Okay we will try to get some pm cycle readings tonight. Or maybe it doesn’t matter now that he is bouncing? Could 0.25 be too much? Thanks for your help!The original bounce has cleared but he could be bouncing from last night.
Okay we will be patient and stay at 0.25. We may try to give insulin a bit earlier so Kris can do PM readings more easily.I don’t think .25 is too much. He just bounces from getting into normal bg which is 50-80 or 100 on a human meter for a diet controlled or cat that is not diabetic. The more time he spends between 90-120 he will likely not bounce as much. His numbers are not very high so I think this was caught early and he could become diet controlled quickly. Big anti jinx.[/QUOTE
Thank you so much for getting back to me! I found a photo in one of the forums so I think we are good. I really appreciate your help!Hi Kyle
Sorry no one was around. I am out at an appointment atm and on iPhone
Yes you will need to reduce the dose to 0.1 units as he dropped under 90 as per the SLGS method.
I will attach a picture of the new dose.
I can write more when I get home.

You are awesome! Thank you!!
Did you retest the 54? Seems improbable to have dropped so muchSorry I am pulling a 911 here- Owen is at 54 and it’s only +2.
We did not. He is eating now. Should we retest now or wait a bit?Did you retest the 54? Seems improbable to have dropped so much
No. I think the last test was not right. Test again in 30 minutes. . The food hasn’t had a chance to effect the bg. You can remove the 911.
I think Elise doesn’t think its probable for the 54 to be correct and then a “very quick” food bump. I agree with her, the 54 seems out of place.Okay thank you. I’m just wondering if the first test was correct- could he be bouncing this quickly? We will get another test and see where we are at. Thanks so much for your help!
Okay thank you - we will do that next time for sure!I think Elise doesn’t think its probable for the 54 to be correct and then a “very quick” food bump. I agree with her, the 54 seems out of place.
i recommend that you retest all the values that don’t make sense, it happens that strips are bad or that there is too much blood or too little and they will show a weird number.
Okay good to know! We are learningSorry I missed all the excitement and I’m glad all is OK.
I agree, the 54 may have been a bad strip or reading….always good to recheck if the BG seems odd/ too low/ out of place.
I don’t think it was a food bump- if the number was real could it have been a liver dump of glucose to deal with the sudden low? I don’t know how fast that can happen but Owen has been bouncing a lot since we started insulin. ?I think Elise doesn’t think its probable for the 54 to be correct and then a “very quick” food bump. I agree with her, the 54 seems out of place.
i recommend that you retest all the values that don’t make sense, it happens that strips are bad or that there is too much blood or too little and they will show a weird number.
If you remove that 54 from the picture(and i don’t mean to delete it) than i believe this is a bounce cycle due to the lower values in the AM cycle.I don’t think it was a food bump- if the number was real could it have been a liver dump of glucose to deal with the sudden low? I don’t know how fast that can happen but Owen has been bouncing a lot since we started insulin. ?
Sorry I have replied to you 3 separate times now! But Kris did say there was ALOT of blood. Can that produce a false reading?or that there is too much blood or too little and they will show a weird number.
We noticed a couple of times false readings from too much or too little blood, but then on other occasions it was fine. but it is not important the reason of the bad test, you can recognize a bad test when it surprises you with the sudden change in one direction or another, if it does just retest for your peace of mind.Sorry I have replied to you 3 separate times now! But Kris did say there was ALOT of blood. Can that produce a false reading?
It was 30 minutes between tests. I will put them in the same cell!
Insulin helps him get regulated and get into better numbers, the swings suck but they are part of the process. He is too short on insulin so you have to put on the patience pants and waitOkay we are at 404 for +3. I guess we don’t have to worry about a hypo at least. I feel bad that poor Owens bg is making such huge swings.
Thanks for your help everyone! Should we soldier on with 0.1 tomorrow? I feel like insulin is just making things worse for him.
Thanks for the pep talk! I feel so responsible for Kris and her cat. It is hard. I am putting on the patience pants for sure!Insulin helps him get regulated and get into better numbers, the swings suck but they are part of the process. He is too short on insulin so you have to put on the patience pants and wait
Okay thanks. It is even harder when it is someone else’s cat. I feel really responsible. Thanks as always for your help.It’s not making him worse. The hc caused his bg to go up. I don’t think it ever was in the 50’s. Now you know test get a second test to confirm. Stick with 0.10 in the morning.

Thank you @Bron and Sheba (GA). I am not a very patient person so this is a good opportunity for me to practice. I appreciate your support!Most people would be very envious to have a kitty down to that dose so soon!