? 9/2 Kit AMPS 118, +2 53, +7 66, PMPS 111, +1.5 74, +3 46, +4 52, +5 51, +6 63

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday's thread

She had a pretty good drop at +2. I probably should have gotten a plus one, but I was tired from being awoken by the sound of a puking cat, and then had to clean up where she decided to pee on the floor around +1. :banghead::banghead:
I have to run a safety training this morning at +3, so I'm leaving medium carb and LC out for her, and a note for my boyfriend to maybe top her off with some higher LC when he wakes up. She's been responding pretty well to carbs, so hopefully that holds her off until I can be home around +7.

Note to self - if still doing this in January, the spring safety training/workshop needs scheduled in the afternoon. :rolleyes:
 
Question - she hasn't actually done it before, but should I be following the drops below 50 three days in a row earns a reduction thing? Just when she drops below 40 reduction? I couldn't find anything that defined when that choice should be made, and I never remember to ask because she doesn't usually have more than 2 days in a row with drops into 40s.
 
Here's the sticky for earning reductions:
Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

For long term diabetics and cats that fall out of remission, the reduction point is more aggressive at 40 (vs 50) on a human meter. Some CGs don't like the idea of their cats dropping to the 30s, so they choose to follow the rule for cats that don't hold reductions viz. 3 drops between 40 and 50 on 3 separate days (not cycles).

Kit hasn't technically earned a reduction yet, but I make the same case that I did for the reduction from 1 to 0.75U. If you don't think you can keep up the same level of testing due to going back to work full time (and you do need sleep!), you could try a reduction and see if she holds it. :-)
 
Here's the sticky for earning reductions:
Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

For long term diabetics and cats that fall out of remission, the reduction point is more aggressive at 40 (vs 50) on a human meter. Some CGs don't like the idea of their cats dropping to the 30s, so they choose to follow the rule for cats that don't hold reductions viz. 3 drops between 40 and 50 on 3 separate days (not cycles).

Kit hasn't technically earned a reduction yet, but I make the same case that I did for the reduction from 1 to 0.75U. If you don't think you can keep up the same level of testing due to going back to work full time (and you do need sleep!), you could try a reduction and see if she holds it. :)

Thanks! I have off until Tuesday, so I think I want to hold it and see how she does tomorrow and maybe Monday, and then make the decision. Luckily my mornings are relatively free this upcoming week, so if I do need to reduce, then it gives me a few mornings to let her drain the depot just a bit. But yeah, that sleep thing is necessary! I'm not longer that spring chicken that can survive on 4ish hours of sleep. :joyful::joyful:
 
Back
Top