9/2 Skunky PMPS 122, +2, 82; +4 64

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skunky's Mom

Member Since 2014
(this was my original post when she was 69 at +11. I guess I screwed up the subject line)

She got pretty low last night, after a 45 minute stall waiting on her numbers to start rising.

and now, she's 9 points lower than she was four hours ago.

I've got one hour before her shot is due.

If I have to stall many more times, I'm tempted to drop a shot and get us on a better schedule. I didn't get to shoot her last night until 1:30 in the morning.

Anybody know. . . will I always need to get a PM +2 shot?

I like the surfing in the 80s. These 60s making me nervous.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky AM+12, 90 PMPS103 +7 78; +11 69

If you place a question mark next to the bubble in the first subject box and write did in advice needed someone who has that knowledge will help you.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM+12 - 76, no shot :-(

Well. .. our AMPS became our AM no shot. She was a 76 (i think). She was starting to rise but, today has been /is continuing to be a crazy day. I knew I wouldn't be able to get home, probably, until +6 or later to test.

Also, we were already at 145. So I decided to skip the shot today and start back tonight, at a better schedule for me - 10 is my plan.

I'm also very curious to see what happens when I don't shoot. So, a little experiment.
I didn't know what else to do.

I hope I didn't screw things up too bad!
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM+12 - 76, no shot :-(

If you get number at PS that you are uncomfortable shooting, the best thing to do is post for advice, using the question mark icon and putting something like "dose advice needed" or "should I shoot?" in the subject line, along with the BG you got. If you don't get an answer in the amount of time you have for making the decision, you can either take a one time BCS (Big Chicken Shot - reduce the dose), or skip the shot altogether. Remember, the most important issue is keeping your kitty safe.

Now that you've skipped the shot, you can readjust your PM shot to whatever works best for you and start from there.

I'm sure someone much smarter than I am will be along and add more complete advice. I hope Skunky gets right back on track for your tonight.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM+12 - 76, no shot :-( Opinions?

Thanks Tricia.
I contemplated the Big Chicken Shot.
But. . . I was so afraid of possibly having to stall again in the future and having to shoot at 2 a.m. I figured. . . i'd take this opportunity .

but yes, I hope we don't loose too much momentum. Thanks again!

Maybe these low numbers mean we're not too far from a reduction! If I didn't screw everything up today.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM+12 - 76, no shot :-(

Tricia is one smart cookie - she's covered most of the bases. :-D Some Lantus (and Levemir) kitties can get a "double dip" where they go down a bit at the end of the cycle, but still above the nadir. Last night might have been one of those, but it's so hard to tell cause the numbers were all within meter variance. But this way Skunky will be safe while you are gone. And the bonus is getting back on a schedule you'll like.

That was an awesome cycle last night! :mrgreen: I don't know if anyone has shown you Davidson's SS but he's a great example of what can happen when kitties go green. Starting at 2.75U all the way to OTJ, Davidson earned his deductions by spending a week in normal numbers.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM + 20 --104??? Does this mean anything???

So I just checked Skunky's blood glucose, 20 hours after her last shot, and it was 104.

Does this mean anything? Is that weird? I wish I had monitored her more, to see how she did not getting the AM shot (at 145 EDT), but. . . I didn't :-(

I was hoping she wouldn't be too high but to be honest, I was very shocked she was still so low.
That's going to become her PMPS, planning to give her her full one unit at 10 ET (about 10 minutes from now)

But I am really surprised it is so low.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM+12 - 76, no shot :-(

She is in normal numbers right now. So you should be happy. I'm thinking you won't be here too long at all at this rate. I'm thinking the dosing experts will say a reduction is needed but I don't give dosing advice. I ask for it myself. These are just gut feelings.

I just looked at your ss and see you just took a reduction. Maybe the depot needs to be drained. Maybe too soon for another reduction. Skipping to get back on track is always an option and will reduce the depot. I'd pt the ? icon in the first post of the day and ask for advice.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM + 20 - 104. Does this mean anything???

Thanks Tiffmaxee - I hope you're right that we won't be here long :-)

Maybe my spreadsheet is confusing, but no, no reduction. I just skipped today's AM shot because her numbers were low, repeated stalls had pushed us to a ridiculous schedule (1:45!!!) and I had a crazy day at work and knew I couldn't test like I wanted to.

We just went up to the 1u a few days ago - Saturday night, I think, and things have been going great. It's exciting :cool:
Also a little scary!
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM + 20 - 104. Does this mean anything???

Don't question it - just enjoy it! It'll be interesting to see what happens tonight. I hope you are prepared to test!! Good luck.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM + 20 - 104. Does this mean anything???

Thanks Tricia! Oh, I am prepared to test tonight. I do hope I get some sleep though! I'll be in bed soon, and that's really early for me!
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM + 20 - 104. Does this mean anything???

So I just checked Skunky's blood glucose, 20 hours after her last shot, and it was 104.....I was hoping she wouldn't be too high but to be honest, I was very shocked she was still so low.

Did I write this???? :lol: Right before Jersey went into remission, I skipped a shot because I didn't feel comfortable shooting and leaving for work. If you look at our ss, you'll see I skipped on the morning of 4/9; I was absolutely shocked when she stayed green the remainder of the day. Just a few days before that, she had been in pink! :shock:

I personally see it as a great sign that Skunky was able to hold down her bg relatively well with the skipped shot. She may still need some insulin support for a while, but it looks like she's definitely headed in the right direction!
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM + 20 - 104. Does this mean anything???

Thanks Shelly! Oh, this is exciting :cool:

I wonder if I'm in for a pajama party tonight!

It's truly amazing the changes in Skunky in just the past few days.

I'm so so so so so glad I decided to make the change to tight regulation. It scared me, so I was relaxed. It just took me a while to come around. . . :smile:
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM + 20 - 104. Does this mean anything???

it does look like she's found her breakthrough dose....

Paws crossed for working her way down the dosing ladder .... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM + 20 - 104. Does this mean anything???

The depot can keep kitty numbers down for a while, but it is indeed an excellent sign she didn't zoom up. I see a 122 in the SS - was that your PMPS? If 104 was you PMPS, then in the PMPS column you can put 104@+20, then the 122 would go in the appropriate +hour spot. Paws crossed for smooth surfing tonight.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM + 20 - 104. Does this mean anything???

You might be in for a long night, but this is the path to OTJ...and isn't that a great path to start on!

Wonderful to see skunky hold her bgs down. That is a good sign.

Make sure you get a +1 & +2 to see how she's doing.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM + 20 - 104. Does this mean anything???

Thanks everyone!

Wendy, I thought the 104 would be my pre shot but I ended up goofing around and it ended up being 45 mintues before I gave her her shot (partly to see responses) and so I did another test and her preshot was 122.

Just got 111 at +1. I better get some food in this cat! And settle down for a one hour nap :shock:
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PM + 20 - 104. Does this mean anything???

OK, I get the numbers now. Could you go to your first post of the day and update it with the actual PS and +1, just so we can see at a glance where Skunky is. So, it would be 9/2 Skunky PMPS 122 +1 111.
 
Re: 9/2 Skunky PMPS 122, +1, 111 +2, 82

+2 was 82. She hasn't eaten much in the past few hours so I just made sure to get her to eat a lot. I find if, when she is sitting on the couch, if I hold a paper plate of food right under her nose, she eats it, whereas she wouldn't get off the couch and go over to the plate and eat it.

it's strange to see my typically voracious eater barely touching her food. I did think it was a good thing but i'm starting to have my doubts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top