9/2 Celia: Vet said she went into remission as of 8/23.

Angie & Celia (Cruz)

Member Since 2023
Calling on all the FDMB veterans here, please look at my Celia's SS and send any thoughts! My vet isn't a specialist in FD (i.e., she's young and has only had 1 remission in the past), but her guidelines for remission were 14 days with a BG of 160 or less (I know some ppl say 120 or less). And Celia seemed to hit that # and even lower seamlessly for now going on her 25th day straight tomorrow! I don't want to count my chickens before they hatch, so I thought I'd come back when I could get a minute to get over the shock and get some second opinions here. Thanks!
 
Celia's spreadsheet does. not look like a kitty that has gone into remission, especially since you are using a human meter. The 160 or less might be more relevant if using a pet meter. As Kyle said, the spreadsheet should be a sea of green if you are using a human meter. What you might want to try is a dose we call 0.1 units, and see if that helps bring her numbers down to where they should be.
49822973598_f0540f7a37_w-1.jpg


At this point, Celia's pancreas is what we call sputtering, but remission might not last long if not a strong remission.
 

Attachments

  • 49822973598_f0540f7a37_w-1.jpg
    49822973598_f0540f7a37_w-1.jpg
    11.4 KB · Views: 161
@Wendy&Neko

Very interesting. She was getting the lowest dosage listed on the syringe, which was 0.25U & was barely anything so very hard for me to see it to determine. So there is a lower dose? She's currently using the ReliOn 6mmx31G (15/64"Length Needle x 0.25mm) 1/2ml syringes for U-100 insulin in 10 packs (her insulin is in a 10ml vial) because Walmart was sold out of her former syringes. Is there another size I should get so she can get less than 0.25U when I need to lower her dose (i.e., her nadir goes lower than the set range here on the related pinned post)? Thank you again.
 
Thanks, I saw that, but I just look for "0.1U syringes" (as opposed to a lengthy name like mine have)? The sizes are still so confusing, I have to ask the pharmacy clerks to find them for me (& hope they get it right).
 
The syringes that you're using are the smallest increments that syringes are available. There is no such thing as a "0.1U" syringe. You have to approximate for micro-dosing. The photo that Wendy provided will be a guide.
 
The syringes that you're using are the smallest increments that syringes are available. There is no such thing as a "0.1U" syringe. You have to approximate for micro-dosing. The photo that Wendy provided will be a guide.
Yes, that's exactly what I've been doing from the beginning. She's only gotten between 0.25-0.50U & that's approximate because there's no way for me to tell via the syringe markings. The last dosage she's been getting is the plunger pushed so far up, it's up to the very first line. I just thought maybe there was a different syringe from mine that had more markings or a smaller barrel.
 
@Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Hendrick Cuddleclaw @Diane Tyler's Mom @Bandit's Mom & any other FD veterans you care to tag please!

Hi, could any of you guys please have a look at her #s lately & recent mini-curve? I'm assuming I need to dose up a tad to get her into the greens since she's still in the blues (with the exception of catching her pilfering a housemate's crunchies one day recently yet again, long story), but Idk where to begin. I know you all don't give dosing advise here, but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am just at such a loss :banghead: and my vet is likewise. She has come so far and I don't want to give up.:oops::( Thanks!!
 
Sorry, didn't have time to update my SS this morning, so my SS isn't accurate. I did shoot this morning. I can't find 'depot' in the glossary here. I remember hearing the term here, but not the meaning. Do you mean 5+ days of at least 1 shot a day or 2? As you see, she hasn't gotten a shot a day since the beginning of Aug. so who knows when/if that will be.
 
Back
Top