9/20 Klinger AMPS 494; PMPS 145

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Very Active Member
UGH! This morning I wasn't very awake and I made coffee, fed the cat, tested him at 5:00 a.m. saw his AMPS were 494, disappointed, went to feed the cat and realized that I already fed him! Dang!
Gave him 3.6u's
PMPS 145

So, normally I would skip the shot, but I seem to recall the last time I did this people said that I should have given a reduced shot. Is that still the case?

BUMMERS!
 
I guess if it were me I would go back to that skipped shot and re-read what everyone said that day and maybe the next day too. See why they suggested whatever they suggested and decide from there.
 
Hi Marcy, give me a minute to look it over. You do NOT shoot 145. Have you fed him? did you shoot his belly sides this morning in split shot?
 
ok, did you split shot this am in his sides?
It is rising so that is good. Did he eat well or is he picking?

I think this may possibly require another slight drop, because it really did last until PS which is unusual, and you work, so we cant be postponing. Maybe try 3.5u
 
Yes, +12 plus 10 minutes.

Only shot on one side. My bad.
He ate about a 1/4 of his ff. I also gave him some of the Vitakitty chicken breast treats.
Give him the 3.5 now??
 
I would like to see 1 more reading to be sure its rising. He was pretty low. Maybe even 3.4 to be sure he's shootable tomorrow AM
 
sorry neighbor came to the door. I think 2.2 is a bit too low, if he's over 200, maybe shoot 2.8 or 3u tonight. He goes so high the next day when you skip doses.
 
Will he eat if you need him to? 1/4 of a FF can is not much food in our world. (1 bite for cody). Is this how he always eats, or is he being finicky? If this is normal, I have to wonder about the acro thing- many are chronically "starving to death" and would eat almost anything they can get, anytime. Cody has eaten tomatoes off the counter...
 
its kind of late to shoot now if you want to stay on schedule. Maybe you better shoot the 2.2, so you can shoot tomorrow AM on time.
 
Sorry I didn't finish answering your questions. DH kicked me off the computer to eat dinner.
The 1/4 of the can is usually all he eats.. he eventually goes back for more later...but he never really finishes the can.
 
This was a learning experience, to see how fast he rose around +12, so put it in a brain cell for next time. If you see a rising number, better 2 consecutive, rising numbers 10-15 min apart, you can feel pretty safe shooting so long as he's over/near 200. Remember the insulin is wearing off, and BG should continue rising until the next dose kicks in at +2. The exceptions (and there are usually exceptions lol ) are- is he acting sick, and is he eating normally? these 2 exceptions make dose predictions trickier because numbers can be wacky, and first priority is to keep him safe.

Also, the new shot location seems to be making the insulin work a lot better. Today's dose was good, but possibly just a tiny bit too much because you were forced off schedule. Tomorrow AMPS will likely be higher than you like because you gave 2.2u, so don't worry about that.

What do you think? I might try 3.4u or 3.5u if its a pink or red preshot, and less if its yellow. Keep shooting where you have been the last few shots- away from the scruff. If he's seeing this acton with 1 spot, thats ok keep doing 1 location.

Hang in there- you are getting there. Today was actually a good day. Decisions get easier as you gather more history of how he typically responds. see you tomorrow-

and : test- feed -shoot tomorrow morning!- LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top