9/19 Zeus AMPS 173 PMPS 394

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79224

I contemplated going up .25 and then got a nice AMPS number that was still going down on 9/17, so I ended up reducing that shot by .25 because I wasn't going to be here to monitor. Then I gave a partial fur shot on 9/18 ugh. So I am holding the original dose again.

Looking back, frequently (but not always) Zeus has lower AMPS than PMPS numbers. Is this just because some cats go lower overnight, so the AMPS is a rising number? He gets fed 4 x at both preshots and +3. I know with Lantus, it is supposed to be dosed in two equal shots 12 hours apart, but it almost seems that Zeus needs more insulin during the day time cycle. Any thoughts?

Hope you all have a nice, stress free day.
Kathie and Zeus
 
Re: 9/19 Zeus AMPS 173

Hi Kathie:

Zeus's AMPS is lower than his PMPS because he is bouncing. He's probably getting into lower numbers than you realize during the day; not necessarily low but lower than his body is used to and so he bounces up by PMPS. He's clearing his bounces quickly at night and thus giving you a lower AMPS.

Keep in mind a couple things: every time you stall, shoot a reduced dose, or give a fur shot, it will cause some wonkiness in his curve. The other morning when you got a 96 at AMPS, you could have shot the full dose because he would have done the same thing that cycle as he did anyway because of the cumulative nature of lantus and the fact that the dose was similar to what you normally shoot. You usually see the effects of shooting a BCS in a subsequent cycle. Since you were there to monitor, you could have shot, fed, and then tested at +1 and +2 to make sure he was rising. You can always post for help when he does that, ok? We'll be happy to walk you through it. Learning to shoot lower and lower with assistance will help pave the way to remission for Zeus.

Lantus likes consistency so it's best to shoot the same dose every 12 hours. I wouldn't give him a different dose AM from PM. Bounces are totally normal...almost every cat does them for a while. You just have to ignore the bounce numbers and see what he is doing when he clears.

I hope this helps. For now, I'd hold the 2u dose....I think he might need more insulin but unless you can get a mid cycle test in during the day when he's got a blue AMPS, I'm a little hesitant to have you increase. We need to know how low he is going during the day when he's clearing the bounces.
 
Re: 9/19 Zeus AMPS 173

Thanks so much... I didn't really see a bounce, so thanks for pointing that out. I know, little stinker never has those low numbers when I can shoot and be here to monitor him. I definetly need help with interpreting these numbers, and dosing advice. How long does it take to stop bouncing? Is there anything that I can do ?

Mr. Zeus has decided not to eat much today, but wow he has some energy :-D he has been racing around the house for about 10 min. It is cute, but he sounds like a horse, LOL. It will be interesting to see what his PMPS number is. And his new favorite hiding spot is in the spare bedroom, where he has torn a hole in the underneath covering of the box spring.... and yup! He is actually IN the box spring. Good thing it is really old, LOL. Crazy boy!

ETA: darn, 394! I was hoping for a lower number since Zeus was having so much energy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top