9/2 Jetson's First Curve - all Blue so far

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Jetson

Member Since 2011
Happy Friday night everyone :smile:

I am almost done with my very first curve. I think Jetson is finally getting used to me poking his ears, with a freeze-dried chicken bribe of course.
I haven't totally got the technique down, so a few times, I didn't get blood from the poke - and he got mad a squirmed away :YMSIGH:

Thanks to the great instructions on the sticky's, I have set up a spreadsheet for Jetson - although I've just really started testing so there's not too much info yet.
I've read others here have figured out a way to get mid-cycle shots, but I haven't been successful on a work day so far. I'm up early, ~O) ~O) for me and then test, food, shot for Jetson and run to work. Hubby is squeamish and won't test (I'm working on that). So, home from work, test, food (around 8p), shot. I guess I must be in deep REM I-) at 2a as the alarm I set didn't make an impression. I didn't set the loud alarm so to not wake hubby, but...

Does anyone have a good method to get mid-cycle testing done?
Also, is it better to test at certain hours in the cycle to get better info? I tested every other hour today and results are pretty flat:
AMPS 181 (4u shot)
+2 183
+4 136 (lunch BFF tuna and salmon 3oz can)
+6 162
+8 152
+10 164

Appreciate all the info and advice on here.
Hope everyone has a safe and happy holiday weekend dancing_cat

Michelle, Jetson and the girls
 
Hi Michelle:

Welcome to LL. I can't remember if I've visited you and Jetson yet. Somehow, I lost that brain cell!

Nice numbers for Jetson. I think most of the folks who work and don't have someone at home to test just try to get as many tests before they go out the door so they may make the shot time early enough that they can at least get a +2 and also hopefully a +3 before they go. If your DH is home mid-cycle...well, there's your answer and that's what I do. My DH runs the Gracie show when I'm at work and nights when I'm working the next day.

When Mike is gone (he's an airline pilot) and I'm here alone with her then I stay at home if she's running below 200 or coming down out of a bounce so I can test. I can't stay up all night when she's low so I sleep/test. I use my smart phone alarm and sleep with it in my hand on vibrate.

You're doing great. Do you have a profile for Jetson? For a long time, my Gracie was the youngest FD in the group and she is a steroid induced FD. Just wondering what caused Jetson's at such a young age? I think Spike is also the new youngun...he's just a little over a year old.
 
Hi Michelle! I'm still new at this so I don't have advice. I work from home most of the time, so that has made it easier for me with testing. Welcome to the boards though! These are a great bunch of people who have been invaluable to me as I've started down this road of living with FD.

My cat's name is Jetta. I wonder how many times I'm going to be in a hurry and try to edit Jetson's condo before I figure out I'm in the wrong place? lol!
 
nice numbers today. :smile:

I'm still concerned about shooting blind when he is running in these numbers and on this dose. They are great numbers, but they are the kind of numbers that can easily surprise you with a green preshot reading one of these days. I can understand not being able to test mid cycle (I work too), but will you be able to at least get preshot readings every shot?

What I do to get mid-cycle tests is I just grab them whenever I can. I test on weekends when I'm around, and in evenings. If you're heading out to work at +1 then grab a test then. If you walk in the door at +10 grab a test then. If you happen to be home for lunch, grab a test. Stop home between errands on the weekend? Test. All of those random tests can put together a good picture of what is going on. It's a good habit to test right before you fall into bed every night. Many cats run lower at night than during the day, so that test can give you a ton of information.

Good job today, though!
 
Nice cycle today!! I work as well. I try to get as many tests as possible before I walk out the door and I usually get home right before shot time. I also test a lot during the early part of the cycle because Gabby is prone to early drops. It's also good to not always test at the same times -- you want to have some idea of where numbers are at various times.

One small suggestion. The blues on your SS are dark and it's hard to read the numbers. You may want to manually change the color of the text to white so it's easier to read. (I do this with the blues and greens on Gabby's SS.)
 
Re: 9/2 Jetson PMPS 164

Thanks Marjorie, Jaclyn, Libby, and Sienne for sharing your tips.

I'll keep trying to get as many tests as I can. Do you ever get over feeling bad about poking your baby? He gives me those big doe eyes and I just want to cry!
I did try the "cell alarm on vibrate" method, but alas I kept on sleeping ohmygod_smile
Hubby has come around to helping with shots, so I'm hopeful he'll do testing too (may have to resort to treats for both my boys).
I will fix the colors on the ss so it's easier to read - thanks for pointing that out.
A question: what is a condo?
Also, are there I instructions for creating a profile for Jetson? Some of yours are pretty awesome :smile:
Thanks again!
 
Nice going Jetson! Good work Michelle. Yeah, he'll quit giving you those eyes...and the longer you do it, the less he'll notice it.

A 'condo' is a thread....took me a while to figure out that too. I kept looking for a link I was missing somewhere... :roll:
 
the "condo" thing tripped me up too! i guess it's because it's like a neighborhood. at least that's what i decided.

i've seen jill suggest the water alarm method - i think she had a cuter name for it, but it's a nice big glass of water at bedtime designed to wake you up a few hours later!

has anyone suggested the neosporin ointment with pain relief to you yet? i'm also missing that brain cell so am not sure. that stuff is fabulous for taking the owie out of the pokes. we slather it on at night, let the ear heal overnight and it's very obvious that it keeps punkin from hurting as much the next day. you can put it on during the day if you want, just wipe off most of it before you poke or it will clog the test strip.

i had my husband help hold punkin for the first little while while i tested punkin. i needed the help! eventually he volunteered to try. he got the poking down fine. then i had him hold a light while i gave the shot. he watched me for months, but finally did it. now he gives all the shots and we both do the tests. maybe your husband would desensitize that way too.
 
Thanks Julie! You give me hope :smile:
I didn't know about the neosporin. Makes total sense tho. And I just happen to have a tube...
Maybe if he feels better, he won't run away next time I rub his ears :-D

I totally can't read words anymore - goodnight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top