9/2 Cobb AMPS 326 +5 333 +11 386 PMPS 406(3.5uR)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Whew! What a day yesterday was!

As expected, Cobb climbed the ladder last night -- although he wasn't nearly as high as I expected him to be with such a reduced dose. That may change today, of course.

I did not give him any R. I don't want to compound any lingering effects of possible insulin sensitivity. That too may change tonight. :lol:

I'm so proud of him though. He seems like he is feeling great! He isn't begging for any food or scratching at the door to bother us. We had to close the door to our bedroom because we've put Matty on a floor bed next to ours and I'm afraid he's going to get up and walk around. He probably will just wake up, sit up and cry, but why chance it? So at least he's contained to our room. But Cobb's stuff is all in the laundry room across the hall, so...I figure he'd like access to his food and litter box. :lol:

Thank you all for your help yesterday! No lie, I wouldn't mind it if Cobb were a little more sensitive to insulin, and I'd be a happy mamabean if his IAA is breaking!! Only time will tell!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 9/2 Cobb AMPS 326 +5 333 - food ??

So we are feeding Cobb the Friskies SD Turkey and Giblets. Over the past month or so, since we started using the timed feeder, we have noticed how bad it smells!! Is there another brand/flavor that is around the 5% carbs that doesn't smell as bad???

I was looking at Dr. Lisa's site and came across the following brands/flavors that are around the same carbs/phosphorus. Does anyone have any experience with any of them?

Friskies SD Turkey and Giblets is 5% carbs, 189mg phos.

Authority:
Sliced chicken in sauce - 5% carbs, 284mg phos
Lamb and rice - 5% carbs, 231mg phos
^^The "rice" makes me think it would have more carbs in it.

Eukanuba:
Adult Entrée w/Gourmet Chicken - 1% carbs, 239mg phos

Evo:
95% chicken and turkey - 2% carbs, 155mg phos <--this might be my first choice given the low phos content, but I know some cats do better with more carbs on board. Is there really a big difference between 2% carbs and 5% carbs??
95% beef - 4% carbs, 234mg phos
95% duck - 5% carbs, 251mg phos

Am I overthinking the food thing? It's a real possibility :lol:
 
Re: 9/2 Cobb AMPS 326 +5 333 - food ??

There is another food list just updated last month. It's Tanya'scrf.org.

I hope the bounce ends gently and soon.
 
Re: 9/2 Cobb AMPS 326 +5 333 - food ??

I think Dr. Lisa would say there is no difference between a 2% and 5% because the batches vary from batch to batch. But, generally, I found feeding Gracie 5-8% controlled her numbers a lot more than 0-3%. But ECID.

He looked good last night! Mi thought he would until later in the cycle. :-D
 
Yikes!! I gave some R tonight. I didn't feel like I had another choice!

I guess we learned that I don't have to halve the dose if Cobb dips this far again. Maybe 15u would have been better? I know we played it safe, and that was the smart thing to do.

So, I guess here's my next dilemma: it took Cobb 12 cycles to settle into his last dose. That's way longer than the protocol calls for. I didn't see any green the last time Cobb was at 21 units. We skipped over 21.5 and didn't seen any green on 22u. And then after a week on 22.5u, the depot got too big. I suppose the past few days could be the antibodies releasing some of that insulin, right?

So I'm kinda confused on when I should increase again (if the BGs call for it, of course). Did I hold the 22.5u longer than I should have? Per the protocol, yes. But Cobb seems to be setting his own rules - I suppose most IAA/acrocats do. :lol:
 
OK Cobb - time to ditch this bounce. How about heading on down to blues please?

I think Cobb took 6 cycles to fill the depot on his last dose - cause you saw greens 6 cycles after you increased. The protocol does suggest holding up to 10 cycles once you've seen green. Maybe it's 12 with Cobb. I think that it makes sense to hold a little longer if you do see green in the first 6 cycles of a dose. I do see one green on 8/24 on 22U. I think I'd wait 6 cycles before deciding on an increase. With the bounce and depleting the depot with the 1/2 dose, you need wait that long to see what the current dose can do.

I agree with you that maybe next time you might not need a half dose reduction. But the decision on how much to reduce will also depend on how much you can monitor the following cycle. Now you know he'll likely be safe if you do a 1/2 dose reduction. FWIW - we did a 1/2 dose reduction just once on our freefall down. It's all a learning experience and doing the safe thing first.

As for Cobb setting his own rules, I remember Sandy saying that you just go with the flow, and it felt like that for me too. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top