9/19 Toby's AMS 326 +3=376+6=349 PMS 472

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
This is the lowest Toby started out on the 4.25 Units from last night. Increased to 4.5 Units this morning. Will monitor him today to make sure he doesn't get to low. Will also watch for ketones. Thank-you all, Peg
 
Re: 9/19 Toby's AMS 326

Looking good, Toby!!

Peg, don't get discouraged if you see higher numbers today. It can take a cycle or two for the larger dose to kick in. Lev is a depot insulin so the depot has to fill back up. Also, some cats experience New Dose Wonkiness and see higher numbers for a cycle or two. Irritating as all get out, but normal.

~Suzanne
 
Re: 9/19 Toby's AMS 326

Hey Toby and I are hanging in there. Toby doing better than I . Just got ketone test it was neg. At least that is good. Feel
like a spy sneaking around trying to get pee. lol I think I make him nervous watching him all the time. Well will see how the day goes. Thanks again , Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/19 Toby's AMS 326

Come on down nice and slow Toby! Nice on the ketone test. It does feel a lot like spying. :lol: You are doing great. Have a wonderful Friday!
 
Re: 9/19 Toby's AMS 326

Good morning, Peg. ~O)

That's great news on the ketones.

I can relate to you on the spying. I think Jersey deliberately tried to thwart my attempts to get ketone tests. When I wanted them, she decided that was when she needed to use the yard as a litter box. At one point, I was afraid I was going to have to stalk her around the yard with a ketone strip. I can only imagine what my neighbors would have thought if they saw me out there holding a piece of paper under a cat's tushy. ohmygod_smile :lol:

Good luck with the dosecrease!
Shelly
 
Re: 9/19 Toby's AMS 326 +3=376+6=349

Don't think we'll get out of the pinks Today but, he's feeling good today and that's what counts. Peg and Toby
 
Toby has been in the pinks most of the day. Still awful high tonight PMS 472. Will give 4.5 units of levermir again tonight.
Do I have to check him all the time tonight or can I just do a couple of spot checks? Peg and Toby
 
No because Marje told me last night that I should raise the dose and try and get him regulated like that because I didn't have enough experience and didn't know Toby's patterns yet. So I didn't use the R just the levermir and this morning went up another .25. Now he is getting 4.5 units. Peg
 
No need to test as frequently as if you had given R.

I would get a ketone test. And also get a before bed test...maybe +3 or +4, depending on when you go to sleep. If he's hovering around his PM BG or hasn't dropped dramatically, I'd think you could get some good sleep. If you wake up through the night, it doesn't hurt to get an overnight test, or if you wake up before his am shot time, get a +10 or +11. But I don't think you need to set an alarm unless you want to.
 
one of the reasons that marje is more hesitant on the R is because the situation isn't urgent at this very moment. You may still end up using at other times, so hang onto it.

One thing worth noticing is looking at Toby's ss on 9/15 - your little buddy was pink at am+4, and 9 hrs later at pm+1, he was pink again. Happily, you also caught some tests in between that showed that he actually dropped down to 150. He sure didn't stay there long - looks like a max of 7 hrs under 300.

When a cat who has been in high numbers first starts getting into lower ranges, their body isn't used to it at all and the reaction is like what he did on 9/15. Quick stop in the 100's and zoom - back up to 300+ where it feels normal to him.

The longest that bounces typically last is 3 days, although there are some cats, of course that do otherwise. just to confound all of us, apparently. If you count forward 3 days from the 150, that would've been mid-day yesterday. So . . . it's possible he came down while you were out earning the money to keep him living in style yesterday, and shot right back up. That's the conundrum.

See how he is when you check him right before bed - if he shows any movement into yellow, i'd probably set an alarm and get another test. Jill has often suggested to people to drink a huge glass of water before bed - a less awful way to wake instead of an alarm clock. But see what you get tonight in .

You're doing a great job, peg. i'm so glad he's feeling better! and yay for no ketones!
 
Do you swab the top of the pen with alcohol ? They told me at to pharmacy to do that. Also I free feed him he eats most of the time because he's not regulated. I stop feeding two to three hrs.before pretest . Just wondering if I am doing anything wrong? Peg
 
you don't need to swab the top of the pen with anything. you're going to keep it in the fridge and you never put a used syringe back into the pen, so it shouldn't ever get contaminated.

hmm on the feeding. Is he eating a large volume of food at once, or does he delicately nibble throughout the day? In general, many cats will have better looking cycles if the vast majority of their food is entering their system when the insulin is strongest. When you feed much in the second half of the cycle, it can act as a brake on the insulin and cause the BGs to be pretty high at preshot.

However, if a cat is a delicate little grazer, nibbling throughout the day, it might not matter. Punkin inhaled everything i set down, the moment it landed, so i fed him at preshot (3oz) and +3 (1.5oz). Other than that, i gave him simmered chicken breasts, cut in 1/2" cubes as pokey treats, or to help him if he was starving. If you'll look on the New to the Group sticky, at the bottom in the collection of single-topic posts, there is one called "feed the kitty as much as she wants?" or something like that. If you can't find it, say so and I'll find the link for you. I just have to run out right now.
 
i'm not as experienced with Lev, but i'd think you are ok to go to bed, peg. if you wake up, i'd check him just for data purposes, but unless one of the Lev users suggests another test during the night, I'd go to bed.
 
Actually, I didn't say you shouldn't use it . I said if you were shooting R a lot and DKA wasn't an issue, then the lev dose needed to be raised and R used judiciously. Here is what Sandy said:

And from Tobys 09/17 condo:
Proceed with caution, one shot at a time. R is powerful stuff and that power can be seductive - take care not to fall into the 'see an ugly number and shoot it down' trap.
As important as it is to learn when to use R under the current circumstances, it's equally important to learn when not to use R.
It is a double edged sword.


As long as you test frequently for ketones and the results are negative, If you give a furshot - use R for that cycle only.
Otherwise - forget you have the R. No need to complicate things (goodness knows it all complicated enough)

Raise your Lev dose accoring to the protocol. The goal is to arrive at an L dose that does the trick - while keeping the ketones away :cool:

I think the last sentence is really important. You're doing a good job checking for ketones. You also did a super job testing today.

If you are up at +10, you could grab a test as Julie suggested. Lev onsets at +4 and so we would hope he will come down some from the 383.
 
Sorry Marje I misunderstood you about the R insulin. Just did Toby at +6 and caught a little sunshine . Just barely at 294 but,
hope to catch some more later. Catch you later, Peg
 
All of Toby's P'S are in Place actually he seems more like his old self yesterday. Following us around and even running down the hallway some. Hope he keeps going in that direction. Well at + eight we are back to pink again bg 332. Will test again at +10 and see what happens. Maybe tomorrow we will see blue. A gal can only hope. Well back to bed. Good night to all. Will post again at + 10. Peg and Toby
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top