9/2 Bj AmPs(348), +6.5(427), PmPs(428), +2.5(449)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/2 Bj AmPs(348)

Hope BJ's eyes respond quickly...
It will be interesting to see if his numbers go right back to where they were after the infection clears up.
Poor guy....
 
Re: 9/2 Bj AmPs(348)

Better AMPS for BJ today, hope the AB helps him feel better quickly. WIll be interesting to see how he does on this dose when his infection is under control, surely some surprises await....
Hope you both have a great rest of the day!
 
Re: 9/2 Bj AmPs(348)

Hi Mike,

Those antibiotics are just getting started :thumbup yeay!! I hope by tomorrow Bj`s feeling significant relief, Poooor Baby! You`re doing a good job taking care of him - he's lucky to have you for a bean!!

That was so great you were around in the wee hours last night to help Jill and Charlie. Wish I'd been awake to join in the fun!

Take Care, and give Bj a little pet from us :razz:

Alexa & Reuben
 
Re: 9/2 Bj AmPs(348)

You all are so nice, Bj says thanks so much. BG numbers are crappy but I think the medicine is already helping. Or at least I want to think that. He's been zonked out all day.

+6.5 (427)
 
Re: 9/2 Bj AmPs(348), +6.5(427)

Hi Mike,

Good to hear Bj is having a good sleep, and glad to hear you can tell the a/b is working already, yeay! Have a good night guys, see you tomorrow! :razz:

Alexa & Reuben
 
Re: 9/2 Bj AmPs(348), +6.5(427)

Hiya Mika

You know this, most likely, but just in case: When AB's really kick in and an infection begins to clear up, you can see pretty steep drops. Just keep it in mind, ok? (Even knowing this, IF you were able to keep monitoring closely, you could condiser adding some fat to BJ's dose to help him out of those reds.)

This must be tough on you, too - are you hanging in there? (Any update since yesterday's AM cycle?)

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/2 Bj AmPs(348), +6.5(427)

We're doing okay. Haven't been testing (as you can see) due to his numbers are up and not much I can do about it. I've been toying with the idea of .5u but still on the fence. 55% against I guess, unless it's strongly advised.

A. He wants/needs to rest.
B. Want him to recover quickly so we can get on with it.
C. While the nose is clogged, his appetite and eating routine is off. Hypo situation would be difficult at best. He wouldn't touch his PMPS food last night.

PmPs (428)
 
Re: 9/2 Bj AmPs(348), +6.5(427), PmPs(428)

Mike and Bj said:
We're doing okay. Haven't been testing (as you can see) due to his numbers are up and not much I can do about it. I've been toying with the idea of .5u but still on the fence. 55% against I guess, unless it's strongly advised. A. He wants/needs to rest. B. Want him to recover quickly so we can get on with it. C. While the nose is clogged, his appetite and eating routine is off. Hypo situation would be difficult at best. He wouldn't touch his PMPS food last night. PmPs (428)

Quick question: When BJ was seen by the vet, can you just remind me what tests were done? Blood work? Sample of nasal mucous taken? I'm wondering on what basis the vet prescribed the ABs (which ones is BJ on now?). You mentioned that the vet expects improvement by tomorrow, otherwise he will add more meds - did he say which ones?

I hear your concerns. Ironically, the inappetance is an argument both against *and* for a fattened/increased dose: No food + High BGs = Greater risk of DKA. While BJ luckily has no DKA-history, this is still a factor that keeps popping up in my mind. (Have you got ketosticks, just in case? Could you get a urine test?)

Let's maybe give until tomorrow, as your vet suggested. Will you be taking him in again if you don't feel there is decent progress, or will the vet just prescribe added meds?

I *love* the red panda, by the way! Thanks!
Off to go for a run now but I'll be back on in an hour and a half or so, if you want to continue the discussion.
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/2 Bj AmPs(348), +6.5(427), PmPs(428)

Jane, I'll get back to you tomorrow. But tonight's +2.5 (449) is terrible. So I'll probably increase the dosage. Just too tired tonight, I'll get back to you.
 
No problem, Mike. Sorry you're having such a rough go of it. ((Mike and BJ))

Hang in there. *If* you increase, be sure to give a heads-up here too (I know you would anyway, just 'cause you're so tired, making doubly sure) so we can be here to watch the reactions with you.

Vines and hugs!
Jane
 
Hi Mike,

Hope you guys are hanging in there today and I really, really hope to see BJ getting back to normal after the AB nukes the heck out of all the bad things in his system.
After Charlie had her antibiotic, she seemed much better. Sometimes it takes even more than 2 days if your kitty has had something going on for awhile that hasn't been treated. Take your time and hang in there.

Charlie and I are rooting for you!
Jill
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top