? 9/20 - Xander | AMPS 188 - Skip dose the night before dental?

Brianna & Xander

Very Active Member
Previous post: 9/19/25

Realized I may have made a mistake even in the tiny increase because it suddenly fully clicked that the vet wants me to fast him after midnight before his dental. Obviously that's a really long time given that I'd normally be feeding him at 5 and 8 AM and now he won't have anything from bedtime until after the procedure. Unfortunately, because I'm dumb apparently, I had been thinking his dental was on Tuesday, but it's on Monday. So, of course, no getting ahold of the vet to request that we change how long he's fasting. ๐Ÿ™„ Wondering if maybe I should just skip the dose on Sunday night because if he's going to be active, it's often right around that timeframe (and for the following few hours). Thoughts?

Happy Saturday! ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’œโœจ

signal-2025-09-20-091610_002.jpeg
signal-2025-09-20-091610_003.jpeg


Naptime mini blep ๐Ÿฅน
 
I never skipped the night before, but did do half dose in the AM. One time I did a token dose cause she was flirting with a reduction. Not feeding after midnight is a non diabetic thing. Can you reach out to the clinic today and confirm or they closed? Remind person answering the phone that he is diabetic. Your other option is to carb him up at midnight if he's going lowish. Worst case, I was told, feed if you need to keep him from going too low, just let the vet know when you last fed. Doesn't look like he's been that low on this dose yet.

See this post, and table in post 2. Info on Dental Procedures (including pictures)
 
Hi Brianna, we will be sending you lots of good wishes on Monday. Please let us know how heโ€™s doing as soon as you can.
And make sure to get pain meds to come home with.

Wishing you and your sleepy sweet boy a relaxing weekend ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿˆโ€โฌ›โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉน๐Ÿ˜ป
 
I never skipped the night before, but did do half dose in the AM. One time I did a token dose cause she was flirting with a reduction. Not feeding after midnight is a non diabetic thing. Can you reach out to the clinic today and confirm or they closed? Remind person answering the phone that he is diabetic. Your other option is to carb him up at midnight if he's going lowish. Worst case, I was told, feed if you need to keep him from going too low, just let the vet know when you last fed. Doesn't look like he's been that low on this dose yet.

See this post, and table in post 2. Info on Dental Procedures (including pictures)
No, they're closed on the weekends and they only start answering phones at the time we'll be dropping off on Monday morning. ๐Ÿ˜’

They're only having me do half a unit that day, which is tiny, but I didn't feel like I had much arguing room with a new vet. They're having me do the same before his ultrasound on Wednesday morning too.

As long as they aren't likely to cancel based on it, I could feed if he goes low. Recently he's been going lowest right before AMPS though which wouldn't work. He hasn't on this dose yet, but it hasn't been very long either, so who knows where he'll go by then. ๐Ÿซฃ

Thanks for the link! I had read through it a few times and that's what made me remember that midnight won't work.
 
When is 5 and 8 in relationship to evening shot? I would think insulin would not drop dramatically 12 hours after shots and would start to rise. Iโ€™m not seeing his bg so low to worry about the shot the night before and these are Libre readings. He should be monitored before, during and after the dental and tge vet can always give a glucose drip if needed. If too worried skipping wonโ€™t hurt him. I ended up having to skip the night if the dental because Max wouldnโ€™t eat.
 
When is 5 and 8 in relationship to evening shot? I would think insulin would not drop dramatically 12 hours after shots and would start to rise. Iโ€™m not seeing his bg so low to worry about the shot the night before and these are Libre readings. He should be monitored before, during and after the dental and tge vet can always give a glucose drip if needed. If too worried skipping wonโ€™t hurt him. I ended up having to skip the night if the dental because Max wouldnโ€™t eat.

Sorry, I meant in the morning. I meantthat normally even if he didn't eat after midnight he'd at least get food at 5 am and 8 am, but obviously he won't this time.

I give him snacks at 10:30 (11:30 if I can make it that long), so it may be fine. It's just recently when he does have action it's started at like 3 am and I don't want to not be able to fed. I know he hasn't been getting much action lately but he did get an increase with my luck he'll show it that day lol
 
Binx got a little snack at 5:30am the day of his dental and I dropped him off at 9am. Granted, they didn't start anything until probably around 12-2pm. I wonder if you see how he is that day and night and worst case you give him high cards just before midnight. It is pretty standard for diabetic cats to get a little extension on the fasting time. Overall, you might have to make a judgement call day of, since you can't get in touch with the vet beforehand.

Sending all the best to you both ahead of the dental day!!! ๐Ÿค— ๐Ÿ–ค ๐Ÿƒ ๐Ÿค—
 
Hmmm. That reads like your vet is using older information. We've always done full dose and food the night before. 1/2 insulin and 1/2 usual food morning of the dental. That was per a combination of IM and dental specialist recommendations. And my GP clinic adopted the same protocol for diabetic patients after I told them what I'd been advised to do. Most clinics now give IV Cerenia with the pre-med anyway, which prevents vomiting/aspiration.
 
Binx got a little snack at 5:30am the day of his dental and I dropped him off at 9am. Granted, they didn't start anything until probably around 12-2pm. I wonder if you see how he is that day and night and worst case you give him high cards just before midnight. It is pretty standard for diabetic cats to get a little extension on the fasting time. Overall, you might have to make a judgement call day of, since you can't get in touch with the vet beforehand.

Sending all the best to you both ahead of the dental day!!! ๐Ÿค— ๐Ÿ–ค ๐Ÿƒ ๐Ÿค—

The vet initially said they'd do him first, but who knows if they'll follow through with that. I agree that maybe I'll just have to try to load him up with carbs before midnight if he decides to be active (but he probably won't anyway).

Thank you so much for the advice and wishes!! ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ
 
Sending good vines for Xander's dental, I truly hope it helps with his bouncy nature ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ

I love how big his pupils are in all your pictures. It makes him seem both so sweet and nervous at the same time.
Thank you so much, Seth! Me too, and in getting him to eat more often and hopefully seem more like himself!

Aww I know! He's got big ol' Disney eyes. ๐Ÿฅบ "so sweet and nervous at the same time" is the perfect descriptor for him so I guess his eyes represent him well lol
 
Hmmm. That reads like your vet is using older information. We've always done full dose and food the night before. 1/2 insulin and 1/2 usual food morning of the dental. That was per a combination of IM and dental specialist recommendations. And my GP clinic adopted the same protocol for diabetic patients after I told them what I'd been advised to do. Most clinics now give IV Cerenia with the pre-med anyway, which prevents vomiting/aspiration.
It seems like they usually do, unfortunately! ๐Ÿ™„ I wish FD were more than a 2 hour segment of their entire training. There's gotta be at least one day they could dedicate to it lol
 
Back
Top