9/19 Taco AMPS 75, +1 162, +4 147, +7 170

So I just read the sticky about shooting low numbers and it said you can shoot above 50.
Hi Brandi, your SS says you are following TR. With TR you shoot any number over 50.

Will you be at home today to monitor him if you do?
I just now read that. Guess I hadn't gotten that far in my reading because he's never been this low.
Yes I will be home all day.
Full dose I'm assuming???
 
You have the option of giving him a token dose if you don't have the confidence to give him his usual dose. However, the large 7 unit depot will still be at play today.
Like @thebigfuzz rightly pointed out, he is breaking that bounce he started yesterday evening and that is why you see the downward momentum.
 
So I just read the sticky about shooting low numbers and it said you can shoot above 50.

I just now read that. Guess I hadn't gotten that far in my reading because he's never been this low.
Yes I will be home all day.
Full dose I'm assuming???

With Lantus, they say shoot low to stay low! If you can monitor and he is eating, you can shoot him. Get a +1. Keep MC/HC food handy.
You have enough strips?
 
Low numbers are indeed scary. But Taco is doing really well and he looks like he is gunning for another reduction. :)
I sure hope so!!
And thanks, I will update in a bit.

Also, just tested him before his shot (after eating and 45 minutes late) and he was 112. I'm a testing fool with a very cooperative kitty so I'll be testing a bunch.
 
I’m glad you decided to shoot. Get a +1 and +2 to and subsequent tests can be decided after that.

I just had a quick look at your ss. The 7.25 depot is still in play. Usually with these high doses tge reduction is .50. I need to see if you have been increasing with .50 but if you haven’t it probably should have been done.
 
I’m glad you decided to shoot. Get a +1 and +2 to and subsequent tests can be decided after that.

I just had a quick look at your ss. The 7.25 depot is still in play. Usually with these high doses tge reduction is .50. I need to see if you have been increasing with .50 but if you haven’t it probably should have been done.
Yes I have been doing .50 increases once I found out that's what I should be doing. As for only going up .25 last time, I was taking Wendy's advise from my previous post. :)
 
Taco's good right now. He went up quite a bit from AMPS and sitting in the blues. Still gonna keep an eye on him and test throughout the day. :)
 
Yes I have been doing .50 increases once I found out that's what I should be doing. As for only going up .25 last time, I was taking Wendy's advise from my previous post. :)
Just curious, because I haven't been able to find this elsewhere... at what dose do you start working in increments of 0.5 instead of 0.25 for increases? Oberon is at 3.75 and so far I've only been upping by 0.5 if he's been above 300 for the entire time. But I feel like I'm getting to the point where a 0.25 increase isn't very much, proportional to the dose he's getting.
 
Just curious, because I haven't been able to find this elsewhere... at what dose do you start working in increments of 0.5 instead of 0.25 for increases? Oberon is at 3.75 and so far I've only been upping by 0.5 if he's been above 300 for the entire time. But I feel like I'm getting to the point where a 0.25 increase isn't very much, proportional to the dose he's getting.

tagging @Wendy&Neko and hoping she will correct me if I am wrong, but I think above 5 units you increase/decrease in 0.5 unit increments. usually.
 
tagging @Wendy&Neko and hoping she will correct me if I am wrong, but I think above 5 units you increase/decrease in 0.5 unit increments. usually.
That’s what I learned from her with another high dose kitty. You go up and down in .50 increments. The other cat was battling insulin resistance but I was told the percentage based upon dose is why. Let’s see what she says if she sees this.
 
Just curious, because I haven't been able to find this elsewhere... at what dose do you start working in increments of 0.5 instead of 0.25 for increases? Oberon is at 3.75 and so far I've only been upping by 0.5 if he's been above 300 for the entire time. But I feel like I'm getting to the point where a 0.25 increase isn't very much, proportional to the dose he's getting.
I was just told that a .50 increase starts happening once they hit 5 units.
 
Sorry I wasn't on earlier. I was on the water for the first tag - we finally have clear air! Woohoo! Sorry, I get a little stir crazy inside when it's smokey outside over a week.

Anyway, glad you shot the full dose. You've shot green before and have good data on it. And Taco had a nice cycle today as a result.

As for size of dose changes, think of the increase as a percentage of the total dose. A 0.25 units increase is significant on a 1-2 unit dose, but only 5% of a 5 units dose. Hence the move to 0.5 unit changes. A similar change happens when cats get over 10 units.
 
Wendy, my question was if a reduction is earned is it .50 or 25?
Kind of depends on the cat. Taco is over 6 units, there's a possibility he has a secondary endocrine condition that means he needs higher doses. Once we know what's going on, we can tell better what to do. With higher dose cats, my suggestion is to try different size reductions and see what works. Some higher dose cats really don't hold reductions well, so smaller is better. Some higher dose cats have a sudden change in insulin needs, with multiple reductions back to back. On those cases, the cat really does need larger reductions, and it's easier on the caregiver too. Brandi did a 0.25 unit decrease last time, and that seemed to keep him in decent numbers. With higher dose cats, more than ever you need to Know Thy Cat.
 
Back
Top