FYI: Here is the information from the
TR sticky on dose increases:
"Increasing the dose:
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
- Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
- Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."
When you skip a shot, the cycle count restarts. Here is the detail on that situation, which is found in this sticky:
Info - Reminder: Counting Cycles
"Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus, glargine biosimilars (Basaglar/Semglee) and Levemir... stalling, shooting a reduced dose, shooting a BCS dose, skipping a shot, and fur shots can alter the effect on the insulin/depot on any given dose. If you have to do any of these things, the cycle count starts over. If you don't start over, you run the risk of kitty becoming over dose."
So, when counting cycles, restart the count after Guppy's most recent skipped shot.
Yes, to avoid hypos, vets often seem content with higher numbers, but that is usually because not everyone is home testing their kitty, like you are. When you are home testing before shots and through the cycles, you have an understanding of how Guppy is managing the insulin. That information allows you to make dose increases/decreases and get things a little more customized and, hopefully, get Guppy into better numbers.
Absolutely check with the vet, but you can always check here too. Many of the more experienced folks on here have worked with lots and lots of diabetic kitties. I don't even check with my vet anymore. Overtime, he became okay with the advice I've been receiving here

, but you should always do what you feel most comfortable with for you and Guppy.