9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 +2/154 +6/103 +11/74 PMPS 105

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
AMPS 124. BG this morning at +4 was 48 so I believe that means he gets a reduction? He was getting 3.5u. It was suggested in yesterday's post that maybe he is getting too much? SHould I drop to 3.25u or 3u? seems like a lot to give for a BG of 124?
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 ok to shoot 3.25u reduced dose?

Just realized that last night his PMPS was 126 and I shot 3.5u so I shot 3.25u this morning. Reduced because of 48 BG he got earlier.
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 ok to shoot 3.25u reduced dose?

Hi Jennifer! I see that you shot later last night, so you hopefully shot later this am as well. Shots need to be as close to 12 hours apart as possible. A shot given too early acts like an increase, as a shot given late acts as a decrease. Either way, with that 48 last night and the lower amps#, I would keep a close eye on him today.Numbers are :smile: looking good tho!
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 ok to shoot 3.25u reduced dose?

Yes, I shot at 11pm (10:50exactly) last night and actually not until 11:30am this morning (while I was debating on what to do the time got away from me)

I will keep an eye on him today, much easier than staying up all night!
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 ok to shoot 3.25u reduced dose?

Good job today Jennifer.

The depot from a higher dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles although for some cats it is 3-4 cycles. I'd be sure to get a +1 and +2 today as you might see more low numbers.

I'd also like to take a teaching opportunity here :-D Last night you shot a dropping number which is fine. In fact, you could have shot a 139 on time and been ok. However, any time you shoot a dropping number or your lowest number, you should always get a +1 and +2 test. That would have enabled you to feed the curve and keep him from going below 50.

The +10 and +11 numbers are great to get when you can because then you know if he's dropping or getting a second dip. Lantus and levemir are known for these second dips at the end of a cycle. The difference between a second dip and a drop is with a second dip, he would have nadired earlier, come up, then back down but the second dip will be a little higher number than the nadir. With a dropping number, the numbers just keep coming down from one PS to the next so the lower number is at the subsequent PS. Once a caregiver knows their cat's onset, nadir, duration and other patterns, shooting dropping numbers can let you take great advantage of overlap and carryover to get those nice, long flat curves. However, we don't shoot below 50 and a new member should probably not shoot a number dropping into the 50s without posting for help and advice.

Please let me know if you have questions. Great decision to drop the dose and you did the correct amount.
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 ok to shoot 3.25u reduced dose?

JenniferF said:
I will keep an eye on him today, much easier than staying up all night!


I hear ya on that! and also, I wouldve been inclined to reduce to 3u if it were my cat, after that 48, so if he drops again under 50 and you have to carb him up to keep him safe, I would ask for dose advice from someone..(Julie would be the wise one ;-) as I saw her posting to you yesterday) as he may need less than 3u..I would never hesitate to post for help if I needed it..I just dont feel that comfortable with dosing advice when there are others more experienced here. Hope Doodle surfs safely for you today!
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124

Thanks Marjorie! Nice to see your post! Just like old times! :-D I always welcome anything piece of information I can learn from. I don't always comprehend it immediately but looking back from when I first started here I understand MUCH more than I did!

I stayed up with him all night. I gave him a slightly higher carb food. He usually eats Tiki cat puka puka which I think has virtually no carbs so I gave him holstic select which I think has about 13%.I was looking at the food chart yesterday so I don't remember exact %.

I marked down on a sticky note to test +1, +2, +10 & +11 also +6 I figured for nadir although his low numbers were coming at like +8 or +10 previously so it will be interesting to see how he does with FDMB TR
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 +2/154

Duh.... :oops: :oops: :roll: :roll: stoopid me. I was still getting my brain boost (caffeine) and forgot you were our Jenn as in Jenn and Mikey. Lots of Jennifer's, Jenns, and Jens in LL these days. Sorry....didn't mean to respond like you were a newbie. :-D
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 +2/154

looks like Doodle did well last night - it's always great when you see a cat start down the dosing scale. Let's hope he holds this reduction!

I'm glad Marje mentioned the +1 and +2 - i totally forgot to say that last night. my bad!

You're doing great, jenn! :-D
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 +2/154 +6/103 +10/73

There are still a lot of Jennifer's out there, lol

Yes, always good to repeat the necessary guidelines. I might have been here before but it's so easy to forget. It's nice that not that much has changed and that I see some familiar faces. I might be up again with Doodle tonight. It's like Mikey all over again but this protocol is much easier for me to follow. Glad I tried another, for the experience and to be able to say I tried.
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 +2/154 +6/103 +10/73 +11/74

The worst part about shooting late....it's 10:30pm and he is at 74. In a way I want him to rise so I don't have to shoot such a low BG but then love to see those green numbers.

Not sure where he will be in an hour but if he hasn't moved much should I still give 3.25u? Just seems like so much. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 +2/154 +6/103 +10/73 +11/74

Well...he's essentially flat for the past hour, so he isn't dropping.

By the way, when he gets into greens, make a habit of giving him 2tsp of regular low carb to help him surf greens.

It's the same set of questions as last night. If you are prepped to monitor and have supplies, there's no reason not to shoot. Just remember that this is the dose he needs in order to get greens. I think you're comparing him to Mikey, who if I recall correctly. Was always on a tiny dose, wasn't he?

If you want to skip or shoot a token dose, that's always an option. But honestly, he looks good. If he were mine, i'd shoot and get a +1 and +2 to make sure he's staying flat. It's your choice.
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 +2/154 +6/103 +10/73 +11/74

Jenn, I should add that I can't stay with you tonight, so if that matters, count it in your decision.
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 +2/154 +6/103 +10/73 +11/74

What is considered a token dose?

I was just looking at Mikey's log and I think the highest he was on was 3.25u or 3.5u but I don't think his PS #'s were ever that low at that dose.

I have to just be sure I can stay awake. I didn't sleep last night. Mikey used to go into the 40's with no other physical issues. For some reason Doodle makes me a little nervous. Maybe that he's FIV+ I feel like he's more delicate (even though he's a big tough guy)
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 +2/154 +6/103 +10/73 +11/74

I added Mikey's SS to my signature. Interesting to see what I did with him. I did shoot 3u when his PMPS was 90. I can't believe he got into the 30's and had no problems.
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 +2/154 +6/103 +10/73 +11/74

A token dose is perhaps 1/4 of the regular dose.

I'm not sure what to suggest for you. Doodle is looking great, but you have to be able to be able to wake up to check him. Jill suggests people drink a giant glass of water to help with that. :lol:
 
Re: 9/2 Doodle AMPS 124 +2/154 +6/103 +10/73 +11/74

Just hate doing this so late because G-d forbid something happens it's a trip (expensive trip) to the ER.

What would 1/4 of 3.25u be?
 
I came back for TR so at +12.5 he was 105 and I shot 3.25u. I will stay up to monitor. The only thing I'm really worried about is him not wanting to eat to keep his BG's up. I fed him about 2 tablespoons of highER carb wet food, I think it's about 13%. He usually gets Tiki which is like 0%.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top