9/20 Tink PMPS 213, +2=108, +3=55, +4.5=48

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125577

So far so good on the dose increase. Loving the slow descent to better numbers. Had what appears to be a nice blue surf today, and now a very reasonable (for him) PMPS. Barring any craziness, we should see a very nice blue surf tonight.

I was remiss in getting late cycle shots as I was busy extracting honey. Yes, in a house with a diabetic cat. I tried to do it outside, but the bees decided they wanted to help. :o Surprisingly the cats lost interest rather quickly. Then came the cleaning of everything honey may have touched. :shock: I was supposed to be house painting today... but thought "eh, I'll take care of the honey real quick". HAHAHAA. Little did I know it would be a very sticky, all-day adventure.
 
Re: 9/20 Tink AMPS 248, +2=273, +4=215, +6=182, PMPS 213

Very nice flat cycle for Tink today. :-D

I'm surprised Tink didn't want to help you with the honey. :lol: Supposed to be nice tomorrow too, you can always paint then.
 
Re: 9/20 Tink PMPS 213, +2=108, +3=55

WELL, Tink has decided to change the game again. :roll:

Gave him 2tsp lc at +2 to avoid a hard drop, but then got sidetracked and didn't test at 2.5. Test at +3 was down to 55. :o So, he just got 1.5 oz of Avoderm 8% chicken & gravy. Will test again in 30min.
 
Re: 9/20 Tink PMPS 213, +2=108, +3=55 EEK!

OK, might be time to put on the ~O) ~O) . Hey Tink, time to hop on that surfboard! :o :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Or maybe it's his way of saying he really does want to sample the honey.
 
Re: 9/20 Tink PMPS 213, +2=108, +3=55 EEK!

He gets his regular meal at +4 - so depending on what I see here in a couple minutes, I'll either feed early or give more Avoderm. Or, if we're lower, I'll break out the Gravy Lovers. I did get some Wellness Chicken & Lobster too, but now I can't remember what carb % someone said that one is. I think it was a mc - but I'm not sure what people mean by mc. I would consider the 8% mc, since I feed nothing over 4%.
 
Re: 9/20 Tink PMPS 213, +2=108, +3=55 EEK!

The chicken and lobster is 11% so, yes, a MC.

Good job getting the +2, Jen. Hope Tink gets on that surfboard. I probably wouldn't wait too long to test again.... 30 mins after he ate would be a good idea.
 
Re: 9/20 Tink PMPS 213, +2=108, +3=55 EEK!

Down to 51 at 3.5. Gave 2tsp 8% + 1tsp gravy lovers. Will check again in 30min. Or should I check sooner? He's still eating, so it would really be like 25min.
 
Re: 9/20 Tink PMPS 213, +2=108, +3=55 EEK!

30 mins is good after he eats....it takes about that long for the food to affect the BG. Good job getting him stopped.
 
Re: 9/20 Tink PMPS 213, +2=108, +3=55 EEK!

Now at 50 (+4). Regular meal time. What to do?? I'm thinking of giving him regular meal, plus the rest of the gravy lovers??

ETA: Fed his regular meal, less the 2tsp from +2 and added tsp of gravy lovers. He's now eaten half the 3oz can of gravy lovers, plus the 3oz can of Avoderm and his regular meal of Wellness. Still taking food as if he's starving. LOL

I see the bg continuing to go down... but I guess 55, 51 & 50 are all essentially the same thing, given the allowed variance of the meter... so I guess the brakes have been applied. Hoping we get a bit of a boost from all this food soon. I'd feel a lot better if we were in the 60s or 70s. The 50s are a bit out of my comfort zone. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/20 Tink PMPS 213, +2=108, +3=55 EEK!

He's surfing now which is good. Depends on whether you want to get to bed because you need a couple of rising, non-food influenced numbers before you call it a night. I'm not sure what test you are at....+4 Maybe? The closer you get to +6, the less carbs you should need.
 
Re: 9/20 Tink PMPS 213, +2=108, +3=55 EEK!

Ugh. 48 @ +4.5

Feeding the rest of the gravy lovers - about 2tsp. I do have more on hand if needed. Sure was hoping to go to bed at some point though... @-)
 
Re: 9/20 Tink PMPS 213, +2=108, +3=55 EEK!

Uh oh. Hope he surfs now, cuz I think his belly is full for the first time in almost a year. He just walked away from FOOD! He did lick off all the gravy though - so I think he got what he needed.

May have problems if I need him to eat again in half an hour though. Granted, the lucky guy has gotten nearly 8oz of food in the last two hours. He'll dream about this day! :roll:
 
Re: 9/20 Tink PMPS 213, +2=108, +3=55 EEK!

I'd give him a larger helping and be sure there is a little food in with the gravy. You better take Wendy up on the ~O) ~O)

Lather, rinse, repeat.....in other words feed and test again in 30.
 
So, the time it takes to eat has gotten us a bit off track here. It's +5 now, but only about 15min since he finished his last food. Will test again in 15min. PLEASE BE OVER 50!!!! @-)

I'm not sure if I'm gonna be able to get him to eat anymore. He actually walked away from food. I do think he didn't like the texture of the FOOD part of the gravy lovers though... so can probably get him to take some gravy if needed. Hopefully.
 
For where he is in numbers and also in the cycle, you could always give his LC and a drop of Karo if you have to but the issue with that is the Karo wears off and numbers can come back down. I'd rather see him have the 11% and hope it brings him up to surf than to give the Karo.
 
You think the 11% is enough? How high is the carb content of the gravy in gravy lovers? Given that even that hasn't caused any increase (just slowing the plummet), I'm inclined to stay with the highest carb I can get.

He's always SO carb sensitive... until I need him to be. :roll:

Maybe I should just break out some couscous or pizza. He seems to always enjoy those! :lol:
 
I was just offering a different idea if he didn't want the gravy lovers. It's about 17%. I'm hoping the 48 was a nadir. Hope....

Definitely pizza! Or if you have some vanilla ice cream, he can have some :-D
 
Oh, I see. Yeah... he LOVED the gravy lovers the first time he got it. This was a different variety and he seemed to have some issues chewing the shreds. He's got all his teeth... but he doesn't like shredded food. He doesn't mind chunks, but I think pate is his favorite as he scarfs that down like it's the last food he'll ever see.

Hopefully we're headed (SLOWLY) up now. We'll see. Will test again in 30. Didn't give him any food.

Guessing this is gonna cause one heck of a bounce, since he's bounce-prone anyway. :?
 
So... what should I do in the morning? Last time he did this (last time it was on his second dose after an increase), the consensus was to stick with it and NOT decrease. Tink has been a diabetic for just shy of a year, though was OTJ for 6mo. He only came down to 48 and came up easily. In that discussion, he was basically deemed a long term diabetic and it was acceptable to wait for 3 numbers under 50 to warrant a decrease.

This time, it's the 3rd dose of an increase. His second time (ever) under 50, first time on this dose. He still only got to 48 (so far at least), but it took a lot of food to keep him there.

3u wasn't giving great results, so I hate to go back to it so soon. Especially given that I'm fully expecting high numbers by morning. But I dont want to put him at risk by NOT decreasing if a decrease is in order. I'm inclined to hold this dose, based on the conversation mentioned above... but I'm also not confident that I have enough experience to make that call.

I shoot at 5am... so not really the best time to try to get opinions...
 
:lol: He was just snoring. I've never heard him snore! Full belly must feel good. :lol:

(and he did perk up instantly due to an apparent itch... so not a "sleep" to be concerned about - just a food coma) :-D
 
If it were me, I'd hold the dose for all the reasons you mentioned plus I have noticed that in "some" cats, the first cycle or so after any NDW, they go lower but then don't do a lot. This happened to Tina on 9/6 on his third cycle of 2.75u.
 
Yes, it was technically his 3rd cycle, but the first cycle was a furshot.

But ok, I'm glad you agree. I was thinking holding the dose was best, but wanted someone to back me up on it. ;-)
 
Woohoo! 67 @ +5.75.

I think we're in the clear, but I'll get one more test before I go to bed (and probably another a couple hours after that, just cuz I worry too much :roll: ).

Thanks for hangin' out with me tonight. :YMHUG:
 
Super! You might want to grab a few winks if you can wake up easily to test and make sure he's still coming up.

Great job tonight, Jen. Hope you get some rest.

And you're welcome although you did great on your own. Ni Ni.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top