9.2.19 Scout AMPS 364:+ 3 = 354;Normal?

sandscout

Member Since 2018
Is it normal when starting Lantus, to have the numbers move downward so slowly?
I started again giving Scout insulin this morning, the vet said to start him on .5 units. At +3 his number had only budged downward by 10. Does it take a while for the insulin to build up in thei system? Sorry if this is a silly question, but I’m just learning again. Must be d age, I’ve forgotten so much. Thanks.
 
Yes, Lantus is a slow acting, deposit insulin. So each shot some of the insulin gets used and some builds up into the deposit. It can take a few days before you start seeing the full effect of a dosage
 
Hi there, just a housekeeping thing, but you have two condos going today...here's the recommendation from the admins:
Daily Threads & Posting Instructions for this forum:
  • Please use one thread for all your comments and questions you have that day since this forum is so busy. This will keep all pertaining to your cat together everyday.
  • Start your thread with the date, kitty's name, and AMPS
You can change the title of your thread to add a question - you can also add the '?' from the pulldown menu next to Title / Edit.
 
@Sue and Luci ,
When you say in your second point to start the thread with the date, kitty’s name and AMPS, I thought I’d do e that in the title. Did I get that one wrong as well? Let me know,
Thx
 
I have some more questions, hope that’s ok! Scout was 326 at +6 - this is the lowest number he’s had in 9 days-due to starting the insulin today I’m sure. I normally feed him every 4 hours, but he seems extra, extra hungry today since I started the insulin, so I gave him his lunch an hour earlier. Should I test him again before the PMPS to see if he’s coming back up?
And he needs to be fasting for 2 hours before doing s PMPS, correct? Is that enough fasting time to get an accurate PMPS number?
 
Generally you want to get a +3, +6, and +9 in addition to the pre-shot readings to give you a good idea of how they're curving during the day. And it's not a bad idea to switch it up some days and get a +5 and +7 instead of a +6. You might find that the lowest point isn't at +6 and is a little later or earlier. You can also get additional readings based on when you feed. Taking a reading an hour or two after you feed can give you a good idea of how big their food spike is.

Correct, you want to have no food for 2 hours before PS. There's exceptions like if the cat is having medical issues and it's more important to get food in them, but in general 2 hours is the guideline, so that if you happen to get a lower than normal preshot, your stall retests will be able to accurately tell if they're coming up naturally or not.
 
Also I was just looking at your sheet and it looks like you're testing and then waiting 30 minutes to feed and dose. You want to tighten that up to about 10-15 minutes. I test and then immediately feed and then wait about 10 minutes to make sure he's got an appetite and is going to eat and then dose.
 
Ok, thanks. Is it normal for the appetite to go up some when starting the insulin! I don’t remember that happening last time I started him on insulin.
 
The reason for the 30 minute lag is that in the a.m. he gets Cerenia and Ondansetron with a tiny bit of food (to get him to take them.) After, I usually wait 10 to 15 minutes to give the meds time to get into his stomach and start working. I can try to shorten that time up, if that would be to his benefit. I think I’ll get quicker at this too after I get the hang of things.
 
I do know higher appetite is a sign of poorly regulated blood glucose so I would expect it in general. It looks like Scout's BG jump was fairly recent, so it might just be a case of his appetite catching up to that and it's just coincidental that it happened right when you started insulin. I haven't heard of insulin itself causing increased appetite, usually you would expect the opposite once things become better regulated.
 
So Scout’s 9+ reading was 277. Since his blood sugar just recently started going up, the vet, being careful, advised me to hold off shooting if he is 200 or less.
I’ll see where he is at his PMPS. He had a little snack after his last test, so hopefully he’s heading upward and I don’t have to worry if I should shoot or not.
If he’s too low to shoot, what do people usually do in such a circumstance? just hold and feed, then wait until morning to begin testing & shooting again?
 
If you feel he’s too low to shoot we suggest you not feed and test again in about 20 minutes to see if he’s on his way up. Then list for help if not sure. Looks like you might have had a fur shot or partial fur shot tonight. Don’t worry. It happens. Don’t ever shoot extra when that happens.
 
Right! One vet told me that would be like adding too much salt to the soup-you can’t un-salt it once you’ve put in too much!
 
Back
Top