9/20 Clare AMPS 265;PMPS 273;+5.5-86;+6.5-100;+7.5-120

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good Morning, Lantus Land Neighbors!

Yesterday's Condo

We're sending out healing wishes, hugs and skritches to all the kitties and beans who need them this morning.

Today's News:

AMPS: 265
+2.5: 356
+4: 401 confused_cat
+7: 298
+9: 307

PMPS: 273
+2: 197
+3: 111
+3.5: 85
+4: 51
+4.5: 69
+5: 96
+5.5: 86
+6.5: 100
+7.5: 120

It was good to have Clare on my shoulder through most of the night. Clare got a bit into the blues in her PM cycle, after dipping her toe into the green during the day. It's good to finally have an effective dose for her.

Georgette
 
Re: 9/20 Clare AMPS 265

Good morning Georgette! Yes, looks like Clare likes this dose! Now slide down to the lagoon nicely for momma bean today Clare. :smile:
 
Re: 9/20 Clare AMPS 265;+2.5-356

Good morning! ~O)

Clare, is this a bounce that you're starting today? No need for that, little one.

I saw that you've been at .50 units for 6 cycles now. I'm wondering if the more experienced users might tell you that you have room to increase the dose just a bit more to try to bring the overall range of numbers down. It might be worth posing the question. (I always get confused on how long to hold a dose after seeing greens. ohmygod_smile )

Hope Clare turns it around for you today!
Shelly
 
Re: 9/20 Clare AMPS 265;+2.5-356;+4-401;+7-298

Thanks for your visits, Laura and Marilyn and Shelly! We could use the support today (and every day!).

Clare's bouncing around, partly because we're trying to manage her food now. Before, we'd just stuck to the 4-5% Fancy Feast and chicken breast for treats, so the carbs she was getting were pretty low.

Wendy (I think) suggested that because the 0.5 dose was pretty effective the last time and because Clare is a bouncy kitty, that we begin feeding her the higher end (7-8%) of the low carb food to help even out her bounces.

So we've been trying that at shot time (breakfasts and dinners) and she's liked most of the ones we've tried. So she's eaten a whole can. I think she's been partly responding to the increased carbs, and that maybe we need to start managing them more carefully. Maybe giving her 1/2 4% and 1/2 8% at the shot-time meals? I'm not sure.

So here's a question: If this dose doesn't appear to be effective enough for Clare, should we increase the dose, or decrease the carbs?

Thanks to any and all with experiences and knowledge to share. We so much depend upon, and are very grateful for, your expertise!

Georgette
 
Re: 9/20 Clare AMPS 265;+2.5-356;+4-401;+7-298

When you start seeing greens at a dose, you can wait a little longer to evaluate it. From the protocol:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
Clare looks like she's starting to ditch this bounce. It'll be interesting to see what she does tonight. She still seems to really like diving around +2 sometimes. I was hoping a little higher curb could reduce those drops, as those big drops can also cause bounces. Food trials can sometimes take a little longer to see the impact. What times of the cycle do you feed her besides PS?
 
Re: 9/20 Clare AMPS 265;+2.5-356;+4-401;+7-298

Hi Wendy,

We generally feed her 1 small or 1/2 large can at breakfast and dinner with her shots (6:00 and 6:00 usually) and about 1/3 small can at noon and at midnight (via auto feeder), along with baked chicken breast treats - about 1 Tbsp - with each test that's not followed by a meal.

Since we started the 0.5 dose, we've been feeding her 8% for her breakfasts and dinners with the shots, and 4% with her 12/12 snacks, along with the chicken breast treats.

Thanks for considering this,

Georgette
 
Re: 9/20 Clare AMPS 265;+2.5-356;+4-401;+7-298

Oh, also it would probably be good to say that Clare usually grazes on her meals over a 3-hour period, except of course when she doesn't! ;-)

Thanks,

Georgette
 
Re: 9/20 Clare AMPS 265;+2.5-356;+4-401;+7-298

It's a harder with a grazer, but it would be great if she'd eat a bit at +2 so she has some fresh carbs on board before doing her diving. I wonder if reserving some of her main PS meal for +2 would help. Some grazers get interested when new food is put down.
 
Re: 9/20 Clare AMPS 265;PMPS 273;+4.5-69;+5-96;+5.5-86

Thanks, Wendy -- we'll start holding some food back tomorrow.

It's been an exciting evening, especially because I wasn't home and my DH took care of Clare during her deep dive. He called me to let me know what was happening, and after +3 called me after each test. I was doing my best to talk with him while driving home through a thunderstorm. I finally got here after +4.5 and found him calmly reading a book on the couch. He and Clare did wonderfully!

Hurray for Clare and my DH!! What a team! :RAHCAT

Georgette
 
Re: 9/20 Clare AMPS 265;PMPS 273;+4.5-69;+5-96;+5.5-86

Some cats are slow responders and you might not see the real action until they are at 10-11 cycles. I think you should hold the dose and see what Miss Clare does.

Plus she is having a pj party ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top