9/2 Reuben PMPS 425 +2/468 +4/403 +8/351

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Reuben lost his appetite for both food and water and felt horrid all afternoon yesterday, pooor thing!! The only variable in his day was a bowl of chicken broth that he had happily devoured, so it was due (I assume) to this. He had not had this treat (one of his favorites) in a very long time. Maybe it was too heavy, although the chicken was cooked without the skin so I just don`t know! I thought it was pain at first, so I gave him bupe, but it did not help. I finally syringed water into the boy a little at a time for half an hour, and then syringed his food at shot time. Shortly after he was back to himself; hungry, affectionate, fine.

Reuben has not thrown up since night before last, yeay! After a big dinner last night he was on the verge of stomach upset, so I quickly gave him his evening dose of Pepcid, and then he was fine.

All P's in place, not sure about the LB activity, the've been outside, must keep an eye on this.

I wish I`d gotten the +11 when I was half awake this morning, next time!

Have a Great Sunday!!

Ongoing Medications:

50mg Clavamox bid
2.5mg Pepcid bid
.08ml Bupe as needed (last dose 9/1 in 3 p.m.)
a few grains miralax

RECAP OF YESTERDAY
9/1
AMPS 389
(+1.5) 446
(+3) 442
(+6.5) 402
(+9) 377
PMPS 342
(+2) 356
(+4) 327

AMPS 426
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben AMPS 426

Hi Alexa, Glad Reuben is doing better today, sorry he had a rough time yesterday and glad he has not thrown up, yay! You are doing a wonderful job caring for him and feeding and hydrating him. Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben AMPS 426

So glad Reuben is feeling better and no pukies today. Come on down now big guy. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben AMPS 426 +2/309 +3/181

Alexa:

The Pepsid works best if you give it 30 min. before a meal. Also, is the dose 2.5mg or 0.25mg? Typically, Pepsid AC is a 10mg tablet that you divide into 4 pieces.
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben AMPS 426 +2/309 +3/181

Sienne -

Yes, it`s 2.5mg Pepsid (I fixed the typo in my 1st post). I`ll give it to him half hour before each test/feed/shoot from now on, thank you!
I can only get the Pepcid in 20mg tablets, so I dissolve it in 4ml H2O and then give .5ml each dose. Is there a better way to do this do you think?
I tried dividing the tablet up at first, but it's tiny and was too difficult.

I`m keeping my eye on this nice +3/181. He's 3 or four hours from nadir and I want this cycle to be a success. Any advice?

Thank you Sienne!

Alexa
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben AMPS 426 +3/181 +4/128 +5/106 +5.5/100 +6/113

Look at Reuben on his very first normal day!!! He missed the greens (at least on the meter) by one point. But blue matches his eyes, which look so much better at these lower numbers. His pupils are huge and spooky all the time, but today I can see his pretty blue eyes, matching the blue numbers. YEAY!
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben AMPS 426 +3/181 +4/128 +5/106 +5.5/100 +6/113

Nice to see Reuben in the blues!.... however.. just because Rupie was away for a few days doesn't mean you can sneak in and try and steal his diving crown!!! watch out, he's keeping an eye on you!!! hopefully he'll come find you on the blue floor soon!
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben AMPS 426 +3/181 +4/128 +5/106 +5.5/100 +6/113

Oh, my! This is really great to see him in the blues! You are getting there quick!! I recommend that you put "dose advice?" in your headline, and see what you get. Also, I would get a +10 and/or a +11 for tonight if at all possible. Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben AMPS 426 +3/181 +4/128 +5/106 +5.5/100 +6/113

Wow. look at that 100.
Reuben keeps getting little improvements all the time.
And you are doing so great learning all the little nuances to balance medications.
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben AMPS 426 +4/128 +5.5/100 +8/197

Hey Thanks you guys for the encouragement, isn`t it awwwwwesome? He`s still in the Blues at +8, Wooo Hooo!!!!

Dale - why do you think I should ask for dosing advice? I thought the shot is held above 150 - under that it has to be reviewed?

Does anyone have an opinion on this subject? All comments greatly appreciated!!

Alexa & Mr Blue Eyed Surfer Reuben
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben AMPS 426 +4/128 +5.5/100 +8/197

Hi Alexa, No dosing advice, here is my 2 cents: The no shoot number depends on the situation, ECID and beans too. The protocol will involve shooting lower numbers as things progress, and dealing with low numbers and seeing how the cat responds to low numbers. When I balked at shooting low, it helped to get the gurus input to reassure I was not overloooking something important. I cant know for sure what would have happened if I skipped or BCS or stalled, I can say I am glad I did stick to the protocol as best I could, and glad I got handholding when needed to stay the course.
Are you thinking about not shooting if Reuben stays below 150? If so I recommend you get input from the wise ones to guide your decision.
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben AMPS 426 +4/128 +5.5/100 +8/197

Reuben looks wonderful!!! Yayy! Nice healing blues. At +8 he's 197 so I don't think you'll have a problem but you will have to monitor him tonight. He may go low. This might be one of those sleepless nights that I and several of us get quite often only your turn. :lol: I say this only because it's his first night of having a fairly low bg when he gets his shot, provided he doesn't shoot up that is. I would shoot his regular dose though. He looks like he's going to be over 200 anyway and you've got your feet wet with handling low numbers. Just make sure one of the old timers is around to keep you company in case you have a problem. Do you have lots of supplies on hand, hc, syrup, test strips, etc? If it was Racci, I don't like shooting her under 75 but have depending on circumstances so you have plenty of wiggle room. ECID though.

Congratulations for a nice healing day and hopefully night!

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben AMPS 426 +4/128 +5.5/100 +8/197

Hi Alexa, sorry about Reuben not feeling good yesterday, but the action you took helped him feel better. I'm not sure, but I think Dale must have responded when he was lower numbers in the cycle and thought he would keep dropping. He looks like he's rising there at the +8 and yes, still blue! :-D
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben AMPS 426 +4/128 +5.5/100 +9/217 +10/272

Leslie - Yes, 'always consult the wise' ones is my motto! I think it will be a while before we are looking at these kinds of decisions, tho', haha, here we are looking at a pink pre-shot! I`m not complaining mind you, as pink still looks pretty reasonable after what we`ve been dealing with! :razz:

Melanie - Thanks for the reminder to complete the depleted Hypo-Kit! I loaded up on strips this morning . I have honey, need more HC -- do I even know the diff between HC and MC? hmmm must examine Binky`s Page! He's going back up to pinks tho', so I`ll get some sleep between the tests tonight I think. He enjoyed his healthy BG day by sleeping like a little tired out kitten after a hard day of play! So good to see! :razz:

Ann - Yes, I think you`re right about Dale's comment. It got a good conversation going though!

Okay, so now I have a dilemna..... Reuben just woke up and wants to eat, and we are 1.5 hours from shoot time... what do I do? I have not controlled his eating much up til now, but it would be good to start doing?
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben PMPS 425

Hi Alexa,

When I'm just over the point where I want to feed, I feed just a little lc, just enough to make her happy that she got something but not enough to do much damage. If she squawks for more I give a tiny bit more and walk away. Just make sure it's lc. You'll have to figure out how sensitive to carbs he is. Racci can do that without a problem if it's lc. If it is really close to the time I don't feed though. I try to get her interested in something else like playing or I test then to get an idea of where she is and then feed a little so when I test later I have a reference point depending on how hungry she is. I try to ward that off though by feeding about 2-2.5 hours before a test so she doesn't get hungry when I don't want her to.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben PMPS 425

LOVELY NUMBERS TODAY, REUBEN!!!!! Hope you guys have a wonderful evening and lots of snuggles!

~Deborah & Shasta
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben PMPS 425 +2/468 +4/403

Very nice run there, Reuben!

PM-Cycle looks calm so far, Alexa - maybe you'll get some proper sleep and he'll treat you to some *more* great numbers tomorrow!!

I'm replying to your PM now too :smile:
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/2 Reuben PMPS 425 +2/468 +4/403

Red Panda for you and Reuben!

images
 
Hi, Alexa! Yes, I saw that 100 at +5.5, and I thought "this might be it! " Someday, he might keep dropping, might stop bouncing, and you will see a low number at shot time.

I won't be around much for a while, but I'll keep you in my thoughts. You are doing great!!!!!! Take care.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top