? 9/2 Tux AMPS 105

Jenny&Tux

Member Since 2023
Previous thread

Hi all!

I was hoping someone could give me some suggestions to get Tux to stay in the green.

He’s been on .1 units since mid-July.

Eats well - pretty much 2 cans a day fed at dosing time.

I picked up an automatic feeder, so he gets a very (very) small handful of kibble at (AM) +4, +8 and (PM) +4, +6, and +8. I hope all that makes sense.

Other than that, he gets a Beefeaters (brand) lickable treat almost every night (5-7 nights/week) - no starches listed in the ingredients.

Any input is appreciated!
 
With only tests at amps and pmps we don’t know how low he’s going. With SLGS you do a curve every 7 days. Being on just .10 can you get a second test around +4-7 as many cycles as possible instead if a curve? The one you last ran was over a week ago and all green which is great. It good be have more than one test to see if a reduction to a drop might help. @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom
 
Agree with Elise. Any spot checks you can get - a test before bed, a test before leaving for work, a random test in the day when you're at home etc - will give us an idea of how low he is going on the dose.

Is he getting Orijen kibble in addition to YA?

Also wondering if you'd like to use a lower reduction point like 70 or 80 so you have room to increase his dose to 0.25U. That might help get rid of the blues he's seeing.

@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
I agree with what Elise and Bhooma have said. I think getting some tests in during the cycles apart from the curves will give us information whether or not Tux would benefit from an increase to 0.25 to get rid of the blues as Elise suggested. I wouldn’t do it until I could see what is happening during the cycles and how low he is going.
 
Agree with Elise. Any spot checks you can get - a test before bed, a test before leaving for work, a random test in the day when you're at home etc - will give us an idea of how low he is going on the dose.

Is he getting Orijen kibble in addition to YA?

Also wondering if you'd like to use a lower reduction point like 70 or 80 so you have room to increase his dose to 0.25U. That might help get rid of the blues he's seeing.

@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
No Orijen kibble anymore - I must still have it listed somewhere - I will update.

Thanks for the suggestions!
 
Back
Top