9/2 Elmo.AMPS HI. +2 581 +5 347 + 8 261 PMPS 253 . +2 163. + 3 156 +4 168

Beth 73

Member Since 2016
Elmo has been HI since yesterday . We got a dose decrease because he fell below 90 on Saturday ? These consistent HI are not good . Advise please. Will be shooting 1.0 in 30 minutes unless hear otherwise .@carfurby @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
My understanding (o_O) is these numbers call for an increase?
Although number were good yesterday and Elmo earned a reduction... I woul keep at 1.25_ he has only been 1.25 for two days?
 
Beth I quite honestly think what you are seeing is just an excessive reaction to the low BG of yesterday. Elmo spent a good portion of the day cycle in great numbers yesterday and he's not used to that. His body now assumes his BG should be higher because that's how it's been functioning for a while. His defense system is on high alert and has to basically re-learn that those low numbers are safe. That only happens with time. The fact that he is getting to those good numbers is good news and as much as those high numbers are annoying, frustrating and even a bit scary, they are normal.
I'd hold with 1u for now. Elmo was pretty close to the warning level yesterday and while he wasn't in any danger, it has set off a big bounce. I personally think it's better to lower the dose and let him settle and if he needs it raised again, then so be it but for now I'd ride this out.

ETA I wrote yesterday above when the long cycle of "normal' BG was actually 2 days ago and then Elmo reached blue again yesterday. Looks like the first bounce started to clear and then he bounced again sending him real high.
 
Last edited:
Thank you both. It's just gut wrenching when that little meter beeps HI and I want to be sure I'm doing what's best for him . Guess we will stick with 1.0 this AM and see what today brings . Vines and prayers much desired and appreciated :bighug:
 
I agree with Linda. You need to give him time to clear the bounce and see what he does. Remember dosing is based on the nadir not the PS numbers. I know it's frustrating to see those yucky high numbers, but Elmo is showing progress giving you some lower numbers. Hang in there. :bighug::bighug:
 
I agree, looks like a bounce off yesterday's low. I would hold for at least the recommended 6 cycles. Maybe get a ketone check. If that's fine there's not too much harm in being high for a bit.
 
Also something to think about in advance, when/if you do increase in a couple cycles, maybe split the difference and only go up a quarter to 1.125u?
 
I agree, looks like a bounce off yesterday's low. I would hold for at least the recommended 6 cycles. Maybe get a ketone check. If that's fine there's not too much harm in being high for a bit.
Thanks, Justin ....have you and Sebastian in my heart today ...vines and prayers sent:bighug: You are a Super Bean :bighug:
 
Actually Beth, I found the calipers helped immensely with those in between doses that were so hard to see clearly. Any small digital calipers with a locking mechanism will work fine.
 
QUESTION : What BGs do y'all need to help Elmo today ? +2 ? +3 ? Don't want to over or under test. Getting ready for SQ and ABs in ab 15 minutes...he came in ab 30 minutes ago and ate a bit on his own ...
 
Harbor Freight! Now ur speaking my language , Carla !

Love my HF calipers! I ordered a bigger calipers from Amazon - didn't care much for them - just too heavy...the HF ones are quiet nice, lightweight, fit in the kit perfectly and are reasonably priced. Be sure to get some extra batteries for it - my digital background light seemed to burn out too soon - luckily we happened to have those tiny batteries on hand :)
 
+5 347....time for Thyroid meds so grabbed a+5....next test suggestions?
 
Last edited:
Thanks , Justin :) I am grateful for the slower descent today , for Elmo and my sake :) Hope Sebastian is better:bighug:
 
Great news on the eating! And the slide down. Elmo does like the rainbow.:rolleyes:

Since you are following SLGS for dosing, you would hold this dose another 10 cycles or five days, then evaluate the dose. Unless he earns another reduction before then. Paws crossed you’ll see blue again soon.
 
Great news on the eating! And the slide down. Elmo does like the rainbow.:rolleyes:

Since you are following SLGS for dosing, you would hold this dose another 10 cycles or five days, then evaluate the dose. Unless he earns another reduction before then. Paws crossed you’ll see blue again soon.
Thank you , Wendy :)
 
I'd get a +2 and if it is about the same or lower than PMPS be ready to test more during the night. If it is higher, you should be safe to go to sleep.
 
Yup, that sounds about right. He probably went lower than the 261 at +8 and is on the way up now. So +2 will tell you if he's spiking again and you can sleep or if he's going to stay low and needs to be watched
 
I'd get a +2 and if it is about the same or lower than PMPS be ready to test more during the night. If it is higher, you should be safe to go to sleep.
Thank you Carla :) If thru the night how often would you test ?? I don't want him to go too low to avoid another bounce right now .Your thoughts ?
 
There's not simple answer. It depends on how fast he comes down if he does come down. If it's 100 points or more, you'll need to feed some to slow the drop and test more often. If it is less than that, you're probably okay to wait until +4 or so to test.
 
There's not simple answer. It depends on how fast he comes down if he does come down. If it's 100 points or more, you'll need to feed some to slow the drop and test more often. If it is less than that, you're probably okay to wait until +4 or so to test.
Thank you, thank you Guardian Angel Carla :bighug: Feel like a newbie...heck, in Lantus Land I AM a newbie :woot:
 
+3 156 Gave 1 teaspoon food ....test at +4 ....when is it safe to stop testing and feeding ??
 
Last edited:
+3 156 Gave 1 teaspoon food ....test at +4 ....when is it safe to stop testing and feeding ??
Nice recovery Elmo :cool:. IDK what he is going to do. See what +4 is and I think you should have a good indication. I am in California but am completely messed up with the time difference. I may be awake in an hour.

Sheesh, and I thought Houston was hot. This is insane! Almost 9p here and still 99° :facepalm::eek::rolleyes:
 
Nice recovery Elmo :cool:. IDK what he is going to do. See what +4 is and I think you should have a good indication. I am in California but am completely messed up with the time difference. I may be awake in an hour.

Sheesh, and I thought Houston was hot. This is insane! Almost 9p here and still 99° :facepalm::eek::rolleyes:
Awww, Lizzie :bighug::bighug::bighug: Thanks for weighing in :bighug: It's like I've never done this ...I thot I'd never forget ! I'll check at + 4 ....what number should I be looking for ? He has been bouncing like a mad man so don't want him to stop too low ...just not sure what " too low" is . Hsve fun in Cali !!!
 
what number should I be looking for ?
I would look for a slow down in the drop. Leveling out.

Hsve fun in Cali !!!
Too hot for fun-lol. Visiting my Aunt who has terminal cancer. She is doing great. 85yo, breast cancer, lung cancer and brain cancer. Still driving and wants to go to the casino on Wednesday :joyful:. Love her to the moon. We spent the whole afternoon going over family history and ancestry.
 
I would look for a slow down in the drop. Leveling out.


Too hot for fun-lol. Visiting my Aunt who has terminal cancer. She is doing great. 85yo, breast cancer, lung cancer and brain cancer. Still driving and wants to go to the casino on Wednesday :joyful:. Love her to the moon. We spent the whole afternoon going over family history and ancestry.
Oh , I'm so sorry :( Sounds like she's fiesty like my mom was ...she was still driving at 96 when she fell on her way in to beauty shop . I hope y'all go to the casino while there and have a blast ! Will keep her and you all in my prayers ❤️
 
:joyful: :joyful: :eek: Houston Hot is REAL hot :woot:
Sunset tonight. It is hotter here than in Houston!

download_20190902_232631.jpg
 
@LizzieInTexas Now What ?? Safe to stop test feed ? Just test in an hour and make sure he isn't dropping ?? Time for thyroid meds and little food for stomach . What you think ??
 
Back
Top