9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +2 51 +3 70 +9 171 PMPS 113 +1 103

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo

Today's AMPS 80

Yesterday's Summary
AMPS 491
+5 214
+10.5 168
PMPS 168
+5 161
+11 101
AMPS 80

Do I shoot? I want to shoot - do I shoot his full 2u? He's been dropping since his 491 yesterday, which was the result of a fur shot the previous cycle. But he's been wanting to wander around blues for a couple cycles, which is wonderful and new to us!

But he's been wandering down for the entire last cycle, especially in the last hour....???
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 Need Dose Advice!!!

First question: Are you going to be around all day to monitor him and do you have plenty of test strips, and HC or karo for just in case?
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 Need Dose Advice!!!

I'll be here with you, if you decide to shoot, and if it were me, I would. I would want to get some good data, after looking at your spreadsheet and seeing that you will have a non testing pet sitter giving his shots in the very near future. If, he's going to maybe earn a dose reduction, then lets do it today. KWIM? These are just my thoughts.
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 Need Dose Advice!!!

Hi Dyana

Thanks for the quick reply. I went over to the shooting low pre-shot page and realized I screwed up. I was going to do a stall and catch him as he went up (since he fell 20 in the last hour since +11). BUT I screwed up and gave him his breakfast, which he woofed down. So, I can't do the stall according to the protocol. So I just retested at +0.5 and he was 104. I know this is likely his breakfast. So ... I went ahead and shot. I will be around all day today if needed, so this will be okay even if he really dips low.

Good advice on seeing we have a sitter - this is one of the things I love about this board ... you took at look at his ss and saw that note, and adjusted your recommendation accordingly. I didn't think of that, but you are right ... we want him as stable as possible when the sitter is here, and that means not doing something different today.

Thank you!
Lisa
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 Need Dose Advice!!!

How you doing Lisa? Do you have the supplys and are you going to be home today? Are you ready to shoot this green?

Remember that he will come up once you feed him, and the new insulin you shoot, will not have onset until about +2, and the food will help to stop any drop he may now be on. J.D. often comes down from a bounce all cycle like this.
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 Need Dose Advice!!!

Dyana said:
First question: Are you going to be around all day to monitor him and do you have plenty of test strips, and HC or karo for just in case?

Yes, I have all of the above. I just bought another 100 strips yesterday! I need more HC but I have a can, and lots of LC and karo to fake it.
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 Need Dose Advice!!!

Lisa & Leo said:
Hi Dyana

Thanks for the quick reply. I went over to the shooting low pre-shot page and realized I screwed up. I was going to do a stall and catch him as he went up (since he fell 20 in the last hour since +11). BUT I screwed up and gave him his breakfast, which he woofed down. So, I can't do the stall according to the protocol. So I just retested at +0.5 and he was 104. I know this is likely his breakfast. So ... I went ahead and shot. I will be around all day today if needed, so this will be okay even if he really dips low.

Good advice on seeing we have a sitter - this is one of the things I love about this board ... you took at look at his ss and saw that note, and adjusted your recommendation accordingly. I didn't think of that, but you are right ... we want him as stable as possible when the sitter is here, and that means not doing something different today.

Thank you!
Lisa

Well, that's another good thing about this board, is that you get extra eyes. ;-)

Remember, next time, if you stall (which I don't do a lot of myself) then you do not feed. You did fine.
I would start your testing today with a +1 or maybe +1.5.
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 Need Dose Advice!!!

Good luck today. Maybe Leo will earn a reduction today so you will have a lower dose for the pet sitter.
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 Need Dose Advice!!!

Dyana said:
Well, that's another good thing about this board, is that you get extra eyes. ;-)

Remember, next time, if you stall (which I don't do a lot of myself) then you do not feed. You did fine.
I would start your testing today with a +1 or maybe +1.5.

Yes, and I KNEW that a stall gets no food, after our adventure on the 8/25 PM cycle when I didn't shoot after 2 hours of stalling. But I brain farted today. My DH is here so this is good that he hears me reading the stickies out loud, and comparing Leo's numbers and trends to the protocol. He's starting to get with the program :smile:

I'm going to go running for an hour, but DH will do the +1 testing and I will be back for +2. I think it's better I run out now than to wait when the insulin takes hold.

Thank you Dyana!
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 Need Dose Advice!!!

Nice shooting!! How about getting a +1 and +2? Any time you shoot low, you want to get early tests.
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 Need Dose Advice!!!

Update: 60 at +1. gave 1 tsp of HC

Summary
AMPS 80
+1 60 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 Need Dose Advice!!!

Summary
AMPS 80
+1 60 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
+1.5 54 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 Need Dose Advice!!!

Thanks for sticking around, Dyana -

Summary
AMPS 80
+1 60 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
+1.5 54 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
+2 51 gave 3 small bits of cheese, tsp of mc (hc mixed with lc)
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +1.5 54 +2 51 Need Dose Advice!!!

Thanks, Carla for the dose reduction wishes. That was a good idea from Dyana on the notion of being able to reduce the dose for the sitter. He would have fallen below 50 without intervention I think, so perhaps that would be a decrease. Time (and expert advice) as the day goes on will tell. But I am *so* happy that this insulin works for Leo so we aren't searching around for something that works.
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +1.5 54 +2 51 Need Dose Advice!!!

Good job. Test again in 20 or so, k? That hc or mc can wear off, and he could drop. It's very early in the cycle, and the insulin should be starting onset about now.
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +1.5 54 +2 51 Need Dose Advice!!!

Dyana said:
Good job. Test again in 20 or so, k? That hc or mc can wear off, and he could drop. It's very early in the cycle, and the insulin should be starting onset about now.

Good - I'm glad to hear that from you. It's what I was thinking was the right thing, but having the confirmation is good.

I plan to test again in 20 and if his numbers are the same-ish, I will do another mc. If they are lower, I will do a hc. If they are starting to go up, I'll do a lc [Edited to change hc typo to lc]. The goal as I understand it is to steer his curve and get him surfing without sending his BG through the roof on recovery. If they keep rising, I'll test less often. But since we're still early in the cycle, I will be vigilant. I re-read the sticky on low numbers and am starting to get the hang of it. Is my plan, for the immediate future, on track? (Knowing full well that plans can change in a microsecond?) :smile:

DH did the +1 test and texted me during my run. I had hoped to get in a complete run before +1/5 or +2, but that little stinker got mommy to run home early!
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +1.5 54 +2 51 Need Dose Advice!!!

I was wondering if he would call you and you would run home :lol: I was wondering if I was posting to him or you.
The part about if he is rising, is off. If his numbers are rising, and he's above say 60, then you could feed lc.

You got it, I think it was just a typo. You're doing good.
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +1.5 54 +2 51 Need Dose Advice!!!

Dyana said:
I was wondering if he would call you and you would run home :lol: I was wondering if I was posting to him or you.
The part about if he is rising, is off. If his numbers are rising, and he's above say 60, then you could feed lc.

You got it, I think it was just a typo. You're doing good.

Yeah - I told him to txt me if he had concerns, and at Leo's +1 value, it was warranted. He won't type here unless it's a real emergency. I told him that he might have to, and I have to show him explicitly. But he's seeing in real-time today how valuable the board is. I'm thankful for that.

Yes, it was a typo. Let me go back and fix that. Thanks, Dyana, for the feedback :-)
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +1.5 54 +2 51 Need Dose Advice!!!

Summary
AMPS 80
+1 60 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
+1.5 54 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
+2 51 gave 3 small bits of cheese, tsp of MC (hc mixed with lc)
+2.4 61 gave 1 tsp LC, will test in 30-40 min
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +1.5 54 +2 51 +2.4 Need Dose Advic

Hi Sienne

Sorry I missed your post - thanks for stopping by with your advice. Just for you, I decided to SHOOOOOT :-D
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +1.5 54 +2 51 +2.4 62 +3 70

Summary
AMPS 80
+1 60 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
+1.5 54 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
+2 51 gave 3 small bits of cheese, tsp of MC (hc mixed with lc)
+2.4 61 gave 1 tsp LC (he didn't finish it), will test in 30-40 min
+3 70 leftover 1/2 tsp LC still out. Nothing else offered

Wow - looking good! I will keep watching him, but he's doing a nice green surf now with two increasing numbers over 50, so I'll test less often. Maybe mommy can go finish her run!

Thanks Dyana, Sienne, Carla and Rhiannon for your help and support!
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +1.5 54 +2 51 Need Dose Advice!!!

rhiannon and shadow said:
Hurray!!!1 A dose reduction.
I've been hoping you would earn one before your trip.

Is this really a reduction? I'd love for that to be true. He didn't actually fall into the 40's, but he would have. His lowest BG was 51. But that's probably close enough?

rhiannon and shadow said:
When you have time later today and numbers are where they should be, read this thread from yesterday.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78265
some good precautionary ideas for your future trip.

Yeah, I read that and felt so bad about that. DH and I talked about it, and there were a couple suggestions we will do. 1) mark a sample syringe with a black sharpie where the dose is supposed to be, for reference. And also to fill a syringe with colored water to the correct dose, also for reference.

The last time DH went away, he pre-filled the syringes because the sitter doesn't want to do that - I think she's scared she would mess it up. Not that she's stupid, but because she realizes how critical the dose is. But I've read about Lantus not being good in syringes after a day, so that is sad. In a pinch, though, that's what I would do if it was only a few days. If the dose becomes less effective (I think the paper reported it becomes out of spec after 3 days), at least it wouldn't trend him towards a hypo.
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +1.5 54 +2 51 +2.4 62 +3 70

Nice shooting! As far as a reduction, the protocol says automatic under 50 for newly diagnosed. While the 51 is close, I'm not sure if it qualifies. Hopefully Sienne, Dyana or other experienced dose advisors will chime in with their thoughts. It might not be a bad idea to take the reduction since your trip is coming up. You might put a ? with dose advice in your subject line to catch their attention.

Have a great day Lisa!
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +1.5 54 +2 51 +2.4 62 +3 70 +4 89

Thanks, Melissa - you too. I was wondering about the 51, but I tested with 2 identical meters one day and they were always at least 2% apart from one another, and a few times up towards 10 percent. So statistically, testing BG, 51 is the same as 50. But let the experts weigh in, but in light of my trip I'm aiming for a decrease. If I decrease tonight (or even keep the same dose and check him closely again) I will have another complete 24 hours to test. Not sure that's enough to believe the current dose will be safe.

Have a good day and thanks for stopping by! I was so sad to hear about Tarragon's diagnosis. I hope you both are feeling good today.

Lisa
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +2 51 +2.4 62 +3 70 +4 89 dose decrease

Summary
AMPS 80
+1 60 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
+1.5 54 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
+2 51 gave 3 small bits of cheese, tsp of MC (hc mixed with lc)
+2.4 61 gave 1 tsp LC (he didn't finish it), will test in 30-40 min
+3 70 leftover 1/2 tsp LC still out. Nothing else offered
+4 89

Leo came through with flying colors! Whew. I felt a lot more comfortable steering this curve and glad I was here to do it.

So, the question ... does Leo get a dose increase? A consideration - I will probably have a non-testing sitter here for 2 1/2 days this week (Tuesday PM through Thursday AM), so am leaning to reducing the dose for safety. He's still a little bouncy from his last couple trips into the green/blue seas so I don't trust him :-| (We'd like to reduce.)
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +2 51 +2.4 62 +3 70 +4 89 dose red

Under the circumstances, since you will soon be dependant upon a pet sitter, and because Leo most likely would have gone below 50 had you not intervened with HC, this morning, go ahead and reduce his dose to 1.75.

Please set up a sample syringe filled with some colored water or juice, and mark some syringes with a black felt pen to the correct dose, as these in between doses are not easy to measure.

It would be great if you could meet with your pet sitter tomorrow, and perhaps maybe hopefully teach her to test, and go over all instructions regarding feeding, and what to do if she suspects a hypo.

You leave Tuesday morning?
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +2 51 +2.4 62 +3 70 +4 89 dose red

Summary
AMPS 80
+1 60 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
+1.5 54 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
+2 51 gave 3 small bits of cheese, tsp of MC (hc mixed with lc)
+2.4 61 gave 1 tsp LC (he didn't finish it), will test in 30-40 min
+3 70 leftover 1/2 tsp LC still out. Nothing else offered
+4 89
+5.3 101
+9 171

PM shot is in 3 hours. I will be taking a reduction from 2.0 to 1.75 units unless someone tells me otherwise. Even tho he didn't technically break 50, he would have if we hadn't intervened. Plus... the non-testing pet sitter issue this week.

Good boy Leo! He's been sleeping like a lazy log all day.

Happy day everyone!
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +2 51 +2.4 62 +3 70 +4 89 dose red

Great job, Lisa and DH! Great shooting and great steering! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Leo is a very handsome fellow.
Liz
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +2 51 +2.4 62 +3 70 +4 89 dose red

Thank you Liz! We are still learning, but I felt pretty good about this one. I told DH what you said ... he won't post here (yet) but he's as pleased as a guy will allow himself to be for props on a cat :smile:

Dyana - yes, I will do what you said. I am trying to prepare as much as I can for someone who isn't trained. She has been our sitter for a while, and I will talk with her more about symptoms. She has shot before. I wrote up an entire "how to " for the furkitties. I printed out the stickies. I will shoot Tuesday AM and hang out at least until +1.5 Then the sitter comes at PM. There is still the possibility of a vet tech but I'm not so sure as she hasn't followed up with me. So, the dose reduction will be some peace of mind.

Thanks for the thoughts ... I'm trying to think of everything but it's great to have more eyes!

Lisa
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +2 51 +2.4 62 +3 70 +4 89 dose red

nicely done today! Tell DH not to be shy, there are daddy beans that post here too. In fact my DH is on a trip and just checked in from the iPad. :lol: :lol:

Just my 2¢, but since Leo didn't technically earn the reduction i might shoot the current dose until Tuesday and then give the sitter a reduced dose to shoot, lots of beans do that. This way he might actually earn the reduction in the meantime. It all depends on where is at shot time of course.
 
Re: 9/2 Leo AMPS 80 +1 60 +2 51 +2.4 62 +3 70 +9 171 PMPS 11

Hi Ann

i agree. I just shot 1.75u on a falling BG. It will be another night of checking frequently. Thanks for your thoughts.

Summary
AMPS 80
+1 60 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
+1.5 54 gave 1tsp HC, will test in 20 min
+2 51 gave 3 small bits of cheese, tsp of MC (hc mixed with lc)
+2.4 61 gave 1 tsp LC (he didn't finish it), will test in 30-40 min
+3 70 leftover 1/2 tsp LC still out. Nothing else offered
+4 89
+5.3 101
+9 171
+11 135
PMPS 113
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top