9/2, Binie AMPS 487, +3 329

Heike & BInie

Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-1-binie-amps-447-3-294-6-287.293626/

Good evening,

another high pink and red day. Seems like she needs another increase this week. Tonight I am hopefull she might see some blue numbers.

The day started with a reply from the vet office. Binie should take the antibiotics for three weeks in total. As she is doing well on it, I think that is a good idea to be sure, we catch all the bacteria. I will continue to give probiotica.

I am not happy with how her breast feels. Today I could bribe her with a chewing stick and could touch her breast and examin it with my fingers. There are lots of crusts which mean, that she has or had lots of wounds on her breast. Sometimes I can see her licking, that was already much better before. The wound I took a picture off on her leg is still better but the overall picture of her skin disturbes me. If I don't get a clearer picture during the week, I will go to the vet at the end of the week. I know she is clueless as well but she manages to take a deeper look. She is wrapping Binie in a soft blanket and turns her on the back. Binie has her "I don't like it but it's o.k."-face and the vet can examine her without the usual screaming and fighting. That's why I go there despite all difficulties in communication. At another vet Binie would fight for her life and would need some kind of aneasthesia for the examination. If Binie would be an easier to handel cat, I would go in one of the bigger clinics to get this checked. But I am concerned that this would do more harm than help at the moment. Hopefully the antibiotics help with her skin as well.

I hope everyone has a nice afternoon! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-1-binie-amps-447-3-294-6-287.293626/

Good evening,

another high pink and red day. Seems like she needs another increase this week. Tonight I am hopefull she might see some blue numbers.

The day started with a reply from the vet office. Binie should take the antibiotics for three weeks in total. As she is doing well on it, I think that is a good idea to be sure, we catch all the bacteria. I will continue to give probiotica.

I am not happy with how her breast feels. Today I could bribe her with a chewing stick and could touch her breast and examin it with my fingers. There are lots of crusts which mean, that she has or had lots of wounds on her breast. Sometimes I can see her licking, that was already much better before. The wound I took a picture off on her leg is still better but the overall picture of her skin disturbes me. If I don't get a clearer picture during the week, I will go to the vet at the end of the week. I know she is clueless as well but she manages to take a deeper look. She is wrapping Binie in a soft blanket and turns her on the back. Binie has her "I don't like it but it's o.k."-face and the vet can examine her without the usual screaming and fighting. That's why I go there despite all difficulties in communication. At another vet Binie would fight for her life and would need some kind of aneasthesia for the examination. If Binie would be an easier to handel cat, I would go in one of the bigger clinics to get this checked. But I am concerned that this would do more harm than help at the moment. Hopefully the antibiotics help with her skin as well.

I hope everyone has a nice afternoon! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, I hope Binie does see some blue numbers tonight. It appears she’s headed there on her spreadsheet. Paws crossed.
If you give an increase I hope she surfs calmly to nice blue and maybe some greens :cool::D

I’m glad you heard back from the vet about a plan with the antibiotics. Great idea to keep giving that probiotics to protect her stomach.

I’m sorry to hear she’s still chewing around her breast area. Do you think you could use a tube top like I have on Ivy to keep her crease area covered (I know we talked about a tee shirt you thought wouldn’t work for her).

Ivy absolutely hated that tee shirt which covered her chest and arms. But she’s been unbothered by the tube top for 9 months now.
It would be great if she would stop licking the wound so it could heal.
Maybe something like this top :

Women's Strapless Pleated Sexy... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07PKG1X47?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share
upload_2024-9-2_17-26-52.png


Well you are doing the best job with her care, Heike. So keep doing what you are doing:)

Has she been going on her favorite spot her terrace today?
We are sending you both lots of hugs and love :bighug::bighug::kiss::kiss:
Keep us up to date and sleep well :)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-2_17-26-52.png
    upload_2024-9-2_17-26-52.png
    160.8 KB · Views: 92
Hi Heike, I hope Binie does see some blue numbers tonight. It appears she’s headed there on her spreadsheet. Paws crossed.
If you give an increase I hope she surfs calmly to nice blue and maybe some greens :cool::D

I’m glad you heard back from the vet about a plan with the antibiotics. Great idea to keep giving that probiotics to protect her stomach.

I’m sorry to hear she’s still chewing around her breast area. Do you think you could use a tube top like I have on Ivy to keep her crease area covered (I know we talked about a tee shirt you thought wouldn’t work for her).

Ivy absolutely hated that tee shirt which covered her chest and arms. But she’s been unbothered by the tube top for 9 months now.
It would be great if she would stop licking the wound so it could heal.
Maybe something like this top :

Women's Strapless Pleated Sexy... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07PKG1X47?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share
View attachment 70903

Well you are doing the best job with her care, Heike. So keep doing what you are doing:)

Has she been going on her favorite spot her terrace today?
We are sending you both lots of hugs and love :bighug::bighug::kiss::kiss:
Keep us up to date and sleep well :)

Hi Staci,

thank you so much for checking on us! Yes, we did see some higher blue numbers last night and right now she is also trending towards blue. So something is moving in the right direction.

These wounds really give a headache and I hate I can not examine them properly. Therefore I made a vet appointment on friday and I can always cancel if I feel she is heading in the right direction.

Thank you so much for the idea with the top! After Binie couldn't wear the onsie after surgery, I tried something similar with the help of my neighbor: We cut holes in a tube scarf for her front legs. She needs some kind of legs, because the center of the tiny wounds is in her armpit. So if that is not covered, the most important part is open. I just couldn't manage to put it on. She was screeming and even tried to bite me so I am a little hesitant to try again. But maybe I should try again because otherwise I have to think about the cone again. I just wonder if it really makes a difference on the long run if we don't find out, what is bothering her so much. So far the vet said no to the cone but I will discuss it with her on friday, because something has to happen. In a few weeks it is one year we are dealing with this. :( Sometimes we had a pause for a few weeks, everything looked fine and then it started again. Ivy is such a good girl to wear the top and it really looks cute on her. :cat:

Of course she was on the terrace last night! And guess what, she catched a mouse! Thank god it was not Feivel. :facepalm: I heard a loud noise when she was throwing down flower pots and than she came running inside with the mouse. I tried to take the mouse away from her because of possible parasites but she was hissing at me. On three in the morning this poor thing was Binies early morning snack. I don't know if cats can feel pride but she definitely looked like that.

Hope Ivy is well behaved kitty today and enjoys her naps while mummy has to keep herself awake with coffee. Hope the coming night will be more restful! Sleep well! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
She was screeming and even tried to bite me so I am a little hesitant to try again. But maybe I should try again because otherwise I have to think about the cone again.
Hi Heike, I know she will freak out when you try certain things.
Remember I told you I wear a whole “outfit” to cut her nails. (A sweatshirt with long sleeves and leather workout gloves so she can’t bite me. I look crazy but it protects me).
And then it’s over in 10 minutes :blackeye:
My suggestion may not work for Binie and her armpit area but maybe it gives you ideas you can tailor to her unique situation. I hope so.
Maybe it’s an ace bandage wrapped around her torso if it could cover her armpit? Not sure. Your scarf idea sounds very clever.

Ivy is being food about the current top. But she chewed holes in the tee shirts I made her wear for about 9 months until I figured out an alternative idea. (It kept me up at night just pondering a solution).

And all the vets thought she must have had fleas or allergies. (Nope, just hated the tee shirt).

I hope she has more of a blue streak again tonight. Good for her!
And the mouse escapade. Oh my!!:facepalm:
Now that would totally freak me out (especially the worry of parasites and other bad stuff that could get in her body). I would lose my mind. It’s one reason Ivy stays indoors only.
You are much more calm about all of that I can tell.

I hope you both have a calm night with blue sailing :cool:and no more mouse snacks for her :confused:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike ,it just breaks my heart that Binie HSS these wounds and the vet can't figure out why Binie is getting them. I hope you can figure something out to put on her to stop her from licking them. She must be a good hunter catching that mouse. If you decide to increase her dose best of luck with that .Give her kisses for me :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Hi Heike, I know she will freak out when you try certain things.
Remember I told you I wear a whole “outfit” to cut her nails. (A sweatshirt with long sleeves and leather workout gloves so she can’t bite me. I look crazy but it protects me).
And then it’s over in 10 minutes :blackeye:
My suggestion may not work for Binie and her armpit area but maybe it gives you ideas you can tailor to her unique situation. I hope so.
Maybe it’s an ace bandage wrapped around her torso if it could cover her armpit? Not sure. Your scarf idea sounds very clever.

Ivy is being food about the current top. But she chewed holes in the tee shirts I made her wear for about 9 months until I figured out an alternative idea. (It kept me up at night just pondering a solution).

And all the vets thought she must have had fleas or allergies. (Nope, just hated the tee shirt).

I hope she has more of a blue streak again tonight. Good for her!
And the mouse escapade. Oh my!!:facepalm:
Now that would totally freak me out (especially the worry of parasites and other bad stuff that could get in her body). I would lose my mind. It’s one reason Ivy stays indoors only.
You are much more calm about all of that I can tell.

I hope you both have a calm night with blue sailing :cool:and no more mouse snacks for her :confused:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much Staci for the inspiration and your experience! :bighug::bighug::bighug: This whole wound situation really brings me in a stuck state and I don't know what to do. Binie can be a tough fighter if she really dislikes something. I got bitten by her two times so seriously, I needed medical treatment. And still I am scared that it is not worth the stress for her, because she will go on licking after I removed the cone or whatever I use because we didn't find the reason. Today I didn't see her licking but I am curious, how the vet sees the situation.

Letting Binie catch mice was not really a choice. That's how I met her. It was not negotionable with her. :) When Binie was younger, I spent so many nights catching mice she left running in my appartement. She liked to lie down and watch me doing it. :) I became very skilled over time. :rolleyes: I am so glad for you that Ivy is not interested. One thing less to worry...

Hope you have a relaxed day and hopefully a calm night in your bed! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike ,it just breaks my heart that Binie HSS these wounds and the vet can't figure out why Binie is getting them. I hope you can figure something out to put on her to stop her from licking them. She must be a good hunter catching that mouse. If you decide to increase her dose best of luck with that .Give her kisses for me :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:

Thank you so much Diane! :bighug::bighug::bighug: And yes, Binie is a good hunter. :) Hope everything went well with the surgery! :bighug::bighug::bighug: Binie says thank you for the kisses! :cat:
 
Thank you so much Staci for the inspiration and your experience! :bighug::bighug::bighug: This whole wound situation really brings me in a stuck state and I don't know what to do. Binie can be a tough fighter if she really dislikes something. I got bitten by her two times so seriously, I needed medical treatment. And still I am scared that it is not worth the stress for her, because she will go on licking after I removed the cone or whatever I use because we didn't find the reason. Today I didn't see her licking but I am curious, how the vet sees the situation.

Letting Binie catch mice was not really a choice. That's how I met her. It was not negotionable with her. :) When Binie was younger, I spent so many nights catching mice she left running in my appartement. She liked to lie down and watch me doing it. :) I became very skilled over time. :rolleyes: I am so glad for you that Ivy is not interested. One thing less to worry...

Hope you have a relaxed day and hopefully a calm night in your bed! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, I understand that both of your safety is a priority! It’s so important that neither one of you gets hurt. I’m sorry she hurt you and you needed medical attention.

You know her best. So you must make decisions around her temperament.
I have to do that also with Ivy. It’s why I can’t poke her all day every day. She will bite and scratch me.
And I must keep our relationship civil so I can administer her insulin twice a day.

I don’t know how you can deal with nice in your apartment. You’re a brave woman. I would be standing on the table screaming :facepalm:
I’m such a wimp when it comes to that!
I hope Binie is feeling better so she doesn’t want to lick the wound.

Sending you good wishes and hugs for a restful night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, I understand that both of your safety is a priority! It’s so important that neither one of you gets hurt. I’m sorry she hurt you and you needed medical attention.

You know her best. So you must make decisions around her temperament.
I have to do that also with Ivy. It’s why I can’t poke her all day every day. She will bite and scratch me.
And I must keep our relationship civil so I can administer her insulin twice a day.

I don’t know how you can deal with nice in your apartment. You’re a brave woman. I would be standing on the table screaming :facepalm:
I’m such a wimp when it comes to that!
I hope Binie is feeling better so she doesn’t want to lick the wound.

Sending you good wishes and hugs for a restful night :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci,

you are so right, we also have to keep a good relationship with our kittys! I am always so concerned, that if I overdo it, she will not let me inject her. And I also have a mental barrier to do something which she dislikes at all. Whenever I saw her fighting and screaming at vet offices, I felt like crying. I know there are situations where you can not avoid it but I also feel it damages her. :(

Mice sometimes also make me scream! :rolleyes: One time Binie was jumping in my bed with a living mouse and woke me up. I couldn't stop screaming! :nailbiting: But it was also an advantage, because the mouse was so shocked, I could catch her easily. :) One of my neighbors knocked that night because they thought, something had happened to me. :smuggrin:

I will answer you question about the wound in my update!

Have a good day and give Binie a kiss from me! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top