9/20 Martha AMPS 157

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hosanna

Member Since 2012
I will be testing today at +3
All her numbers seem to indicate that she is flat. I am so thankful!
 
It was 157 now it is 186 at +3 Why on earth would it go UP after her insulin? She ate a couple of hours ago.
 
Because she's a cat? :lol: It's not that unusual and there are a lot of factors that come into play: pancreas, liver, food, insulin, pain, and others I don't know about. Great job on the testing! And nice to see those flat cycles.
Liz
 
Very nice flat blues! When you typed in the unit amount, is that a typo or did you give 0.50? Only curious. :-D If that was a typo, those 1.50u doses are doing wonders for her, and you're doing a great job, too! Pretty soon, you'll start seeing lower blues, and hopefully some :mrgreen: #s very soon, too! Congratulations to the both of you! :-D
 
Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
Very nice flat blues! When you typed in the unit amount, is that a typo or did you give 0.50? Only curious. :-D If that was a typo, those 1.50u doses are doing wonders for her, and you're doing a great job, too! Pretty soon, you'll start seeing lower blues, and hopefully some :mrgreen: #s very soon, too! Congratulations to the both of you! :-D
Angela, that was not a typo. I only gave her 1/2 U. Yes I agree the 1.5 U are working great for us, but her number at that time was too low. I was not willing to risk it.
 
The 157 and 184 are actually pretty much the same number. There's 20% variance that's attributable to the meter.

The next time you're not comfortable with your pre-shot number, you might want to take a look at this post on dealing with low pre-shots. Ultimately, you want to be able to shoot low numbers. However, you need to be data ready. Shooting a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose -- a reduced dose -- is fine. It may have been an aggressive reduction though. You probably would have been find shooting 1.0u. You'll have data for the next time this comes up. What was important, though, is that you did shoot.
 
Sienne, it is hard to see that those two numbers are basically the same. Will I never get this!!!!!!!
 
Lol!! The front end of this learning curve is overwhelming!

Think of any number in terms of a range of 20% on either side of what you test. The 157 is really 127 to 178. Your 184 falls in the middle of 148 to 220. The two numbers overlap so are essentially the same.
 
Where can I read about shooting low? This is so scary to me. Also, what numbers should I be aiming for? I am happy when she's in the blue numbers, and am afraid that if she gets less than 100, she will easily drop into hypo.
 
No, that is a perfectly safe number. Great job! Normal range for cats is 50-120, so that's the best range for them. Below 200 is good too, since that is about the renal threshold. If you can add "+6 98" to the very first post that you made this morning, it will show up on the board and we can easily see what's happening with Martha.
Liz

ETA: Be sure to check out the sticky SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS. We re-read this about a billion times before it started to make sense.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top