miralax. I am currently using a MMR (marshmallow root) slurry with 1/2 teaspoon added to it in his AM/PM PS meals. I also add a lot of water to all his food.

I can tell you that Gizmo has felt better since starting the Aloe. Not sure if it is the lower numbers or the affect of the Aloe on his digestive system. (and I really don't care :p, I am just thrilled that he is doing so much better).

This is from the link @Bobbie And Bubba provided yesterday. Be careful with interactions with other meds.

1. Benefits – a partial list…
Digestive Health

    • Aloe Vera contains nutrient compounds that help in the healing and soothing of:
      • The digestive tract...
        • Helps enable healing and repair of ulcers in both the stomach and the intestines;
        • Decreases inflammation resulting from:
        • Asthma;
        • Arthritis;
        • Colitis;
        • Diabetes;
        • Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS), and;
        • Other inflammatory GI tract conditions;
        • Treating side effects of some radiation treatments.
  • Immune System Health
    • Aloe vera has properties that are:
    • Antibacterial;
    • Antifungal;
    • Antiviral.
  • Detoxer
    • Aloe vera is a natural detox aid that helps the body to eliminate toxins and foreign pathogens.
  • Heart Benefits
    • Improves blood circulation throughout the body;
    • Can help to reduce fat in cases of bad high levels of bad cholesterol – reducing fatty deposits and blood clots, found to have the most efficacy in cases with diabetes;

2. Dosage…
For daily use as a supplement with food:

  • Add to food once a day;
    • Small size dogs and cats - 1 tbs;
    • Medium size dogs - 1/8 cup
    • Large size dogs - 1/4 cup
    • X-Large dogs - 1/3 to 1/2 cup
3. Cautions...
  • Use only 100% pure food grade Aloe Vera Juice intended for internal consumption by humans;
  • Do not give to pregnant or lactating dog or cats;
  • Do not give to puppies 6 months of age or younger;
  • Do not use aloe latex as an ingested treatment for dogs or cats.

4. Side effects…
  • In rare cases a dog or cat may heightened sensitivity to aloe, in which case aloe vera juice can cause diarrhea – stop use if your dog or cat gets diarrhea from ingesting aloe vera juice.
  • Remove aloe vera juice from the diet two weeks prior to a scheduled surgery as its presence could interfere with blood sugar control during surgery.

5. Drug Interactions…
  • May increase blood sugar lowering effects of some diabetes medications – extra monitoring of blood sugar levels should be undertaken and adjustment of medications may be required;
  • May cause potassium loss if taken with diuretics for heart conditions;
  • Aloe interacts with:
  • Anti-diabetic drugs;
  • Blood thinners;
  • Diuretics;
  • Some stimulant laxatives (i.e. digoxin).
Thanks for this! I think I'll give AVJ a whirl for all my kitties!!
 
Let us know how you go, Beenie. I can get the George's AVJ here in Oz (yay!), so I might give it a whirl. I'd love to get Girlie off the Miralax, especially. I had to take it post-surgeries myself, and my gut didn't like it (not that I have a cat gut, but still...I see similar reactions in Girlie that I had).

I also add a lot of water to all his food.

I can tell you that Gizmo has felt better since starting the Aloe. Not sure if it is the lower numbers or the affect of the Aloe on his digestive system. (and I really don't care :p, I am just thrilled that he is doing so much better).

That Gizmo is feeling better is so encouraging! Re: the water: my cats don't like to drink from a normal, still bowl of water anymore and when they have to, they don't drink nearly enough. Years ago I got my first Drinkwell fountain, and they were hooked. Girlie, especially, loves the latest version (Drinkwell Avalon), and I love the fact that they both drink enough water to be well-hydrated, especially with possible/probably kidney issues looming for Girlie. This also helps because Girlie likes mushy food, but when I've added water, she's looked at me and said "not THAT mushy!" Anyway, just a thought if water intake is a concern as this has worked really well for me. :-)
 
Girlie, especially, loves the latest version (Drinkwell Avalon), and I love the fact that they both drink enough water to be well-hydrated, especially with possible/probably kidney issues looming for Girlie. This also helps because Girlie likes mushy food, but when I've added water, she's looked at me and said "not THAT mushy!" Anyway, just a thought if water intake is a concern as this has worked really well for me. :)
I tried a fountain and Gizmo was afraid of it, well, leary, he would circle it and sniff around it but wouldn't drink from it. :banghead: Silly cats :cat:

I leave two water bowls out for him but he doesn't drink from them that I see (but he has a couple of times in the past couple of weeks). I put fresh water down morning and evening. I constantly check him to make sure he isn't dehydrated.

On adding water to his food I put the water on top of the food but don't mix it in and then add a small ice cube thst I push down in the middle of the food. As long as he is eating well he doesn't even notice it. ;)
 
I tried a fountain and Gizmo was afraid of it, well, leary, he would circle it and sniff around it but wouldn't drink from it. :banghead: Silly cats :cat:

I leave two water bowls out for him but he doesn't drink from them that I see (but he has a couple of times in the past couple of weeks). I put fresh water down morning and evening. I constantly check him to make sure he isn't dehydrated.

On adding water to his food I put the water on top of the food but don't mix it in and then add a small ice cube thst I push down in the middle of the food. As long as he is eating well he doesn't even notice it. ;)

Tell Gizmo he is a very silly cat indeed! Sounds like you've found what you need that works for him, though. :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top