9/20 ZenerPMPS 158;2 71-62;3 90s;5 85;6 121;~6 140;~7 212 AT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 9/19/11

Time has answered our question, looks like it was a bounce and it's a breakin' - blue baby blue! :-D

Yesterday
9/19/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 288, 3rd cycle @ sk 1.25
+2 308,
+~7 261
+11 288
PMPS 313, 4th cycle @ sk 1.25
+2.5 290
+6 246

Today
9/20/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 171, 4th cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.8oz 11%
+1 157, 0.7oz 11%
+2 133,

Zener has been on one round of patrol in his backyard this morning. A little chill in the air, so back to snuggle in bed after his morning rounds. Liz or I can be here most of the day (we are waiting for our new dishwasher and then the plumber), so we can get regular checks in this cycle, which is showing some action already. The trick will be finding him when the plumber is here! ;-)
 
Re: 9/20 Zener AMPS 171;+1 157;+2 133 A Trak

Great start for Zener today!! Congrats on the new dishwasher. Yay! I just love new stuff. Hope it doesn't stress Zener out too much. At least one of you will be home with him all day.

Have a wonderful Tuesday!!
 
Re: 9/20 Zener AMPS 171;+1 157;+2 133 A Trak

Thanks Melissa! We were a little worried it might stress him and now that we see his early blue numbers we aren't as worried about him skyrocketing to unspeakable numbers! The best part of the whole event will be a large and interesting new box for the kitties! Liz makes great play palaces for the kitties out of boxes and we haven't had a nice new one in a long time. :lol:
 
Re: 9/20 Zener AMPS 171;+1 157;+2 133 A Trak

The boxes are a hit at our house too. Does she cut out holes and make a fort? Those are great. We just haven't bought anything that big in awhile.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener AMPS 171;+1 157;+2 133 A Trak

Hi guys .. love zener's numbers today .. blue is the name of the game isn't it? Now if he could just throw in some greens ... Have fun with your new dishwasher .. we need one so bad, the prongs on our racks are actually rusting off :shock: Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/20 Zener AMPS 171;+1 157;+2 133 A Trak

what beautiful blue numbers for Zener. YAY! keep them coming!

Goodluck with the new dishwasher install. Hope that goes well.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener AMPS 171;+1 157;+2 133 A Trak

Melissa & Tarragon said:
The boxes are a hit at our house too. Does she cut out holes and make a fort? Those are great. We just haven't bought anything that big in awhile.

Yes, doors, windows, and skylights oh my! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/20 Zener AMPS 171;+1 157;+2 133;+3 123 A Trak

@ Devon - we understand! We have to wash our dishes now before we put them in the dishwasher! :lol:

@Michelle - thanks, we love the blue numbers! ;-)

Here's the latest sliding blue surf!
Today
9/20/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 171, 4th cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.8oz 11%
+1 157, 0.7oz 11%
+2 133, 0.3oz 11%
+3 123, 0.7oz 11%

Delivery folks just called and are on the way. I'm off to get things ready.

bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 9/20 Zener AMPS 171;+1 157;+2 133;+3 & 4 123;+8.5 193 A

It's been a beautiful blue day!

Today
9/20/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 171, 4th cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.8oz 11%
+1 157, 0.7oz 11%
+2 133, 0.3oz 11%
+3 123, 0.7oz 11%
+4 123
+8.5 193, 0.5oz 11% & 1 piece FDCK

I gave Zener a little chicken at his poke, and fed Tillie, our civvie. She decided not to eat her food and Zener ate it! It was fortunately the same carbs as his regular food. Maybe he is getting less finicky?

We wanted to get a mid-cycle check today but the plumber was here installing the dishwasher and Zener was camped out under the bed. Liz finally enticed him about about +7, after the loud plumber left, but Zener was pretty skittish and it was impossible to get a test. Since he was so feisty, we weren't too worried he was hypo. ;-) I got home a little over an hour later and got a test and he was on the way up from his slow downward slide. Not sure what his is cycle and what could be stress from all the activity with the new dishwasher and installation. And he is still blue!
 
Re: 9/20 Zener AMPS 171;+1 157;+2 133;+3 & 4 123;+8.5 193 A

What a lovely blue day for Zener! I hope he has an equally nice night!!
 
Re: 9/20 Zener AMPS 171;+1 157;+2 133;+3 & 4 123;+8.5 193 A

Thanks Jac, we are glad he is not trying out for the high dive team today! :dizcat
 
Re: 9/20 Zener AMPS 171;+1 157;+2 133;+ 4 123;+~8 193;+11 17

Thank Ann! We are so excited to be able to put dishes in the dishwasher and not have to hand wash them first! Zener is dipping a little at the end of his cycle and he's still blue! Whoo hooo!
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158 ATrak

It's been a blue day, despite dishwasher delivery and plumber in the house.

Today
9/20/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 171, 4th cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.8oz 11%
+1 157, 0.7oz 11%
+2 133, 0.3oz 11%
+3 123, 0.7oz 11%
+4 123
+8.5 193, 0.5oz 11% & 1 piece FDCK
+11 173, 2 pieces FDCK
PMPS 158, 5th cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.9oz 11%

Zener has had a blue cycle today! We're not used to seeing the dip at the end of the cycle, so not sure if it is the lantus dip we read about, or values dropping after the stress of mid-day and early afternoon. We'll get some early tests in his cycle and be on the lookout for the express train.

Hope everyone has a good evening!
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158 Lantus dip? ATrak

No, but we've been reading about them on LL. Thanks for the link and the info. He would probably LOVE these! dancing_cat
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;+1 134 ATrak

Still sliding down @ +1 to 134. His appetite is good, so no worries about him not eating right now.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;+1 134 ATrak

Tarragon and Turnup love their cubes. I got them at WalMart for about $5 each.

Great day for Zener today, especially with the plumber there.

Have a great night you two!!
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;+1 134 ATrak

Thanks for the cube recommendation. We will check these out. Paws are crossed Zener continues his nice slow slide this evening, no diving allowed! :lol:
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;+1 134;+2 90 ATrak

90! With an AlphaTrak. :shock: Gulp. Zener is on the express train. Gave him some 18% carb and 1 semi-soft treat to slow things down.
Liz
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;+1 134;+2 90;+2.5 71 ATrak

Today
9/20/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 171, 4th cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.8oz 11%
+1 157, 0.7oz 11%
+2 133, 0.3oz 11%
+3 123, 0.7oz 11%
+4 123
+8.5 193, 0.5oz 11% & 1 piece FDCK
+11 173, 2 pieces FDCK
PMPS 158, 5th cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.9oz 11%
+1 134, 0.8oz 11%
+2 90 0.4oz 18%, 1 treat
+2.5 71 0.5oz, 3 treats ohmygod_smile

Yowsa! It's an earned reduction! What should we reduce to? sk1.0? 1.0? We are lather-rinse-repeat on a 15 min cycle. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
Liz
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;+1 134;+2 90;+2.5 71 ATrk Dose Q

Hmmmm.....

It looks like it took 6 cycles for Z man to see green on this recent shave from 1.25u to 1.25sk It looks like you' did the 1.25-1.25sk-1.25 shuffle a few times before it stuck
Could be a shave has a better chance of holding.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;+2 90;+2.5 71; +2.75 62 ATrk Dose Q

Thanks Sandy, we are thinking about that too and he is still going down!
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;+2 90;+2.5 71; +2.75 62 ATrk Dose Q

Okay, we are officially freakin' now! We are on the every 15 minute test feed schedule and he has dropped to 62, the lowest value ever. He is acting fine, and very patiently waiting for more HC food and treats. We pulled out the karo, 2 drops, this last feed and will be testing again in 15 minutes. nailbite_smile

Today
9/20/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 171, 4th cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.8oz 11%
+1 157, 0.7oz 11%
+2 133, 0.3oz 11%
+3 123, 0.7oz 11%
+4 123
+8.5 193, 0.5oz 11% & 1 piece FDCK
+11 173, 2 pieces FDCK
PMPS 158, 5th cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.9oz 11%
+1 134, 0.8oz 11%
+2 90 0.4oz 18%, 1 treat
+2.5 71 0.5oz, 3 treats ohmygod_smile
+2.75 62, 1t 17oz & 2 drops corn syrup ohmygod_smile

Did I say already that we were getting a little freaked?
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;+2 90;+2.5 71; +2.75 62 ATrk Dose Q

Thanks for being here Jill! We put 2 drops of corn syrup on Zener's food and just tested 15 minutes later - 99! We just gave him 1t of 17% and are going to test again in 15. He is purring and very happy to be getting all the high carb and treats. Beans are nervous but feeling better seeing him go up after the corn syrup.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;2.5 71; 2.75 62;+3 99 ATrk Dose

yes, i get being nervous. this is pretty early in the cycle to see numbers that low. the good news is he does seem to come up easily. :-D

lather, rinse, repeat. we don't want him getting so full that he'll vomit so little bits of hc at a time. hc gravy and or karo (depending on the numbers) might even be better.

is he acting normally?

what we want to do is abort this cycle. in other words, let's get him up and keep him up and not worry about the numbers.

we'll talk dose later.

i'll stick with you tonight until you feel comfortable on your own.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;2.5 71; 2.75 62;+3 99 ATrk Dose

Jill & Alex said:
yes, i get being nervous. this is pretty early in the cycle to see numbers that low. the good news is he does seem to come up easily. :-D

Usually the semi soft treats we have that are sweetened with honey do the trick. This is only the 2nd time we've ever pulled out the corn syrup.



Jill & Alex said:
lather, rinse, repeat. we don't want him getting so full that he'll vomit so little bits of hc at a time. hc gravy and or karo (depending on the numbers) might even be better.

Ok, so we are about to test and will add corn syrup again to his food.

Jill & Alex said:
is he acting normally?
Yes, so far. He is acting very interested in all the treats he is getting.

Jill & Alex said:
what we want to do is abort this cycle. in other words, let's get him up and keep him up and not worry about the numbers.
Done, will keep using the karo, treats and HC.

Jill & Alex said:
we'll talk dose later.

i'll stick with you tonight until you feel comfortable on your own.

Thanks, we're off to test right now.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;2.5 71; 2.75 62;+3 99 ATrk Dose

Jill & Alex said:
you two are pros at this!
i'll be here...

Oh gosh, we are glad you have confidence in us! We're not quite there yet! ;-)

He dropped a little to 92 @ +3.25, so we gave him 1 t 17% with 2 drops corn syrup and he licked the gravy and corn syrup. We also gave him another semi soft treat that is sweetened with honey. Liz is petting Zener and he is purring and rolling on his back. He seems quite relaxed and we need a shot of an adult beverage! :lol:
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;2.5 71; 2.75 62;+3 99 ATrk Dose

you're doing great!

i'll see you in another 15 - 20 minutes.

don't let him get too much exercise. vigorous exercise can lower blood glucose.

you might want to hold on that adult beverage for a bit. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;2.5 71; 2.75 62;+3 99 ATrk Dose

Jill & Alex said:
you two are pros at this!
i'll be here...
:lol: :lol: :lol: oh, no. You are the pro. We are just rookies picking up a few pointers. Thank you for your help and for all your help to everyone in LL. I was talking to a friend about the message board and how supportive everyone is and she couldn't believe that an unmoderated board could be full of kind people. We are sure glad we found LL.
Liz
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;2.5 71; 2.75 62;3 99; 3.25 92 A

Okay, we are set up to test in just a few minutes. No exercise for the big guy. We will try to keep him resting quietly. Maybe I'll start off with a pot of tea before breaking out the hard stuff! :-D It will be a long night.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;2.5 71; 2.75 62;3 99; 3.25 92 A

zener's lucky to have you for his beans - and i'll second your comments about FDMB . . .
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;2.5 71; 2.75 62;3 99; 3.25 92 A

julie1220 said:
zener's lucky to have you for his beans - and i'll second your comments about FDMB . . .

Thanks Julie, there are quite a lot of lucky kitties and lucky beans here in FDMB! :-D
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;~2 71;~2 62;3 99;~3 92;3.5 96 A

Just got +3.5 and stable at 96. Gave 1t 17% with 2 drops corn syrup.
Liz is getting hungry and wants to know if she can have some corn syrup too? ;-)

PMPS 158, 5th cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.9oz 11%
+1 134, 0.8oz 11%
+2 90 0.4oz 18%, 1 treat
+2.5 71 0.5oz, 3 treats ohmygod_smile
+2.75 62, 2 treats, 1t 17% with 2 drops corn syrup
+3 99, 1t. 17%
+3.25 92, 1t 17% gravy & 2 drops corn syrup, 1 semi soft treat
+3.5 96, 1t 17% & 2 drops corn syrup

We've had three values above 80 now and somewhat stable, so should we switch to every 20 or 30 minutes? I know it is still early in the cycle.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;~2 71;~2 62;3 99;~3 92;3.5 96 A

96 @ +3.5
happy to see he hasn't dropped any more. if he'll eat a couple of those treats with honey, let him have some. he'll love you for it.

i think i'd retest in 30 minutes, but not one minute more, k? if he decides to drop again, we want to catch him BEFORE he drops too low.

i have to test alex and feed the crew here but i'll be back asap.

lather, rinse, repeat. see you shortly...
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;~2 71;~2 62;3 99;~3 92;3.5 96 A

Jill & Alex said:
96 @ +3.5
happy to see he hasn't dropped any more. if he'll eat a couple of those treats with honey, let him have some. he'll love you for it.
Oh boy, are you right about that. He is very alert, and especially perked up when I shook the bag of treats! This 3.5 was more of a 3.7 Liz says. She's an engineer and I made a D in algebra. Math is not my strong suit.


Jill & Alex said:
i think i'd retest in 30 minutes, but not one minute more, k? if he decides to drop again, we want to catch him BEFORE he drops too low.
I was already in the other room set to test before I read your message. So, we got a +4, 20 minutes after the last test, and he was steady at 95.

Jill & Alex said:
lather, rinse, repeat. see you shortly...

He just ate 3 of the treats with honey. We'll get another test in 30 minutes at +4.5.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;~2 71;~2 62;3 99, 92, 96;4 95AT

yaaay! holding steady and no drop!

unfortunately, we'll have to continue until we feel confident he's on the way up and will stay up. how are the two of you holding up so far? it's 12:30am here, but i think only 10:30pm there???

ha! math isn't my strong suit either. i round everything off to the nearest quarter hour. :lol:
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;~2 71;~2 62;3 99, 92, 96;4 95AT

Jill & Alex said:
yaaay! holding steady and no drop!
Yes, and still 95 at +4.5. The 3 semi soft treats after the tests seem to be holding him, and he LOVES them!

Jill & Alex said:
unfortunately, we'll have to continue until we feel confident he's on the way up and will stay up. how are the two of you holding up so far? it's 12:30am here, but i think only 10:30pm there???
Yes, it is 10:30 pm here and I am ready to do the night shift. After this last test, Liz is headed to bed and she will get up to do his AMPS and shot. So, dose advice? He has earned the reduction and we were giving sk 1.25. Do we want to shave rather than full .25? So, a 1.0 rather than sk 1.0?

Jill & Alex said:
ha! math isn't my strong suit either. i round everything off to the nearest quarter hour. :lol:
Good plan, I like that!

I'll get a +5 and post. I don't have to be at school tomorrow until 10 am, so I can stay up easily until 1 am and then sleep/test as needed.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;~2 71;~2 62;3 99, 92, 96;~4 95

hmmm...
that 62 AT/32 human meter is disconcerting. much too low for my comfort... especially considering zener is a CH kitty.

i think it might be a good idea to go ahead and take a full 0.25u reduction. if it looks like the reduction isn't holding you could always take the dose up in increments of 0.1 unit if necessary.

i'm not sure the reduction will hold, but i think we have to err on the side of caution.

if you want to attempt a shave you'll have to feel comfortable that you'll be able to test him often.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;~2 71;~2 62;3 99, 92, 96;~4 95

Jill & Alex said:
hmmm...
that 62 AT/32 human meter is disconcerting. much too low for my comfort... especially considering zener is a CH kitty.

i think it might be a good idea to go ahead and take a full 0.25u reduction. if it looks like the reduction isn't holding you could always take the dose up in increments of 0.1 unit if necessary.
Boy howdy, that 62 on the AT scared the catnip out of us! And if it's way too low for your comfort, then it is way way too low for us!

Jill & Alex said:
i'm not sure the reduction will hold, but i think we have to err on the side of caution.
We are good with that. The last time he earned a reduction at 68, we went down the full 0.25 and it held. I imagine he may bounce from these numbers tonight. So would we want to wait at least 6 cycles with the new sk1.00 units before taking it up if the numbers aren't holding?

Jill & Alex said:
if you want to attempt a shave you'll have to feel comfortable that you'll be able to test him often.
Tomorrow is not a good day for us to test often because of our teaching schedules, so we want to go with the full reduction.

Zener is now tucked in bed next to Liz, so I'll go get him in 30 minutes for another test. If he is steady again for the 2nd time at 30 minute intervals, do I then go to an hour between tests? Any ideas on how long should I stay with the HC or honey treats?

Thank you so very much! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;~2 71;~2 62;~3 99-92;4 95;5 100

So would we want to wait at least 6 cycles with the new sk1.00 units before taking it up if the numbers aren't holding?
it might take 72 hours for the bounce to clear... and it might not. you'll have to see how things go.

If he is steady again for the 2nd time at 30 minute intervals, do I then go to an hour between tests? Any ideas on how long should I stay with the HC or honey treats?
if you think he'll eat some hc with a little syrup in it, i think you'd be able to hold off testing for an hour. you'll have to use your judgment based on the numbers you're seeing as to when you should check next.

i'd continue feeding hc/honey treats until you see enough of a rise to go to sleep on. whenever you do go to sleep try feeding him again. i'd like to see him bumped up pretty quick so you can get some sleep.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;~2 71;~2 62;~3-4 90s;5 100;5.5

Just got the +5.5 and it had dropped to 85. He ate 1t of 17% carbs with 3 drops of corn syrup and then 3 semi soft treats with honey, then dashed back to get in bed with Liz again. Since the numbers dropped, I'll stay on the every 30 minutes and feed schedule with HC, syrup and treats. I'm off to take a shower then putting the jug on for tea. Zener is peacefully snoozing.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;~2 71;~2 62;~3-4 90s;5 100;5.5

oh he's not making this easy on you!
you have a good plan in place.

i probably won't be around for your shot time in the morning. if by some chance he's still on the low side, isn't showing any signs of starting a bounce, and you have to leave the house... you might want to skip the shot to drain the shed a little. you know zener better than any of the rest of us. it'll be your call.
 
Re: 9/20 Zener PMPS 158;2 90;~2 71;~2 62;~3-4 90s;5 100;5.5

No, the little rascal is not making it easy! I'll keep testing every 30 minutes until I get two numbers in a row steady or rising, then go to every hour until things look on the rise for real. Thanks for the advice on the AM shot, we'll watch for low numbers and will likely skip if necessary since our testing tomorrow morning will be limited. If we do skip, then will our PM dose be the new reduced sk1.0?

I'm set to test him again in about 5 minutes. I feel like I have things under some sort of control right now and a plan, so if you need to get to sleep before the sun rises where you live, then I feel like I'm okay.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top