9/1Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48+6 76+10.25 228 PMPS253 +2 172

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124487
Happy labor day!
Michael is wearing his blue suit this morning. 8/31 PMPS +2 319 9/1 AMPS 166. Might be a bounce.
Do I increase the dose anyway? I am suppose to increase from 1.5u to 1.75u. on 9/3.
Michael looks very handsome in blue :!: AMPS 4.5 48. He found his green suit that matches his eyes :mrgreen:
I gave M 1 tps lo carb with a drop of karo surup I will test around + 6 76. Should i have given the karo surup?
+10.25 228 He bounced( I think) back in the yellow. PMPS 253 + 2 172 decided to wear his blue suit to bed.nailbite_smile
Paula & kitty Michael :-D
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166

I have been way behind in reading condos, so I don't know of any extenuating circumstances but in looking at your ss it looks like it would be okay to increase as long as you have supplies and will be home to monitor. You also, may need to get some tests in tonight, if you can. Do you feel okay with the increase on this AMPS?
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166

Diggin that blue!!

Now Michael, feel free to surf safely into the greens for your mommabean!
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166

That's a beautiful blue suit you have on michael.

Will be curious what his +2 will be.
Appears that the bounce from 8/28 pm cycle has cleared.
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166

Thanks for the reply, Dyana
Hope JD is doing better. Healing vines on the way.
I already gave 1.5 this amps. I would more comfortable waiting until 9/3 amps to increase the dose to 1.75.
It is so hard to see. Today i'm ordering a jeweler's magnifier hoping it makes seeing .25u easier.
I hope Michael stays in the blues. When I gave him his shot, after I took the needle out, I checked to see if any insulin was left in the syringe and a minute bit squirted out. I hope I got enough insulin in him.
Try and get some rest.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166

Thanks Charlie & Sckooter.
I'm struttin' my stuff! I know I look good!
Michael :-D
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48

Nice 48. I would test again at +5.
I guess that increase is being delayed now.
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48 Need advice

I was going to increase on 9/3 amps what do I need to look for in order to increase. :?:
Sending a bunch of feel better and healing vines to J.D.
Paula & kitty Michael :smile:
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48 Need advice

Did you get a +5? I always test every half hour when under 60.

I think if he bounces from this 48, then he could bounce for 3 days or so. I think because of this 48, that you may want to delay that increase for a while.
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48 Need advice

Actually with a 48, he's earned a reduction under the TR protocol.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.

Michael is considered to be newly diagnosed. We don't know yet if he will hold a reduction or not so I'm not sure that you want to do three times between 40-50 before you reduce.

Good job, Paula!!
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48 Need advice

the 48 is telling you that this is a little too much insulin. So no, you're not going to increase his dose.

Since this is his first time below 50, I'd go ahead and take the 0.25u reduction and we'll see if he can hold it. Some cats will go below 50, get a reduction in their dose, and their blood sugar goes right back up. That tells us that they didn't "hold" the reduction. Some cats will get a reduction in dose and their blood sugar will stay in good numbers. That means they did hold the reduction.

So . . . you get to try to do the dreaded 0.25u increment decrease in his dose. just do your best. If his numbers trend up, not just bouncing, but staying higher overall, you'll end up going back to 1.5u.

For tonight, I'd go to 1.25u. Then I'd give him 3 days to let any bouncing clear, but if he's not back in green by Thursday mid-day, go back to 1.5u on Thursday night.
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48 +6 76 Need advice

Thanks Marge
Do what three times before i reduce.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48 Need advice

have you tested again? As dyana suggested, it's important to retest every 30 minutes when you've had a test below 50 until you know he's for certain staying above 50 and not going further down.

Marje is talking about the option of not reducing the dose until he's gone below 50 on 3 different days.
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48 Need advice

For kitties who are long-term diabetics (e.g., over a year since diagnosis), some people will only reduce a dose if the kitty's numbers fall between 40 and 50 three separate times on that dose (or if the bg falls under 40 once on that dose).

For newly diagnosed cats, we typically take a reduction the very first time they fall under 50 on a given dose.

Hope that helps!

EDIT: Sorry - Julie and I cross-posted.
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48 Need advice

Sorry, Paula. Julie and Shelly clarified.

However, sometimes with newly dx cats (cats diagnosed under one year), they can't hold reductions. If they don't hold reductions, they can either shave the dose (e.g. give a 0.1u reduction instead of 0.25u reduction) or they can reduce after the kitty's BG goes between 40-50 on three different days at the same dose.
 
Re: 9/1 Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48 Need advice

That's o.k. Marge
I appreciate the reply.
 
Re: 9/1Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48+6 76+10.25 228 PMPS253 +2 17

Paula said:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124487
Happy labor day!
Michael is wearing his blue suit this morning. 8/31 PMPS +2 319 9/1 AMPS 166. Might be a bounce.
Do I increase the dose anyway? I am suppose to increase from 1.5u to 1.75u. on 9/3.
Michael looks very handsome in blue :!: AMPS 4.5 48. He found his green suit that matches his eyes :mrgreen:
I gave M 1 tps lo carb with a drop of karo surup I will test around + 6 76. Should i have given the karo surup?
+10.25 228 He bounced( I think) back in the yellow. PMPS 253 + 2 172 decided to wear his blue suit to bed.nailbite_smile
Paula & kitty Michael :-D
Yes you did right on giving the Karo, but when a cat is below 50 you need to test around every 20 min to confirm that he is staying above 50, especially it it prior to his nadir. Please take a look at my condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124480 also take a look at my SS for that night and how I Intervened with hc/Karo and how frequently I tested.
Also instead of editing the initial post, please make a new post within this condo. I am referring to text not BG numbers. When only editing an existing post it will not bring your condo to the top, nor will others know that you have added to your condo.

The huge drop last night from pmps to +2 is a big red flag that Michael is going to have a very active cycle, and needing more testing and possible food intervention prior to you going to sleep.
 
Re: 9/1Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48+6 76+10.25 228 PMPS253 +2 17

Thanks, Darin
How do you do a new post within the present condo? I've tried with a new topic and ended up with a new condo. It is my understanding that you can have only one condo per day.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/1Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48+6 76+10.25 228 PMPS253 +2 17

Just like you did now. You are replying to the last post in the condo, then it will bring you condo to the top of the condo postings. Every time a reply is made in a condo it bumbs it to the top of the list. Does this make sense?
 
Re: 9/1Michael AMPS 166 +4.5 48+6 76+10.25 228 PMPS253 +2 17

Sort of.
I just replied since this is the last post of the 9/1 condo.
If I have something to add to today's condo,(9/2) do I post a reply even if i'm not replying?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top