9/20 Toby"s AMS 395+4=337 PMS-513

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Toby was 397 at +10 and 395 at AMS Didn't move much after +10. Doesn't it look like his lowest points are +6 and +8? It seems when I test him these are when he is lowest . Have a Good week-end ' Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/20 Toby"s AMS 395

Hi Peg. Just want to pop in to wish you and Toby well. I'm not good at all about analyzing spreadsheets so can't help with your low-point question. Just when I think I have Polly's figured out, she does something goofy and I'm back at square one!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/20 Toby"s AMS 395

Happy Caturday, Peg.

Like Marilyn, I can't help you with the nadir question. The R makes it hard for me to distinguish what might be the effects of R versus what might be the effects of Lev. That, in combination with bounce-breaking cycles versus "regular" cycles gets me, too (along with perhaps still not having reached the right dose yet). Thank goodness we have so many very experienced users to help us figure it all out. They're angels! o:-)

Hope you enjoy your weekend, Peg!
Shelly
 
Re: 9/20 Toby"s AMS 395

Even if you do pin down roughly when the nadir is for Toby, cats can and do change it around. Or it could be like my Neko who picks a random number each cycle and chooses that as her nadir. On Lantus Neko was reliably between +3.5 and +13, now she's on Levemir it's between +5 and +13, although most commonly between +9 and +12, except when it isn't. :roll: I find that the nadir is often earlier if they start lower, and later if they start higher.

If you think Toby's nadirs are mostly around +6 to +8, then getting tests in that time frame is a good idea.

I hope Toby is doing well today and continues ketone free. Have a great day Peg.
 
Re: 9/20 Toby"s AMS 395

Toby was at +4 was 337 . I went out today to help a friend with her wood pile and came home to test and his pms are 513. I
just don't know what to do anymore. Do you think he's on a bounce? He acts like he feels better now than he has in days. Jumping up on things and Playing. DH said he's been following him around all day. yesterday morning I increased his dose to 4.5 units of levermir. Will give the levermir and see how we make out . He was acting like his old self when I got home tonight'
Was so sure he was going to test low than got a 513. What a disappointment. Well guess we will just hang in there. Peg and toby
 
don't worry about not being able to tell what's going on yet. This is a slow process. As long as you keep getting negative ketones, we'll just keep plodding along.

The protocol suggests 6 or so cycles at a dose, then increasing based upon how low he got in the last 3 days.

I don't think you have to get up every 2 hours during the night. that just pains me to see you did that last night. You must be exhausted. We saw on 9/15 that he spent 7 hrs in blue/yellow numbers, so, in my opinion, if you can test once in the middle of the night, that's plenty. i know we don't want wide open white spaces, but you have to balance it out with you being able to sleep. Last night when you got the 294, that was great to get another test in 2 hrs. But when that was over 300, i'd have said sleep til amps. Once he's started up again after the nadir, he's not very likely to go down again before the next cycle.

My guess is that he may have had some lower BGs (not dangerous low, just lower than he's used to) on thursday when you were at work, then bounced again from it. If that's what happened, then he should clear that bounce either tonight or tomorrow's day cycle. Tomorrow would be 3 days from Thursday, and bounces usually resolve in 3 days or less. I'm mentioning that because it can be helpful when deciding when to test next. If you expect a bounce to clear and you're wishy-washy on when to test next, choose more often at that point.
 
great that ketones are negative. i know how hard it is to see those high numbers. my kitty is the same. hope Toby comes down soon. take care
 
Hi Peg

Here's the link to Toby's 9/19 Condo. Linking the previous days condo in your first post allows us to quickly go back to previous condos and read the info. :-D

I'm sorry about the 513. I know it is discouraging but it's great news his ketones are negative. Some days when numbers are high, we have to remind ourselves that our kitties are more than just their numbers and if they are feeling well, that's most important.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top