9/2 Maxi AMPS 165/+4:230/+6:268/+9:295/PMPS 260/+2:298/Questions about Pain and Dose Increase

bambinaki

Member Since 2010
Last thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-108-6-89-8-113-10-110-pmps-125-2-175.234454/

Maxi's numbers stayed great yesterday, his first day on Levemir, but now some not-so-great numbers have popped up. @Wendy&Neko , how soon and how much can I increase his Levemir dose to bring the numbers back down?

*At PMPS, I gave Maxi 11.5 units of Levemir.

Also, something is up with Maxi today. He's very quiet and not purring. I gave him some Buprenorphine. I've been talking to people on the feline acromegaly Facebook page, and some are saying that acrocats should be on pain medicine daily. I'd like input from you all on that.

Thank you!

Maxi with his nephew Lolo:

upload_2020-9-2_9-56-19.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-9-2_9-56-19.png
    upload_2020-9-2_9-56-19.png
    233.2 KB · Views: 81
Last edited:
Human acros complain of headaches, growth of bones can cause pain. I didn't need to give pain meds right away, but did after a couple years when Neko's arthritis got bad. She was visibly stiff. I think most acros end up needing daily pain med, the question is the timing. This might be a good discussion with your vet. I also did a lot of other things to help Neko's arthritis pain (Carthorphen/Adequan in the US, accupuncture, joint supplements, fish oil/anti inflammation).

I wouldn't have increased just yet, he's probably bouncing. He did hit 64 last night. :D The Lantus depot could still be in play but I would have held the initial starting dose at least 6 cycles with the numbers he was seeing.
 
Back
Top