9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+5.8-42,PMPS-117,+4-79,+9-171

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=104780&p=1114858#p1114858

Yesterday Ozy was a bit high, especially compared to all those cycles he was all blue/green. I took all the advice and took it easy while he was high. And now, at AMPS he is 76, so I guess he is done being high. Thanks for checking in with me yesterday, sorry I didn't check back.

Thanks also for looking at my video of him walking. He has been doing better but I wouldn't call how he walks anything close to normal. At least he is improving. Tomorrow is the chiropractor appointment.

And, Marje, we have to go to the vet and pick up some 20 gauge needles for giving fluids. Doing that today and then plan to resume the fluid attempts. It is hard to get John motivated to do this. He hates needles. He has gotten so he can test at least.

donaleen
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76

Nice start for Ozy this morning. :mrgreen: Sending good vetty vines for the chiropractor appointment tomorrow.
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76

Thanks, Carla. He is up to 116 at +1. I don't usually do +1's but the 76 made me wonder what was in store. I hope he didn't go too low last night.

donaleen
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+1-116,+2-90,+4-54

hmmm.... now 54. Guess I will have to watch him carefully for a bit.

I picked up the 20 gauge needles for subQ fluids. I know I read that fluids can drop the glucose...so, how high should he be before I try fluids?

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+1-116,+2-90,+4-54

Boy..when Ozy breaks a bounce, he really breaks a bounce!!

Looks like you're going to be testing awhile through this cycle...Hopefully he'll surf for you in those wonderful green numbers.

I can't give you any advice on the fluids, but good luck with it. That's one thing I've been lucky enough (so far anyway) to not have to figure into this dance!
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+1-116,+2-90,+4-54,+4.5-47

Okay, now 47 half an hour after his meal of 2T Wellness grain/free

.... is it time for another reduction?
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+1-116,+2-90,+4-54,+4.5-47

Yup. That 47 gives Ozy a lower dose.

Fluids can drop BG. You want to make sure you're not giving fluids (aka "squids" -- subcutaneous fluids) at the same site as you're giving Ozy his insuiln. Use a different side. You might also wait until after nadir when the numbers are coming back up.
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+1-116,+2-90,+4-54,+4.5-47,+5-49

Thanks, Sienne.

He went up from 47 to 49, which is stable but right on the 50 line. So, my plan is to not feed him and test in a half hour and see where he is. If this is the wrong choice, please advise.

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+2-90,+4-54,+4.5-47,+5-49,+5.3-46

Still low at +5.3... now 46 so I gave him another teaspoon of food and 2 drops maple syrup.
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+2-90,+4-54,+5-49,+5.8-42,+6.3-49

Congrats on the reduction. If he doesn't getting a significant rise at the next test, I'd double the amount of syrup he gets - no need to hang around those low numbers. Some of the syrup he first got will start wearing off soon. It's time for Ozy to come up. Paws crossed he's at or past nadir now.
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+2-90,+4-54,+5-49,+5.8-42,+6.3-49

Thanks.... I am ready for him to come up. It's hard to focus.

I gave him some no grain but carby dry treats last time as well.
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+2-90,+4-54,+5-49,+5.8-42,+6.3-49

If it helps any, we've had OTJ cats and people's civie cats test in the 40's. We just don't like diabetic cats there because there is no margin for error.

Some people lace treats with honey, so that could work too. Dry food just takes a little longer to metabolize so isn't a quick way to bring up the BG.
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+2-90,+4-54,+5-49,+5.8-42,+6.3-49

I'd wait until after your next test, to see if you need more syrup. What time is your next test?
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+2-90,+4-54,+5.8-42,+7-61

No, I didn't do it then. He just had his test at ten minutes before +7 and he is at 61; I think that is high enough to stop feeding him and just check his glucose every 30 minutes to be sure he stabilizes.

I have the low number write up up. This one

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46003


I think we will be fine now. I just got a little nervous when he wasn't coming up. I know that with much more maple syrup he would come up BUT I am trying to not over feed him, bring him up gently and remember that he is trying to lose some weight.

thanks.
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+2-90,+4-54,+5.8-42,+7-61

I'm happy to see that 61. I think your plan to monitor is good.
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+2-90,+4-54,+5.8-42,+7-61

Me, too! It was hard not to give him a big dose of maple syrup. When we was diagnosed, the vet warned us about low numbers and gave us a syringe to feed him Karo syrup. The first time he went low, he was at 31, and on a re-test 34... it was first thing in the morning... we diluted some Karo and gave him a whole syringe full. I bet it was a tablespoon. Well, he shot right up and kept going... that was on 8/24-25.

I was tempted to do that today when he wasn't coming up.

Thanks, Wendy!
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+4-54,+5.8-42,+7-61,+7.6-83

Good job Donaleen!!

I do it the same way you did..when China drops below 50, I try a teaspoon of her regular food (unless it's like crazy low..under 40) and test, test, test. If she keeps dropping, I'll add a drop of syrup or switch to gravy..the idea is to get them up to a safe number without sending them to the moon (that's what bounces are for.....LOL)

Congratulations on the reduction!! Way to work that juice Ozy...now surf nicely for your mommabean so she can rest and recover
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+4-54,+5.8-42,+7-61,+8.5-98

Thanks, Chris. It was too long below fifty for my comfort! I hope he doesn't bounce like crazy.

I am amazed that he has had so many reductions so quickly after going up, up, up.


donaleen
 
Re: 9/20 Ozy AMPS-76,+4-54,+5.8-42,+7-61,+8.5-98

Hi Donaleen. How nice to see all the blues and greens on Ozy! Glad his numbers did come up a bit though!

Debbie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top