9/2/2015 NORMAN last night PMPS 260 +4 260 +7 128 AMPS 167 DOSE ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindywith4cutecats

Member Since 2014
Norman is alert this morning, not overly hungry at all. He has eaten ok this morning, not the usual gobbler that he can be with HIGH BG. So We increased his dose last night to 2 units . NOW after having so many purples and so much stress over each dose increase it looks like we have a working dose. Husband and I are arguing , he says decrease his dose by .25 unit this morning and I say he falls in that range that would allow him to keep the dose the same at 2 units this morning and watch him . What would you suspect , keep the dose the same or decrease him ? I am expecting a huge bounce after such a bounce...if you should look at his past numbers on his SS we started out back in 2014 using Alphatrak meter and then switched to relion human meter. SO when I look back how he responds if thats even appropriate at this time . just retested him 45 minutes after eating and he is 202

prev day condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...mps-281-3-307-7-267-pmps-287-increase.140330/
 
Last edited by a moderator:
waited 45 min from his AM BG and retested him, he was 202. So as a result of the 202 I felt it was safe to follow protocol which would be to hold the dose cause his NADIR fell within the 90 to 149 range . Crossing fingers today that we don't see a huge BOUNCE action after such a drop last night, that was a shocker! I never dreamed of seeing of 128 two hours after a 260 since all the drama of getting to a working dose. So Norman has been shot and will be watched. I will retesting throughout the day and have HC food, gravy and syrup ready but I don't think we will need it. Cats never follow the directions, NEVER lol
 
You did fine. His numbers are looking better on this dose. And yes, try to get some extra tests in today.
Don't forget to shoot later tonight, since this morning's shot was late.
 
thank you thank you. Yes we know to shoot later tonight... I am still shocked but oh so glad after this uphill struggle..He is acting great and very talkative to me this morning. Now to get his pancreas to heal up nice.
 
Cindy --

Could you remove the "911"? This isn't a medical emergency. You can either use the "?" or ask for help in your subject line. We try to reserve the 911 for a critical situation.

I agree with Dyana. I would not have messed with the dose. Norman's numbers were heading up between your PM +7 and your AMPS. It looks like it was appropriate to shoot the 2.0u.
 
Are you still using 200 mg/dL as your no shot limit? You may drop that to 150 mg/dL now that you have your basics set up (spreadsheet, signature, posting in the Lantus forum, etc.).
 
Bj....Cindy's not a newbie. Normans back on the juice after being OTJ for months. She's shot plenty lower numbers. Cindy it would have been fine to shoot the 167.... You know what to do w/ that and are a testaholic. I think it just surprised you cause you haven't seen much blue lately. No you don't change dose just because of the blue....dose reductions are earned only if he drops below 50 in a cycle. Glad Norman's liking this dose.
 
Last edited:
Norman is bouncing a little but I know its a bounce and I know it will take a few cycles to clear out. He is doing better and I knew better this morning to go ahead and shoot the 167 but hubby was arguing with me lol men don't understand how insulin works lol...I do know on low numbers that the dose is working and just because he dropped like 130 points doesn't mean he will drop 130 from the 167....that use to mess with my head but not anymore, last time around Betty was able to open my eyes to that .
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top