9/19 Tibby AMPS 84: He's never been this low pre shot

Good Morning! Not many people up this time of day...

First thing to do is STALL / do not feed /get another test in 20 minutes. If he's on his way up you may consider shooting if you're going to be home to monitor today and have supplies in case of lower numbers (MC/HC karo, strips).

I have to get some coffee - I'll check back with you in a bit.
 
4:35. AMPS. 84
5:55 AMPS. 86

I am home today, fortunately. If not, I may have taken the day off. This is a new low. I was assuming I'd be doing a curve today and raising his dose.
 
Yes, let's get that down...remove 911...I'll be here for a little bit this morning...I'm out early for errands...
 
4:35. AMPS. 84
5:55 AMPS. 86

I am home today, fortunately. If not, I may have taken the day off. This is a new low. I was assuming I'd be doing a curve today and raising his dose.

I see he's up a bit...most likely this was his lowest number of the day.

Please try to add the numbers to your SS as soon as you can. That's what I look at first. Also so I can see what his numbers have been looking like prior to this point.

How much longer until shot time?
 
Also, let's hold on the curve question for now...let's get thru this pre-shot issue first.

Does he eat well?
 
I saw his video on FB :) Cute!

So I gather you work during the day therefore can't get any mid-cycle tests?

And yes, in answer to your question regarding a reduction, he just earned a reduction by going under 90 on SLGS.

So you can reduce this morning by .25 - do you have calipers to help you measure?
 
Yeah, I'm back to teaching, and the first week was rough for day or night mid-cycle tests.

I'll go ahead and give him a dose of 3 units instead of his 3.25? He just came up to 92, and I can watch him today while I prep for school. :)
 
Yeah, I'm back to teaching, and the first week was rough for day or night mid-cycle tests.

I'll go ahead and give him a dose of 3 units instead of his 3.25? He just came up to 92, and I can watch him today while I prep for school. :)

Excellent! He's on his way up! Yes, give 3.25. You can do the curve today.

After hitting that new low, he may bounce - so his numbers may be higher today than you'd like - so if they are consistently high, then you might want to save the curve for tomorrow...although we don't know how long it'll take to clear the bounce.
 
I think you're good now...I have to go take care of Miss Luci - litter box and etc to get ready to leave for the morning..

I see that Jamie is here - if you have any other questions - she's very experienced with the 'going to work routine' :)

Have a good day Amy!
 
I don't have to work today. I can be home prepping for school. I was going to do a curve, but I guess that'll wait. That seems to be the pattern lately. He has high preshot numbers steadily, and then right when I'm ready to do a curve, he goes low.
 
This is why I get up at 4:15 every morning I’ll test Bella at 4:30 and feed and then I’ll shoot him at 4:45 if he’s a low number at pre-shot I will get a plus one and then I always get a +2, and I will leave food down according to his numbers and then I go to work
 
Last edited:
It's been 5am lately. I was working it earlier again when this happened. Today I shot at 5:30, so I'll have to keep moving it back again.

Is this a good sign, that he's so bouncy? Long ago on Prozinc, there was very little of a pattern. On Lantus, there at least have been patterns. Lately, he goes a week with high values, and then a sudden low one.
 
He’s bouncy because his body is not used to the low numbers, the bouncing will get better as his body gets used to the lower numbers, that amps was a beautiful amps
 
I wonder how my vet will react. His last recommendation was to raise him from 3 to 4 units. Instead, I started raising him by .25 increments according to the SLGS method. I can't seem to get past 3.5 units without low numbers happening. His office told me to get on this forum, so I hope he's okay with all this.

If not, guess I'll find another vet. :)
 
It’s better to gradually go up instead of a whole unit, some cats it just takes a drop, we call that like for instance Bella was a on F1.5u f meaning fat 1.5 that 1 little drop makes a differences some cats, gradually increases are better because it helps find the right dose or we hope lol you know these cats.
I and I know others who don’t talk to their vets about their cats diabetes, I’m not saying not to talk to them, they just don’t know as much as we would like, most of them.
 
I can say this I know when Bella was first diagnosed by the vet he was on four units of Novolin And the first day I brought him home he went hypo come to find out they hadn’t fed him when they gave him the first four units and when I gave him the second four units here and eight units on one can food. I was literally pouring honey down his throat, I was so mad at the vet we never went back so when I went to find another vet I interviewed him and we made an agreement that as long as I Sent in Bellas spreadsheet every month that he would not question what I was doing this was after I got on the form the people on this Forum saved Bella’s life And I cannot have learned more about cat diabetes that on here, I picked one person and I followed what she said and here we are they alive happy healthy and pretty blues and greens
 
He's up to 95 now and still eating. I gave him a can of FF made into a smoothie, another can just normally, and of course boiled chicken treats. He's eaten about half of each can so far. It usually takes him an hour or two to eat breakfast.

I like my vet, but I haven't told him how much I'm following the advice on here. Until that last rec to raise him from 3 to 4, he was in sync with everything here. I'm going to email him about what has happened since. I can't imagine Tibby needs 4 units. Doesn't it seem like he might get regulated somewhere in the 3s?
 
There is another vet I like. I went to her to get a second opinion on what my present vet wanted to do for a chronic snuffle that Tibby had. They only deal with cats, so I could also go there. Such a quiet, peaceful office. But my present vet is closer and has great service, and I do like all the vets and vet techs there. Fortunately I live in an area with a lot of vet offices plus an emergency hospital.
 
Nice that you have a lot of vets to choose from. However, I must say that I also have plenty of vets around here (Michigan) and even more in Florida to choose from - and so far not one of them knows much about FD.

I've taken to not really discussing much with them about her diabetes. I do tell them she has diabetes and that she is on insulin - and show them her SS if they're interested in seeing it...then they usually proceed to tell me things that I know aren't true or fact based - so I say thanks, and pay my bill...no hard feelings...it's just that they don't know much about FD...there are some however who may - but I haven't found that vet yet.

Just another note, if you decide to think about getting a human meter - I'd highly recommend that you do...as all the dosing methods here are written using references to the human meter, not the pet specific meters. Human meters were around a long time before pet meters - and that's all there were back in the day...so for future thought...it helps the rest of us who use human meters as well to be able to give you better advice.

Here's a sticky for your review - that specifically mentions human meters (although they all do)...this one is near the top:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Have a great day Amy :) I'm out for now :)
 
He's up to 95 now and still eating. I gave him a can of FF made into a smoothie, another can just normally, and of course boiled chicken treats. He's eaten about half of each can so far. It usually takes him an hour or two to eat breakfast.

I like my vet, but I haven't told him how much I'm following the advice on here. Until that last rec to raise him from 3 to 4, he was in sync with everything here. I'm going to email him about what has happened since. I can't imagine Tibby needs 4 units. Doesn't it seem like he might get regulated somewhere in the 3s?

I agree with you, I think 4 units would be too high. You started having to skip AM doses as soon as you hit 3; so I think if you continue to increase you'll start having to skip more doses, which will cause bg spikes.

I'm still new to the dosing methods, but the numbers seemed the most consistent on 2.75. Your numbers may seem higher than ideal, but AlphaTrak 2 usually reads higher than human meters.
 
Nice that you have a lot of vets to choose from. However, I must say that I also have plenty of vets around here (Michigan) and even more in Florida to choose from - and so far not one of them knows much about FD.

I've taken to not really discussing much with them about her diabetes. I do tell them she has diabetes and that she is on insulin - and show them her SS if they're interested in seeing it...then they usually proceed to tell me things that I know aren't true or fact based - so I say thanks, and pay my bill...no hard feelings...it's just that they don't know much about FD...there are some however who may - but I haven't found that vet yet.

Just another note, if you decide to think about getting a human meter - I'd highly recommend that you do...as all the dosing methods here are written using references to the human meter, not the pet specific meters. Human meters were around a long time before pet meters - and that's all there were back in the day...so for future thought...it helps the rest of us who use human meters as well to be able to give you better advice.

Here's a sticky for your review - that specifically mentions human meters (although they all do)...this one is near the top:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Have a great day Amy :) I'm out for now :)
Totally agree and the strips are much more cheaper!!!!!
 
I have a Relion, but I stockpiled a ton of AT2 strips, so I'm working my way through those before I switch. And, of course, the vet uses an AT2. I even have a second spreadsheet ready to go for when the AT2 supplies run out and I switch to the Relion.

I guess I'll update the vet on the numbers lately and see what he says. Their office recommended this forum, so I hope they are chill about my not having gone up to 4 units. He did say that he raised his dose by too much when he was still on prozinc because there were crazy numbers. He seems honest and fair.
 
but the numbers seemed the most consistent on 2.75.

We can't really look back at what numbers were on a previous dose. As the pancreas heals, or not, the numbers often change; the depot also influences those numbers so looking back is not recommended.

At this point, it's best to focus on the numbers and patterns we're getting on recent doses...a dose amount that has worked in the past may or may not ever work again...adjustments have to be taken based on a variety of factors (depot/pancreas/health, etc.)...too many variables.

I often advise folks not to become too obsessed about a dose that worked once, but this new dose doesn't seem to be working now...just take it a day at a time and the 'magic' dose will present itself...and then it may change again in a short time.

:)
 
We can't really look back at what numbers were on a previous dose. As the pancreas heals, or not, the numbers often change; the depot also influences those numbers so looking back is not recommended.

At this point, it's best to focus on the numbers and patterns we're getting on recent doses...a dose amount that has worked in the past may or may not ever work again...adjustments have to be taken based on a variety of factors (depot/pancreas/health, etc.)...too many variables.

I often advise folks not to become too obsessed about a dose that worked once, but this new dose doesn't seem to be working now...just take it a day at a time and the 'magic' dose will present itself...and then it may change again in a short time.

:)


It does seem that something good is happening now. He never had these lower numbers so frequently. I'm hoping he'll get regulated soon, poor thing.
 
I told my vet tech that I have been doing this SLGS thing and all that I've learned here, and she was super supportive. Like many of you have heard, she said I probably have learned more about feline diabetes here than they could teach me.
 
Good I’m glad that it went well with vet tech
And it looks like we are bouncing now
Good job shooting this am!!
 
Back
Top