9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445!+2 274+2.75 202+6 132 PMPS 232+3.5 153

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura&Chichi (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125560
Good morning! So...I opened the "new" vial and gave first dose with it at pmps(273) last night. I tested at +2.5 and got 328 and went to bed. I test this amps and she is 445! :o Does this automatically mean that vial is no good? I got it from Craigslist about a week or so ago, and it arrived room temp, although it had been packed with an "ice pack" that had melted.It was still sealed and exp. date is 12/15. I freaked out and went back to the old vial at amps today, so Im hoping she comes down soon. I did not give a fur shot , Im quite positive about that. The only "good" thing is that I only paid 80.00 for it, versus 225.00. Im afraid to use it again, seeing these numbers, or should I try one more time at some point before I toss it. I havent seen a red # in awhile, so Im really afraid to use it again. Any thoughts? Im off today, so I am going to get a +3 and hopefully she comes down by then. I am really disappointed right now by this purchase :evil: Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445! "new" vial bad?

I'd examine the vial very carefully and under good light to make sure there isn't evidence of any crystals (i.e., "floaties"). If there are, then the vial is bad. FWIW, whenever I've gotten insulin from someplace other than the pharmacy, it's been a local purchase so I don't have to deal with issues around how the insulin was handled during shipment.

The other consideration is if this isn't Chi Chi's pattern. There are several instances on your SS of when he drops pretty quickly and you don't see an immediate bounce. Rather the bounce is at least a day later. You don't have yesterday's numbers on the SS so it's hard to know exactly what things look like.

When I had a bad pen, there was no consistency to the numbers. I suspect this can be different depending on the cat but that was my experience.
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445! "new" vial bad?

Looks like a bounce starting at yesterdays pm cycle from your green numbers in the am cycle. The nice thing is chi chi does not have a problem clearing bounces.
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445! "new" vial bad?

Thanks Sienne. I examined it and dont see anything and it is very clear and no floaties. I filled in her numbers from yesterday, and she was 99 at nadir and 2 days in green, so maybe it is a bounce, but I havent had a red amps for a long time...just freaks me out seeing the red amps :shock: I think I will try the new vial again on Tuesday am, so I can see what she does through the day while Im home. Maybe I shouldve just continued today on it, but I just panicked and grabbed the old vial. I really was expecting to see lower, not higher number.
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445! "new" vial bad?

Thanks Darin, yes, she clears the bounces..just too many of them to clear :smile:. I forgot to add, that I didnt give the 2.50f last night either, just 2.50. I wasnt sure if the old vial was bad and the new vial would drop her too quick, so I shaved it back a drop. That might have made a difference, but geez, it was really a minimal decrease.
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445! "new" vial bad?

It happens with charlie every so often where a red will pop up in a bounce out of no where.
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445! "new" vial bad?

If there were no floaties, I would think the new vial wouldn't be the issue. It's certainly possible that the reduced dose (even just that smidge of insulin) could cause a difference in the numbers, but I've always read that you may not see the effects of a decrease during the cycle that you take the decrease because the depot from the higher dose is still in play. So....I wonder if the AMPS# is the "high" before the bounce breaks. Marje mentioned that to me one time - that a lot of times you'll see a pretty high number that signals the end of the bounce. It's just a thought I had. :?

Regardless - I hope Chi Chi decides that red is not a good color on her.
Shelly
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445! "new" vial bad?+2 274

Well..she broke that bounce..assuming it was a bounce! I will resume the "new vial" on Tuesday am..and see what it does then. I just want to try it again at a time Im gonna be here "awake" to monitor..versus on a pm cycle, or while Im at work. Thanks for the replies on this!
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445! "new" vial bad?+2 274

Youre tellin me Darin..171 points! :o I fed 1/4 can lc ff. I only have lc and 12%. Im going to pick up some 9% today.
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445! "new" vial bad?+2 274

Wow. This girl doesn't mess around when she clears a bounce, does she.

Hope it's a smooth sailing day...

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445! "new" vial bad?+2 274

I'm glad the mystery is solved! Now slide please into blue or green Ms.Chi Chi. Max does that high before the bounce clearing quite often by the way and I believe they are somehow related in their patterns. :lol:
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445! "new" vial bad?+2 274+2.75 202

Another 72 points in 45 min. I mixed 12% and 4% and gave her that to slow her some..if its not too late..shes dropped 243 points in 2.75 hours..Yikes
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445!+2 274+2.75 202+4.5 212+6 132

hi Laura
hope the vile is good and she stabilizes. such a good price, it would b great if it is working properly. good luck.
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445!+2 274+2.75 202+6 132 PMPS 232

hi laura!

i definitely think the amps this morning is a bounce number. She went straight up from yesterday's 99 to this morning. The fact that her +2 was higher than her pmps last night is another indicator. If the new Lantus had been good, it would have just been onsetting beginning around +2. Seeing a higher +2 makes me think that she was already on her way up into the bounce.

Too bad she dropped so incredibly fast this morning - that's probably enough to set off the next bounce already. Perhaps it will be short-lived. fingers crossed for you!
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445!+2 274+2.75 202+6 132 PMPS 232+3.5

I was planning on going to bed now..but she dropped, so I will wait till +5..will just watch the end of the Fl. state game :-D Go Seminoles!
 
Re: 9/20 Chi Chi AMPS 445!+2 274+2.75 202+6 132 PMPS 232+3.5

Well Chi Chi!!! What a day you had. :-D

I also think that 445 this morning was the high before the break. Chi Chi has occasionally thrown in a high number here and there. She also had a pretty good drop yesterday morning. While it looks like it was about 50/hour, it could have been a dive. We all tend to want to divide the amount of drop by the hours but it doesn't always work that way. So if she dropped, for example, 75 in one hour yesterday morning, it could kick off a pretty big bounce. I've found that many cats seem to bounce harder from big drops than low numbers.

Looks like she was not quite done this morning and is coming down s little tonight.

:lol: :lol: :lol: we are Clemson fans as some of the family are Clemson alums. Tied right now in the fourth qtr nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top