? 9/20 Chispa, reduce dose when not eating?

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
Chispa had a rough day and night yesterday, vomiting 5 times in 24 hours. The last time was 7 hours ago. This may be a result of reducing her prednisolone to every other day, though I'm surprised the result is so dramatic when the dose is so small to begin with and we've skipped only two days (Tues & Thurs of this week) so far. Anyway, she is not eating much, and who knows whether it will stay down today. I've been giving her ondansetron since yesterday, don't currently have Cerenia on hand but could get from the vet.

My question is, should I give her a reduced dose this morning to avoid the possibility of a hypo if her appetite doesn't return today?

@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Last edited:
@Karen and Chispa
Hi Karen I'm sorry Chispa isn't feeling well.
I see it's her 18th birthday
Happy Birthday Chispa :bighug::bighug::bighug:

71VOSUl65ML.__AC_SY300_SX300_QL70_FMwebp_.jpg
 
@Karen and Chispa
Hi Karen I'm sorry Chispa isn't feeling well.
I see it's her 18th birthday
Happy Birthday Chispa :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Diane, thanks so much for your good thoughts and birthday wishes. Chispa loves the party scene and is asking for balloons and cake! :joyful::cat:

I wasn't sure what to do about the dose, so in the end I went to my workout class, stayed for half of it, and came home to see if she had eaten. She had, and kept it down, and was purring -- all good signs -- so I gave her the full dose, but an hour late.

I am going to do a separate birthday post. I didn't want to mix it up with one about her feeling yucky.

Happy Friday to you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh no, I am sorry she is still vomiting. I am not sure about the dose. Did she eat a little more later?
I hope she has a better day today, and happy birthday Chispa!
Have a good day Karen :bighug:
Hi Cecile! Chispa thanks you for your good wishes and says she is feeling better today. She ate all but one bite of her breakfast and is snoozing now.

I'm glad to see that Bella is improving, little by little. That's so great. Keep up the good work, and happy Friday to both of you!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Diane, thanks so much for your good thoughts and birthday wishes. Chispa loves the party scene and is asking for balloons and cake! :joyful::cat:

I wasn't sure what to do about the dose, so in the end I went to my workout class, stayed for half of it, and came home to see if she had eaten. She had, and kept it down, and was purring -- all good signs -- so I gave her the full dose, but an hour late.

I am going to do a separate birthday post. I didn't want to mix it up with one about her feeling yucky.

Happy Friday to you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'm so happy she ate , kept it down and was purring. Why do these kitties have to worry us lol
Have a good day :bighug::bighug:
@Karen and Chispa
 
As a general rule, I didn't reduce Neko's dose when her appy was off. If I could get at least 2/3 of her calories into her, I was happy. I also knew that I could syringe feed and get some of that food in, and that syringe feeding often kick started her to eat on her own. Note, Neko's appy was off when she was on Levemir, and she onset around +5. Meaning I had plenty of time to get food in before the insulin kicked in.

The other thing to consider is the depot. Reducing the dose for just one cycle often doesn't have an impact until later on in the cycle as the depot tends to control the first part of the cycle, even if a reduced dose.
 
As a general rule, I didn't reduce Neko's dose when her appy was off. If I could get at least 2/3 of her calories into her, I was happy. I also knew that I could syringe feed and get some of that food in, and that syringe feeding often kick started her to eat on her own. Note, Neko's appy was off when she was on Levemir, and she onset around +5. Meaning I had plenty of time to get food in before the insulin kicked in.

The other thing to consider is the depot. Reducing the dose for just one cycle often doesn't have an impact until later on in the cycle as the depot tends to control the first part of the cycle, even if a reduced dose.
Thanks for this, Wendy. I ended up giving her the full dose. She has been eating today, though not cleaning her plate, but she's kept it all down. Tonight's PMPS was a complete surprise -- the lowest preshot of 2024! I had to do a double-take.
 
Back
Top