9/2 Garth AMPS 431, +6 322

Status
Not open for further replies.

StefO

Member Since 2017
it's me and garth's adoptiversary !!!

getting a lot of the same numbers >:(

thinking i will increase after a curve on monday
 
Where can I find syringes that measure .25 units? I only have syringes that measure by the .5 unit.

The last few evenings when I've checked his BG around 1am, (+5) it is still in the higher 300s, last night it was 395, when his PMPS was 346. So it went up.

I was wondering if @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey might be right that he could need more insulin.
 
Where can I find syringes that measure .25 units? I only have syringes that measure by the .5 unit.

The last few evenings when I've checked his BG around 1am, (+5) it is still in the higher 300s, last night it was 395, when his PMPS was 346. So it went up.

I was wondering if @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey might be right that he could need more insulin.
They don't make syringes with 0.25 u marks on them. With practice you can eyeball half way between half unit marks fairly well. Consistency in estimating is more important than absolute accuracy.
 
Where can I find syringes that measure .25 units? I only have syringes that measure by the .5 unit.

The last few evenings when I've checked his BG around 1am, (+5) it is still in the higher 300s, last night it was 395, when his PMPS was 346. So it went up.

I was wondering if @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey might be right that he could need more insulin.
The only concern I have is that sometimes too much insulin can look like too little. I am concerned about the consistently high numbers, but as Wendy said, by taking such large increases, you could have missed the purrfect dose.

I know you work at night and your husband has a bit of trouble testing Garth. Is there one night a week when you are home and could grab at least a couple of random tests? Maybe a +2 and a +5 or +3 and +7 etc. (set an alarm if you can get up to test).

If you chose to increase, your next dose should be 3.25. If you have a problem with eyeballing a .25 unit change, you can get a set of digital calipers. Here is a post on how to use them: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/ You can find them online or purchase them at places like Harbor Freight.

Are you testing for ketones? With consistently high numbers, it's a good idea to do so.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top