9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +5.75(48) PMPS(331) +7(180)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
9/1 Hershey

HAPPY SUNDAY!!!!

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: Thank y'all, again, for all of the support you gave us yesterday! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

When I came in to give Hershey his 3am shot, he was on the futon. Oreo circled around (I call him a shark because he bumps the side of his body hard against your leg. You KNOW you've been hit!) while I tried to get the dose right (Even with the calipers, it took my tired eyes almost :10! @-) ) but Hershey waited for me to come pick him up to be tested. I figured his foot still hurt.

Let me insert - I don't know WHAT Doug has done to my cat during these weeks he's been shooting! I have ALWAYS shot Hershey WHILE he ate. NOW, he refuses to eat until AFTER you've given him his shot! :o I've seen him move with Doug once or twice and fear he'll do that with me, but 2/2 shots he's stayed still. Hoping that continues! I'm having a hard time figuring exactly where to place the needle since I'm used to him standing on all four feet kind of hunched over instead of sitting upright. Guess I just need more practice...

After his shot, he ate a few bites and walked away. Since I was behind him and he didn't walk far, I couldn't tell if he was still favoring that foot. Anyhoo - I came in here to record his numbers and start my condo. The sound of eating had changed, so I went to make sure it was still Oreo in Oreo's bowl. Well - Hershey had gone around the table (where I couldn't see him) to get to Oreo's bowl as Oreo walked away. THAT'S why it sounded different! He couldn't have gotten more than a bite or two of the 7%, but still - after I was feeling bad for his hurt food - INDEED! I didn't see him retreat to the chair, so still don't know about the foot.

I hope y'all have a fabulous day -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

He was (70) at +9.75, so I hadn't a clue what the AMPS would be...

AMPS (135) +12 - Shot .65u at 3:05am - 1/16th tsp Miralax
+4 - slept through alarm :roll:
+4.75 (59) - fed + tsp 7% +2 tsp 19%
+5.25 (51) - 2tsp HC
+5.5 (53) - fed 2tsp HC. Needed to leave, so gave another T HC.
+5.75 (48) - Left T HC mixed with 1/4 meal
+7 Auto-feeder with FF Classic Turkey & Giblets (Looks untouched)
+9 Auto-feeder with FF Classic Turkey & Giblets (Looks untouched)
* Oreo's Auto-feeder (+7 FF T&G) wasn't finished, either, nor was the 1/4 reg meal
+11.75 (314) - Not surprising with the tsp 7% + 4 T 19%. Sure hated loading him up like that when he's been looking SO good! :sad:

PMPS (331) +12 - Shot .65u at 3:05 pm - 1/16th Miralax. Fed +9 meal from Auto-feeder, which he ate most of. 3rd time below (50) in 3 days. Reduction? Didn't occur to me until after I had shot. Now trying to sort out the mess that was his SS...
+5 (199) - fed, but not interested at all
+7 (180)
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135)

Sounds like you're off to a running start today. That's funny about your little Shark. Charlie's like that too sometimes. Lately when it's time to give a shot, Charlie jumps right up into her little chair where we test her. Sometimes in the middle of the night if she really needs food (I suspect when she's going low), she's already in the chair when I get there.

I think it's probably better to shoot before you feed. We feed the tuna treat and test Charlie's blood sugar. Then after that, we shoot. Then again, this is the only thing that works for us right now, so it's our routine. It's funny that routines change when there are 2 of you. Sometimes my partner does it differently and then it's hard to get charlie to understand what the rules are. Then again, now she's becoming quite the flexible little kitty.

Good luck today with little hershey and hope you all have a great afternoon.
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.75(59)HC need to leave

+4 - slept through alarm :roll:
+4.75 (59) - fed + tsp 7%

Okay, so maybe the day isn't off to the best start. Couldn't get to sleep, then slept through the +4 test alarm, so test/feed +4.75. Need to leave in ~:15, but can't leave him at (59)...Gave him the tsp 7% but going to break out the HC. MAN! I hate to do that...

And, will leave auto-feeder with extra food...
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.75(59)HC need to leave

The HC sounds like a good plan. Will you or Doug be home soon?
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.75(59) +5.25(51)

+5.25 (51) - 2tsp HC (4 tsp total)

I'll be the first one home and it'll be close to +12. Have auto-feeder set for 1.5oz FF Turkey & Giblets at 10am and 1.5oz at noon. Should've left :15 ago, HAVE to leave in the next :10. What timing he has...
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.75(59) +5.25(51)

I don't know Libby. If my cat was 51 and dropping and I had to leave for the rest of the day, I'd try to abort the cycle, and leave out some MC at least.

Surf Nicely, Hershey.
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.75(59) +5.25(51) +5.5(53)

Oh glad you're still here. I hope you got my message.
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.75(59) +5.25(51) +5.5(53)

:shock: WOW on your morning! Quite the set of numbers there. I too would leave out MC/HC, a for sure. Good luck - hope everything works out OK. Up Hershey!

Have a great day Libby.
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.75(59) +5.25(51) +5.5(53)

Oh Hershey! You're such a silly, sneaky kitty...stealing Oreo's food! Hope you're behaving yourself while your beans are away and I hope you're resting your foot/leg so that it feels better, too!

Hope you have a good day, Libby! ~Deborah & Shasta
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.75(59) +5.25(51) +5.5(53)

Sounds like an exciting Sunday at your place Libby! Perhaps the contraband will help to keep his numbers steady while you''re out and about?! Surf safely Hershey and rest up that paw buddy! Hope you have a great day Libby :-D
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.75(59) +5.25(51) +5.5(53)

Surf safely Hershey! Sounds like a crazy Sunday at your house. Have a great day Libby!
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.75(59) +5.25(51) +5.5(53)

Hi Libby!

A couple of condos ago, Hershey had that late "out of nowhere" number in the 40's, and you questioned whether or not to reduce. He didn't bounce so you didn't have to shoot through it :smile: after that discussion. Looks like he saved the small bounce for the next cycle, and you shot through that last night.

Yesterday, I missed the excitement as he threw you another number in the 40s (at least it wasn't "late" in the cycle!).

Today, it looks like he would have gone there with the earlier than normal descent into the 50s, I think, had you not caught the drop and fed it.

I posted this the night of the first adventure:
I don't think you have to reduce, Libby. If Hershey doesn't agree with that, he'll let you know soon enough though.

See what the others think, because I'm not any sort of authority on dosing, but I think Hershey might be trying to tell you something? Maybe just a shave?

Carl
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +5.75(48) PMPS(331) no kidding!

Hey, Jill - Aren't the kitties funny with their individual personalities? Mine are as different as my kids! Hershey reverted back to old him at PMPS. He went to eating and I shot while he ate. He likes to keep me guessin' ;-) Thanks for stopping by!

Hey, Dyana - Thanks for checking in on us so quickly this morning. Hershey has this thing about pulling Shenanigans on Sat night/Sun morning. I guess he thinks he should party on the weekend? :roll: Sorry I didn't get your other notes, but thank you for keeping a check on us. :-D I wish I had a 'BG cam' (you know, like a Nanny Cam) that could tell me how his numbers were while I was gone. I guess he got full off of the HC, that's why he snubbed the 1/4 reg meal, the +7 and the +9 auto meals. Not used to him getting full when his numbers drop. But, he HAS been eating less since he's had longer spells of nicer numbers.

Hey, Angela - Thanks for coming over today. I have been so pleased with Hershey's numbers the last few days, excited that his pancreas was getting a break. That's why I felt so bad about pumping him up with the HC this morning, but didn't really have a choice. :YMSIGH:

Hey, Michelle - Good to see you. What a little stinker Hershey was this morning! Doug is still out of town (leaving me as the responsible parent), we attend 9am service, Jessica teaches 11am and I was filling in for someone during the 11am. What a morning for him to decide to pull something...Thankfully, he did come up. Don't know if it was from the HC or from a liver dump, but I was glad to see him acting like himself when we came home! Of course, he didn't have to come up quite so much...

Hey, Deborah - Thanks for stopping by. Hershey is VERY sneaky - I call him a 'tricksy hobbit!' We have to watch him every minute Oreo's food is out. He'll even look back and forth from the bowl to us to see if we're watching him. Then, he inches to the bowl hoping not to attract attention. Or, he'll just happen to groom himself near the bowl until we let our guard down! :roll:

Hey, Tamara - Thanks for coming by. Yes, more drama at my house..as if there wasn't enough already...

Hey, Melissa - Yes, ma'am, the day did start out crazy. Well, he didn't exactly surf nicely, but he was okay when I got home, that's the main thing. Thanks for checking in on us.

Hey, Carl - Glad to see you! I remember that discussion a few days ago. Sienne had posted about 3 days below (50) or once below (40). That's why I started keeping track of cycles below (50) on his SS. In the excitement that was this morning, it didn't occur to me that this was the 3rd time. Maybe I should've shot a reduced amount, but he was definitely bouncing enough to warrant the full dose. From (48) to (331) in 5 hours. Good grief, was that REALLY necessary?! Yes, I'm thinking a shave, too, and see how he likes it. Doug left the calipers locked down to the .65u dose, figuring if I needed to shave it while he's gone that I could go with .5u and just trust the syringe. I know it's just one cycle, one number, but it's a big, fat, ugly PINK! and I hate feeling responsible for putting it there. :YMSIGH:


Catch-up:
+5.5 (53) - fed 2tsp HC. Needed to leave, so gave another T HC.
+5.75 (48) - Left T HC mixed with 1/4 meal
+7 Auto-feeder with FF Classic Turkey & Giblets (Looks untouched)
+9 Auto-feeder with FF Classic Turkey & Giblets (Looks untouched)
* Oreo's Auto-feeder (+7 FF T&G) wasn't finished, either, nor was the 1/4 reg meal
+11.75 (314) - Not surprising with the tsp 7% + 4 T 19%. Sure hated loading him up like that when he's been looking SO good! :sad:

PMPS (331) +12 - Shot .65u at 3:05 pm - 1/16th Miralax. Fed +9 meal from Auto-feeder, which he ate most of. 3rd time below (50) in 3 days. Reduction? Didn't occur to me until after I had shot. Now trying to sort out the mess that was his SS...

THANKS, Everybody, for checking on us today! And, thank you for asking about Hershey's foot. He seems to be feeling fine now, no longer favoring it. I haven't used the flashlight/magnifier and examined it closely, yet. I've been trying to make sense out of what transpired this morning, updated his SS, etc.

Joseph has come :-D and gone :sad: . He had driven 1-1/2 hours to get here and was anxious to get the 3-hour drive back to school over with - and hopefully beat the storm. I could use a nap, but it's 5:15pm, so guess I should think about some supper...

Hoping to get by to see y'all later!
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +5.75(48) PMPS(331) +5(199)

Nice job coming off that bounce, Hershey! Looks like his appetite has decreased since he's improved overall numbers-wise? He's maintaining weight, no?

Carl
 
Re: 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +5.75(48) PMPS(331) +5(199)

One has to love bounces.... not. He sure did clear ti well, judging from that +5. Well done Hershey! And I know on the HC: sometimes it just can't be avoided. Happens with Mannie too - I don't care for it, but one does what one has to do. Good job today, a stressful one I am sure, but still good.

Have a great evening!
 
You're right, Carl. It does seem his appetite has decreased in the nicer numbers. No, his weight isn't staying consistent. He's going from 9.5 to 11 pounds. We were thinking 12 pounds was pretty close to his ideal weight, but he can't seem to hold on to 11 pounds. He weighed 9.5 at the vet mid-Aug. I weighed him a couple of weeks ago at 11 pounds, but I don't know how far off my scale is from hers.

Michelle, he does seem to be clearing the bounce quickly. I was thinking...hoping...he'd go lower at +7, but (180) is surely better than (331). :-D Thanks for the encouragement!

+7 (180)

I was thinking he'd be lower...now, I'm not sure if I should shave or not...
 
Re: SHAVE? 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +5.75(48) PMPS(331) +7(180)

Libby,
I think it's still "bounce clearing". He just isn't finished yet. I would've shaved after the first 40, but that's just me. I'm pretty aggressive with PZI/Prozinc dose advice, but don't feel nearly comfortable enough with the L's and dosing, so I tend to be conservative.

Maybe somebody else will weigh in before shot time...

Carl
 
Re: SHAVE? 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +5.75(48) PMPS(331) +7(180)

Given that Hershey is on a small dose, I'd shave. At this point, you want to be attempting to keep Hershey on insulin as long as possible to support his pancreas. I'd also like to see more green on your SS.
 
Re: SHAVE? 9/2 Hershey AMPS(135) +5.75(48) PMPS(331) +7(180)

Hey, Celi!

Carl - Been thinking...shave? not? shave? not? But, I came here to follow the protocol to give Hershey his best chance...He had 3 cycles under (50), so I'll shave him to .5u as of AMPS and see what he thinks...
 
So glad I don't have to squint at those mini-doses with my old eyes... but what a problem to have! ;-)

Leave it to Hershey to have a 40 or 50 and no symptoms of hypo. Good work dancing on your toes Libby - does he EVER let you come down on the rest of your foot? :lol:

Consider this condo visit my condo! While Grayson is still dancing in the yellows, although he snatched a blue for at least one hour today, there's not a lot to tell... and when I have, it's been on his Acro condo. But at least I still check in on my friends!

Hershey buddy - WOO HOO on the :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: ! Been there, it felt good, but he's hiding right now. Hopefully we'll find him again soon!

Your pal,
Grayson
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top